Car speeding down dark stretch of a Malaysian highway slams into a motorcycle without tail lights

To a motorist, visibility – and being visible – is everything. Being able to see the terrain and conditions in front of you, or being clearly identified as a moving variable by other motorists, doesn’t mean that nothing untoward won’t happen, but it reduces the equation that something bad will.

In a video clip through a tweet, a car is seen travelling in the late of night on an unidentified highway in Malaysia. Moving down the stretch of highway, which was unlit, the driver comes right on top of a motorcycle running without a tail light in the middle lane, at which point there’s no time to take evasive action.

The combination of a fast car, dark road conditions and a motorcycle without tail lights and riding in the middle lane provided all the ingredients for this unnecessary mishap. Some may place blame squarely on the rider for not having a working tail light, while others will likely say the driver is moving too fast for the poor lighting conditions, but the fact remains the driver did not see the motorcyclist from distance, at all, until it was too late.

There’s no point apportioning blame, because everything contributed to this scenario unfolding. Malaysian motorists – both in cars and on motorbikes – tend to be a lackadaisical lot, especially when it comes to road safety, and this is a case in point.

Riders should always remember the onus is on them to be safe. Always ensure the lights on your motorcycle are working, because the law actually requires it, and wear reflective riding gear. Drivers entering unlit stretches of road at night, no matter if perceived to be clear of traffic, should always slow down, because you never know what could pop up in front of you – empty public roads don’t make them a race track. Remember, no one is responsible for your safety on the road but yourself, and this applies to drivers too.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hope the rider is ok, at least he can learn a lesson.

Delivery platform should come out with the reflective shirt for riders.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:52 pm

Blame the govt
      Mana lampu jalanraya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 27
      • CinKaLan on Oct 17, 2022 at 5:13 pm

We are not here to blame anyone, we find solutions for each problem.

Just continue support Honda brand in other post, u r irrelevant in this forum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 27
      • B.S.Tay on Oct 17, 2022 at 8:09 pm

The other party responsible is the highway concessionaire. Reaping huge profits, it’s their duty to light up highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
        • Parathi sinnathamby on Oct 19, 2022 at 11:31 am

Exactly we should circulate a protest petition Around about highway example karak highway from kl to kuantan at night after Genting tunnel there is no street light at all. Wonder a lady driver with kids got her tyre puncture on highway. The govt n the highway concessionaire should be take responsibility, not profit alone. Pls someone circulate a petition n get this matter solve.

• Syamuza on Oct 18, 2022 at 2:48 pm

Klu xde lampu jlnraya..tpi kenderaan pon xde lampu..pe cer?…dh la xde lampu..pastu ikut tengah lorong..siapa yg salah?..kerajaan jg ke?

• Delivery companies have no sense of sympathy to their riders. Not even sure if they have insurance cover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2022 at 10:07 pm

No one is stopping any rider from putting on reflectives. Can use a bright helmet, jacket or high quality 3M reflective stickers.

Hell, you can see my reflective stickers on my pannier and top box before you can see my tail light. Those things are insanely bright. And I have bright LED tail lights.

• Abbas on Nov 02, 2022 at 9:42 am

Agreed. Watching a motorcyclist in the night from the rear where after a distance of about 60ft, he fades out, thankfully, visible by the lit rear light and to a lesser extent, white helmet. As I age, night time visibility worsens and low headlight doesn’t do much if I drive too fast. Conclusion: I definitely will invest on reflector strips which cost RM2/metre.

• A driver and a rider on Oct 18, 2022 at 4:21 am

The rider learn his lesson? How you get your license?? Under table ah?? Tell me which part of Malaysia highway allow you to speed more than 110 km/h? To me the car at least 130km/h..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • duuuhhh~ on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:19 am

even if that car drive 110km/h, wouldn’t change the outcome anyway…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • The way the riders drivers, pretty obvious isnt it?? My friend got a public scolding from a rider bcos she wudn’t move forward onto n wait at d “yellow X petak” so that rider can have space. Surely thats undertable right? Badic teori also dunno or just plain rebelling ahainst the law

• Sarcasm on Oct 19, 2022 at 10:25 pm

Hmm… The rider must be biforti… Gov should give another ‘bantuan’ taillight replacement for free.

Should tax more from T20.

• Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’un

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
  • Government should have invested on improving infrastructure of the existing highway such as widening of whole stretch of NSE, street light throughout NSE, LPT etc., instead of building more highway in congested Klang Valley.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
    • Not government issue.. issue about reckless driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 38
      • Hasan on Oct 17, 2022 at 7:56 pm

Fuck your reckless driving you piece of shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 38
        • U must be a rider. F urself! Everyday we car drivers have to drive in a way that takes care of you riders @ keep u safe. . Bcos u guys simply ride in n out everywhere on d road. Sickos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Even with motorbike lanes provided as some roads, we still see riders using the other lanes. It is the attitude of some riders that end them up in hospitals/morgues. Beating traffic lights, wrong lanes, illegal turns, riding against traffic flow, helmets not fastened well, not wearing glaring jackets, not checking lamps and signal lights whether in working order. All these put other road users into trouble.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 4
    • Vincent on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:06 pm

I disagree, the cost can make us losing profit even thought not many driver using that highway at night, easy, car too fast also motor got no lamp, both were wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
    • Vincent on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:12 pm

I disagree, both were fault, not the road, if we light up to many light at night in our country, the heat will becoming more worst during day aftermath, save the earth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 34
  • Ghani on Oct 17, 2022 at 12:10 pm

Previously it was the 8 basikal lajak’s fault. And now the dumb rider messed up the car driver’s weekend night

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 17
    • Kea Was on Oct 17, 2022 at 1:09 pm

Well based on the latest development of the basikal Lajak case then it is the drivers fault for not able to have spiderman skills to avoid such super incident at night, nevermind no street lights also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • Squid on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:16 pm

The will probably use this video as an example in the basikal lajak hearing to win the case. It’s a clear example of what a driver sees in the dark if the vehicle ahead has no lights or reflectors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Touch ur heart on Oct 17, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Stupid, nanti kena langgar nak salahkan orang lain..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • Charlie on Oct 17, 2022 at 12:58 pm

I disagree with the author’s take on the issue… In this instance yes the driver is perceived to be speeding cos we can’t see/no info on the car speed on impact but the bigger blame lies on the motorcyclist… I have seen and had one too many close calls with these types of motorcyclist on the road and if the govt is really tough on enforcing drunk driving, I suggest they should be equally tough on motorcyclist flouting road rules and regulations… We have seen way too many deaths caused and involves motorcyclists and yet still not a peep from the govt about reducing the recurrence of this scenario playing out… Hope whichever govt comes next will look at this issue seriously and tackle the bad habits of motorcyclist (lights not working, not wearing proper reflective clothing, running the red light etc).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 6
    • It is true motorist r the one who fault the traffic regulation the most.action should be taken against them by jpj n pdrm.imposed high penalty n punishment on them as car driver are alwsys to be blamed n no insurance claim when accident happened n need to pay for medical fee

• AppleTree on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:14 am

Jeff, that’s the perception we had when it comes to accident with motorcycle. In fact you can claim third party accident (involving you pay first, then claim later) from the motorbike insurer.

However, this option prove to be not as easy as you claim from your insurer.

For medical fee, you may seek your adjuster help and advice when they come to interview you. You do not want a RM80 outpatient fees burnt your 55% NCD.

• Hailah on Oct 18, 2022 at 6:58 am

Unfortunately, they always blame the motorists. This is the reason motorcyclists ‘besar kepala’.
      In this accident, why the heck did the motorcyclist use the middle lane?

• And why no taillight????!!! Our eyes no infrared built in to see in dark

• Lampu on Oct 17, 2022 at 1:13 pm

Rider-
    No light, not using slow lane.

Driver-
    Can’t tell the speed from video.
    He though he driving at the middle lane @ this dark road is the safest for him and others already,
    Manataw K.O.

Road-
    What is the speed limit here?
    Missing lamp.

All problems.
    Sendiri jaga sendiri.
    Don’t recklessly slow, recklessly fast, recklessly wrong lane, recklessly no lamp.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
    • Agree..the dumbass rider 90% to be blamed..riding slowly with no light/reflector wear and still didnt want to be at the very left lane. His brain failed to analyse that he was in very2 high risk situation.

• Kajang Semenyih on Oct 17, 2022 at 1:16 pm

Meanwhile, there’re some idiots convert to a loud pipe, swapped to very skinny tyres, and purposely delete their motorcycle head light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • @Snakebabu on Oct 17, 2022 at 1:36 pm

Mai Sungai petani tengok, banyak barua moto takde lampu belakang..almost hit few of them at one instant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • They do not want the registration number at the back to be visible. Some will pretend that the back lamp was working when starting the journey.

• Hantu Raya on Oct 17, 2022 at 8:22 pm

Takpa, biaq depa mati cepat skit. Kecik2 tak reti nak mampos, bila besaq nyusahkan orang lain saja.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2022 at 1:59 pm

Another pointless incident. It is up to motorists to take responsibility of Thier own safety. So many Moto hantu on the roads. Why the lackadaisical attitude?

If someone slams into the back of me it’s definitely them. Im lit up like a Christmas tree at night.

I even leave my properly aimed spot lamps on during the day. Hell if the cops regard them as “illegal”. I rather be seen than not seen.

Btw, on the subject of visibility, since when we are not required to have reflective strips on our helmet? It was the case 20 odd years ago that we had to stick reflectives at the back of the helmet..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Concerned motorist on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:28 pm

I also have your same concern. I like my lights bright and clear. Some bikes’ design looks nice but awful light visibility at night. Adding lights are illegal? No way to get the auxiliary lights certified at jpj for safety sake? Even conform to glare & color also not allowed?

• Gabriel on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:04 pm

In the spirit of supporting Pakatan, I want to blame this on BN and UMNO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 23
  • joshua on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Most motorcyclist ride without taillight …and before anyone question it is broken , the same tail light lights up during braking which tell us lighted tailslight have been tampered with intentionally.

Police and JPJ should come down hard on the motorcyclist . confisticate their motorcycle if you must until they fix theirs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • The police would act on details only when there is a serious accident, other than during some road-safety campaigns. Confiscations at roadblocks and highways (vehicles flow at high speed here) would be most effective approach to reduce such incidences.

• FYI motorbike and also car tail light bulbs hv 2 filaments, one is activated when brake is applied. The other filament is always on. What you observed is the 2nd filament blown out but the 1st filament still OK.

• Concerned motorist on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:15 pm

Some motorcycles’ original headlamps or rear lights are not bright enough / big enough like more expensive motorbikes. In such situation, can the biker add more auxiliary front & rear lights (at the same time, conforming to glaring & color rules)? Is it still legal?

• All good hopefully on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:17 pm

From the video the car is very fast. Motorcycle no tail light. In a 3 lane road going into 2 lane. Wide road with no street light. Both travel in a dangerous situation.
    Car don’t speed so fast, it’s dangerous in such dark road. Imagine if it’s not a motorcycle if an animal crossing no chance to see at all too.
    Motorcycle please make sure tail light working. It’s dark and it’s dangerous riding with no light specially on such road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Anony on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:46 am

In highway cars are definitely fast, why we need highway then. Even the car driving 110kph speed limit is it still fast, will still slam into the motorcycle given there is no light n in dark area.

Being slower vehicle in the highway should be smart and have common sense on this. Light must have to ensure people can see you and definitely needs to use correct lane and ensure your not riding too slow either.

• BOYRACER on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:46 pm

True.. I use this road everyday..day and night..after midnight the road is clear of traffic..i assume the driver is going about 110kmh +-.. exactly the spot is 3 lane merge into 2 lane and the worst thing is that area is absolutely devoid of street lights..if it was to happen 100 metres prior..it maybe can be avoided

• Slow down guys on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:19 pm

I hope he survival so sad for his family. We all should be more careful while riding or driving sometimes a little patience can saves life.

• Guntor di langit on Oct 20, 2022 at 6:24 am

If the drivers/riders were experience, he/she could anticipate what could happened when driving at night. We all know that media always goes for ‘berita sensasi’ ie. accidents yet we never tend to learn from it.

• Usually an accident is a combination of one more recipe for disaster. In this case 4 things – the roads not being well lit, car speeding, motorcyclist without rear lights and motorcyclist in the middle lane. All 4 recipes came together for a disaster. Solving one could have prevented the accident. Who is to blame here – I think all 4 elements can be blamed. The one that was following the law the most goes to the car (if following the speed limit). Even so, driving at that speed on an unlit road is asking for trouble. Imagine if there was a pedestrian illegally walking or road works etc..

• duuuhhh~ on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:25 am

well that pedestrian just earned his one way ticket to the afterworld then….. simple and easy~

• Karin on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:43 pm

World class standard of Malaysia Road isn’t? No lighting bcoz saving electricity but yet paid? Wow.. With the extreme speed is it possible the reflection takes effect? Even motorcycle little red light also cannot be seen with that distance vs speed.. Only in Malaysia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • farghmee on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:03 pm

kete tu cm laju sgt?
    tgk line kt jalan tu..

• Angau on Oct 17, 2022 at 6:28 pm

Memang le laju.. tu pasal kena ada lampu belakang yg berfungsi…bukan sekadar hiasan . Pastu ride tgh2…

• Jay Adam on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:05 pm

Should provide luminous box for all delivery rider instead of luminous vest because the vest behind the box

• Darend on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:15 pm

I will blame the car driver and call it’s motorist fate for neglecting the safety. But, trust me, the driver will still collide with motorcycle as the brake bulb only uses 12V/10W for brake light illuminations. He won’t be able to see. From the video, the car light seems to be dim, maybe he is using LOW BEAM, whereby in that dard, he should be using HIGH BEAM + HAZE BREAKER (SPOTLIGHT). He should be driving tolerable speed for his vision on the most speed lane. Do you expect ghost/human or animal to be on the middle of the road with reflectors? I realised he doesn’t even hit the brake when the bike pop up 0.5 sec earlier on the camera before collision. That means, he should be able to see 1. sec in realtime, which gives him extra distance. (take frame rates dropped and lighting sensor of camera). The driver is reckless and will not be sorry for what her had did. If he is a person with awareness, his eyes should be eyeing for some obstacles right in front so he doesn’t use his costly car to snatch a life. It’s not being professional driver. It’s being a human being who cares about others. It’s easy to blame the bike to run away from guilty feelings, but you will not accept if it happens to you or your family members. What if that brake bulb burnt out 1 mins ago…we will not know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
    • Wheels on Oct 17, 2022 at 7:35 pm

Totally with u bro.. That road is too dark, aint no way 12V 10W bulb gonna be enough to be seen in that condition. My friend’s bike has tail lights with that bulb (new) and it’s not that bright. Anyways people should not drive their vehicles at all in the dark if their lights are broken. I see those idiots every damn day when going to work in the FOGGY morning. Simply asking for trip to ER

• Janagaraja on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:27 pm

Klia also same certain parts of the road from toll Klia to terminal is not bright even the white lines on the road is no more there hope some action can be taken

• William Alberto on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:30 pm

Lampu belakang tak nyala, sendiri bodohlah kalau kena langgar. Jangan nak salahkan driver pulak, pakai lah otak……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Sniper on Oct 18, 2022 at 1:57 am

Lampu blkg dia nyala ke tak nyala ke, ko dah langgar motosikal dari blkg, di jalan yg lurus , kelajuan melebihi had lebuhraya..menyebabkan kematian lagi..kalu mat moto tu mati la..brp byk ko punya salah kalu nk kira ngn mentol blkg moto dia tu..jgn igt ko sorg jer yg byr roadtax. ko ni belajar undang2 dlu perabih..ko pun guna otak dulu sebelum nk ckp.

• Sniper, jgn le bodo sgt. Anda pasti jika folo speedlimit x mati kne langgar? Even bwk 60km/h pun, kita dlm kereta x nmpk moto dpn tu jika tiada lampu blkg.

Pnh amek lesen ke x? Ape kne cek bila naik moto?

Sendiri nk mmpos nk nyusahkan org.

Kat jln kg2 lagi la, moto2 mcm hanat je lampu blkg dgn depan byk xde. Da kne sapu bwh tayar lori bsepai bru nk ingt ke mat?

• William Alberto on Oct 19, 2022 at 10:21 am

Memang aku pakai otak tapi ko tak pakai otak sebab mat moto itu ikut highway gelap, tengah jalan & lampu belakang tak nyala, dia langsung tak fikirkan keselamatan diri sendiri.

• Robert on Oct 17, 2022 at 4:20 pm

Rider must wear reflective shirt at night

• Phudder Singh wall on Oct 17, 2022 at 4:22 pm

Multiple factors to be blame 1-motor bike no reflectors or tail light and drive at middle lane y?2-car bang him bez of lack of active and passive features incl autonomous energy breaking system and helogen ugly lights instead of laser or HID lights ,3-while paying hi taxes and tolls so y that particular area is not well lit ,

• Kenny on Oct 17, 2022 at 4:23 pm

Also not forgetting why ride the bike in the middle of a 3 lane highway?

• Unbelievable on Oct 17, 2022 at 5:04 pm

Both are idiots. Motorcyclist without brake lights riding in the middle of the road and the driver is driving so fast when there’s not enough lighting on the road. Drive only as fast as you can stop! The driver could’ve died had he/she hit a cow or a stationary vehicle.

• The car is totally not wrong, motorcyclist is definitely wrong without any rear light on a dark highway. Is like a ghost suddenly appear in front of you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Dong Gor on Oct 17, 2022 at 6:30 pm

When accidents happen its not always who is right or who is wrong. From the video there are many factors contributed to this mishap. If we want to get to where we want to safely, we must do all that can be done, as in the preventive actions first, by ourselves. It’s our lives, we take responsibility and don’t rely on others only

• Sukahatiaku on Oct 17, 2022 at 6:34 pm

Don’t wait for the government. We use the road, want to be safe? Do what you should to be safe. Tail light, reflective jacket, drive speed limit or safe speed at how far your eyes can see and evade if anything come across. If you cant see well, don’t take the risk to drive fast / overtake.

• In tbe old days, motorbikes of small capacity only uses the left lane. But today, they hog the middle lane blocking both left and right lane for motor cars.
    At the same time, that car was giing way above speed limit. If motorcyclist survive, both should be charged for neglect.

• Zainal on Oct 17, 2022 at 6:59 pm

Very risky riding without a good tail light and some sort of reflective gear for others to view and alert of your presence on the road and never take things for granted safety for yourself and others!

• Mr. John on Oct 17, 2022 at 7:46 pm

Padan muka, for both. 2 idiots less on msian road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Grace on Oct 17, 2022 at 8:39 pm

Obviously, most motorcylist are negligent and lack of road safety awareness. Often they do not wear reflective jackets, no reflective stickers at the back of their bikes or their helmets. So simple and yet so far. Hopefully, the Transport Ministry and JPJ will take action and impose the necessary penalties on those who do not conform with the Road Safety rules and regulations. No one should play the blame game. Walk the talk to avoid further unfortunate mishaps.

• Gringo Tham on Oct 17, 2022 at 8:56 pm

Most important, especially when the road are difficult to see during rainy days,without any lights on…pls drive slowly and be alert always.( subject closed )

• Terry Chong on Oct 17, 2022 at 9:11 pm

This actually happened midnight 2-3am in Kuching Sarawak, and it was a new 7 miles flyover to 8 miles. That road have street light but didn’t light up.

• Yahaya on Oct 17, 2022 at 9:44 pm

I suggest that all new models of motorcycle would have the tail and head light lighted by one electrical circuit…That way, when the tail light is down, the head wont light up. Sometimes, the rider didnt know his tail light is down, until someone tell him.

• Ai………. on Oct 17, 2022 at 9:50 pm

150cc or less motorcyclist riding on 3 lanes highway from right lane to middle lane in a dark night without street lights and rear lights, a dump driver speed down the empty race track as thought his father owns. Malaysians mentality…. Who to blame ? No one but ourselves

• KrunchiZ on Oct 17, 2022 at 10:00 pm

Riders, please don’t expect people to see you, that’s for your own good. Please stick to left lane if the road is empty. Stick some reflectives at the back. Make yourself a moving traffic light. Watch some fortnine videos. Self defense bro self defense, don’t rely on others.

• Abdul on Oct 17, 2022 at 10:09 pm

Ada tu motor Honda. Memang lampu belakang tak mungkin menyala kecuali bila brek. Pilihan di tangan sendiri.

• kerajaan yg patut disalahkan. nak jadi negara maju konon. lampu jalan pun takde . sakau duit berbilion

• Ibrahim Moizoos on Oct 18, 2022 at 12:30 am

So lovely to watch. Makes me happy. Thanks for sharing.

• Sniper on Oct 18, 2022 at 2:27 am

Secara ringkas,.Setakat ni undang2 di malaysia, kalu accident langgar blkg..sape salah? Org yg kena langgar ke yg salah? So, kejadian dlm video tu ialah sebuah kemalangan di mana sebuah motosikal dilanggar oleh sebuah kereta dari arah belakang.. motosikal tu jgk ke yg salah? Cuba korg kira brp byk garis putih yg dilangkau dlm kiraan 4 detik. Korg akan dpt jwpn brp kelajuan keta ni masa dia langgar moto tu. Xpyh kira la. Jwpnnya keta ni speeding + -240km/h semasa kejadian..Lampu blkg dia nyala ke tak nyala ke, dia x pakai baju reflect ke, dia duk tgh2 ke, tu sume alasan nak lari dari kesalahan yg dh buat..

• So ko nak ckp motosikal tu x slh la ye? Ape benak sgt ko ni sniper.

Gaya mcm x penah bwk lebih speedlimit. Mmg maksum abes dah ko ni. Tarikat mne la mangkuk nih.

• Sniper on Oct 18, 2022 at 2:31 am

Selamat atau x , Al-fathah utk abg rider tu.

• I am always anxious about my taillights. Doesn’t matter whether it’s a car or motorcycle, i find that making sure the taillight working is very important. For instance, i have faced occassions where a car have non functioning third brake light and they almost caused a rear-ending. I mean to say that it’s a shared responsibility. With today’s technology, I wonder why car and motorcycle manufacturers still cant figure out warning lights for when the lights are not working. It is not that hard to augment the circuits to relay exactly that information. Hopefully in the future such feature will be implemented. In the meantime, it is best to make sure that your vehicles have that red stripe reflective thingy so that when your taillights are not working, it could act as an indicator that your vehicle is there on the road. For motorcycles, sometimes you don’t know if your taillight is broken because it can happen during riding. This certainly happened to me too. Stay safe everyone

• Miss Meow on Oct 18, 2022 at 5:36 am

Mustahil kalau pasang lampu jalan sepanjang jalan, bil elektrik lagi. Kalau dah ajal dia nak buat mcm mana, atas Sebab yg sama saya ride moto rapat serapatnya sebelah slow Lane.

• Both car driver and motorcycle rider to be blamed. Motorcycle, No tail light and Car speeding like hell.

• Entahlah. Dahla bawak moto Takde lampu belakang, lambat pula tu Dan tengah tengah jalan..nak slow relax chill ride, tolong ride tepi sikit lorong kiri untuk keselamatan anda.

• Anonymous on Oct 18, 2022 at 7:27 am

Solutions for this incident not to repeat:
    1) highway should have high quality lights (ini bukan jalan kampung mana lampu?) Federal government and also the state government are responsible on this.
    2) motorcyclists should check their own motorcycle lights from time to time to ensure everything words fine.
    3) reflective vest should be provided either by the motorcyclists themselves or by their employers.
    4) if you’re just a motorcyclist, please ride your motorcycle on the low speed lane and not staying on the middle of the road. That’s suicidal choice.
    5) for car drivers, never drive with high speed in a dark highway or road when your headlight is not even bright. Obey the speed limit is crucial to prevent any tragedy.
    6) don’t drink if you have to drive afterwards. And also never drive after you drink. It really slow down your reaction when something happens in less than a second.

• S. Ganesan on Oct 18, 2022 at 7:37 am

Many of our Malaysians Motorist use the car’s High Beam Light at the wrong place. This Motorist if only he had used his High Beam in this Unlit stretch he could have avoided the Accident.

• Tokabah on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:18 am

Slain dari lampu blakang sy syaki lampu depan motorsikal itu juga tiada di tambah lampu jalan yg tiada ia amat menyedihkan…. Beli la cola campurkan bersama x mengapa

• Kent tut on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:27 am

If motorcyclist don’t love and take responsibility of their own lives, please don’t expect others to jaga you okay. Bikers think that everybody have to give way to them. Selfish and stupid.

• Kur kur on Oct 18, 2022 at 8:52 am

Everyone talk about tail lamp, but.. Logically thinking
    How many accident happen because of wild animals crossing road such as cows, tiger..etc. so yeahh wheres the lampu jalan??? .

• Uncle Jo on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:15 am

Being responsible, ethical, discipline and considerate mostly only practical in Moral textbook.

If most Malaysians and government would exercise then they would had know – protect your own S first.

• Hj Amdin on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:33 am

Pemandu Kereta tu PEMBUNUH, suka sangat bawak laju tempat gelap. Dah tau gelap pasang la lampu tinggi.. mntau wayaring motor tu baru ja rosak..

• TAK SUKA ORANG BAWAK LAJU on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:08 am

• “The Speed” of the car is supercar awesome…
      • “Road Lamp” lighting condition is brilliant..
      • “Lane Selection” for the bike is okey what..

• Car driver responsible. Motorcyclist may not know about back light recent malfunction

• Our road is not properly built and lit, no dedicated motorcycle lane, motorbike riding in car lane. In this modern era, our road infrastructure is to be blame. And there’s no emphasis or enforcement of proper road usage. Even bicycle in the highway is so wrong…, The onus is to our govt to improve and desire to provide safety to the people.

• Hafizi bin Hanapi on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:36 am

If the car moving at 110kmh its still within the speed. Cant blame anyone then

• Habibu on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:53 am

If u realised, the motor doesn’t even have the headlamp

• Nothing new.Lorry ,motorbike and car without rear lights .I just can’t understand the mentality of these riders and drivers.The traffic cops don’t appear to work at twilight or night.?

• I live in KL. The riders are terrible beyong words. . They expect u to jaga them from behind,side,front of ur car. Come n drive in kl n u will realise 70% of d time, me n all my colleagues n family have to be on high alert if the front rider’s gonna suddenly make a turn without signal (ALWAYS!!!) or the side rider is going to speed up n wiggle cut ur car n the front car to suddenly turn into a left lane (or right lane if he’s on the left side of car) or the back rider is going to inch his way thru ur car n the one beside u so u must brake/slow down or not move or ur car will graze his side leg. Imagine having to drive on every occasion having to do this. The only peace i gwt is when i drive in PJ residential areas. Why does d Govt allow this? Can anytin ve done? Does anyone know how ? The solution wud be to allocate a dedicated lane (maybe half of a normal lane) for these food n delivery riders bcos they r teaching our youngsters to ride d same way. Do u observe the schoolboys esp d Malay ones? They try to be like d riders bcos they think its so “skillful” to wiggle thru 2 cars to overtake n cut to the other side of road.

• Come on, stop blaming d car driver. Even if he went 50kmh will still hit d rider badly bcos when u cant see, ur brain is not on alert to standby to be careful. No matter what, you will still hit rider bad.
    HOWEVER, if the rider on his lights as he should as per law, car go 200kmh, 110kmh, 50kmh, sure no hit. From far away car drivers sees a light n his brain will be on “high alert” to careful n standby to AVOID regardless if he thinks its a real human or road ghost. Understsnd everyone??? STOP BLAMING THE CAR!

• The way the riders drivers, pretty obvious isnt it?? My friend got a public scolding from a rider bcos she wudn’t move forward onto n wait at d “yellow X petak” so that rider can have space. Surely thats undertable right? Badic teori also dunno or just plain rebelling ahainst the law

• Everyone don’t want to happened, So far I personal meet 2 time it is same situation no light on the road , 1 motor no tails light other 1 no head light, went I cut the car change lanes. Lucky never have incident even i drive 60-70 not in highway.lm also a rider went u meet u will check everything is ok if not riding be side road will safe 95 percentage live. Not everything is right u things. Is humans factor.Take Care

• Don Rahim on Oct 18, 2022 at 3:01 pm

The Malaysian motorcyclist most, if not all the time, do not follow the rules of our roadways. Always thinking that they own the road. Riding, swerving fr lane to lane, not caring for their own safety and other road users. They ride bullying their way through and the result, what do you think will happen?
    Clearly in the video, the motorcyclist was riding in the middle lane with no visible lights. He should be on left side of the road, with his motorcycle’s blinkers on. Presence of mind also do play a critical role to avoid any danger to you while you are riding. Ride passively. Always remember that your body versus steel, always you’re the one losing in the event of an accident. It’s in the attitude. Ride slow doesn’t mean weak. Always keep left and ensure your machine are always roadworthy. I too, am a biker for over 40 years but I was taught by a good senior biker. Till today I’ve never been involved in any major accidents except for minor ones. RIDE SAFE.

• Mohd jaffri on Oct 18, 2022 at 3:47 pm

30 years past.. Someone should urge pv str light for the highway. I dont understand why but every increase of luminers lesser the accident at night.

• Mohd jaffri on Oct 18, 2022 at 3:51 pm

30 years past.. Someone should urge pv str light for the highway. I dont understand why but every increase of luminers lesser the accident at night. It is not about the motorist or trailer without tail light.. Visiblity in highway must be efficient. If in a dark have accident at tge middle lane or fast lane.. We still can avoid second crash. This is important why need pv str and avoid stealing of cables.

• I’m a rider n a driver as well. I was hit at abt 2am a few years ago along EDL highway in Johor n d vehicle was no where in sight.I was wearing a reflective vest.
    I broke my leg on d r. ankle n my l.left wrist n multiple lacerations.
    I’m definitely not going to blame this rider for riding in d middle lane. Be a rider n you’ll learn how to ride smarter n safer.
    My reason if I ride on d middle lane is I can hv time in d darkness of d night like this is to hv enuf time to avoid whatever(animals) coming fr d side-right n left-of a 3 lane highway.
    Years ago-I’m not sure abt now-riding in d bike lane along federal highway is a gamble on your life. D lane is narrow, sandy on d corners, unlit n flooded tunnels. Bikers r 2nd class road users. Whose fault is this? Yours? Mine? Where will yr finger point to?
    Unlit highways. Whose fault? Mine?

If u look at d video, tell me how fast is d car going? JKR,PWD engineers, how far apart shud each lane marking distance b? Fr there u can work out d speed d car is doing.
    I am very sure d car is doing above 160kmh.d authorities can tell who posted d video n work from there to question d driver. Was he under influence. Y is there rampant offenders. My fault?
    Drivers under influence, without license, stolen cars, getting off lightly due to corrupt officials etc etc.

I hope d rider is well.

I always pose question like ‘wat if such accident happens to yr mother?’ so d person in question feels d impact n get jolted into awareness.
    WHOSE FAULT!

• Brandon on Oct 18, 2022 at 7:08 pm

the car should use height beam if the road is dark and reduce speed

• Kenny Y on Oct 18, 2022 at 7:09 pm

Most likely all are missing the point here. As road users big or small needs to ensure that you as a road user needs to be seen by other road users more so at night. Bikes are smaller in size than cars or SUVs and trucks. More so needs to alert the other s and be seen. So take a good guest whose at fault. If you know the safety rules you will have the answer.

• Its not about who to blame or not. Everyone should understand when you on the road, you accountable to safety measure!
    The highway – NO LIGHT!
    The rider – NO TAIL LIGHT!
    The driver – DASHBOARD NO LIGHT! (IS IT?)

• Michael John on Oct 19, 2022 at 6:44 am

It almost happened to me before i almost killed the old couple with a non visible tail light motorccycle

• Betul ka lane tu mr rider? Motosikal kapcai acah2 power sekarang suka naik tengah jalan even di highway. Kena ingat walaupun motosikal tu top speed tp speed kereta xsempat rasa laju lg…. Tambah xda lampu belakang, ingatlah orang tersayang.
    1 lagi, undang2 sedia ada jika kenderaan belakang langgar kenderaan depan, automatik kenderaan belakang salah. Sepatutnya jika lampu belakang xda, kena saman terus kenderaan depan sebab owner kenderaan menyusah dan mengabaikan keselamatan orang lain.

Hati2 semua.

• Confused Spec Satria on Oct 19, 2022 at 11:02 am

Forget speeding, riding in the dark without any lights that indicates your presence is still a dangerous even without the driver speeding factor.. while speeding carry a huge risk, it still not as huge as riding without lights.. something that I realized in the video is not only did the bike have no tail light, it didn’t any light at all.. you wouldn’t be able to react even if you drive 90km/h.. lesson here, just maintain your vehicle.. lights, tires, brakes, suspension, all these are priority that hold more importance then engine oil (I didn’t mention airbags since it’s not applicable to bike)..

• fairoz on Oct 19, 2022 at 11:10 am

normally, on highway with 2-3 lanes that the place for 4 or more wheels speeding but not in residents area or rural area (outside highway). But in this case, why the biker ride with no tail light/reflective sticker at the middle lane? it all about typical malaysian rider who dont care about own safety…..u take your own risk, no blame others

• I think all parties contributed to this accident. First, I noticed many parts of KL turned off the road lamp, forcing me to use high beam when I pass through them but still, the visibility is poor. I don’t know whether it was to save electricity or the power source got cut off. The government needs to look into it. Second, as a driver, we must keep in mind if we can’t see the road ahead, whether it’s too dark or something blocking your sight, slow down as much as you can because you are driving a machine capable of killing. Third, as a motorcyclist, we must keep in mind we are extremely vulnerable on the road and can be sent flying at anytime by reckless driver. At the middle of a complete darkness is suicidal. He may not expect the road ahead to be complete darkness but always move to the side when you encounter such darkness, don’t stay at the middle of the road.

• Francis Lim on Oct 19, 2022 at 5:28 pm

A lot of motorcycles and bicycles are on the road without any back light. In dark street, it’s impossible to spot them. Where is the enforcement agency to monitor this situation?.