First fatal accident on DASH, police seeking witnesses

Barely a week after the Damansara-Shah Alam Elevated Expressway (DASH) opened to the public, the new highway has recorded its first fatal accident. The incident happened yesterday night, and Petaling Jaya police received a report at 12.05 am this morning (October 20).

According to a statement by PJ police chief Mohamad Fakhrudin Abdul Hamid, the incident involved a SYM VF3I motorcycle. The victim is believed to have lost control of his bike and hit the road divider before falling on the road. It happened at KM15.7 of the DASH from Penchala heading towards Denai Alam.

The victim has been identified as a 24-year old Malaysian male. He died on the spot. The case is being investigated under Section 41 of the Road Transport Act 1987. The cops are still trying to figure out the cause of death and is appealing for witnesses. If you have information, contact traffic investigation officer Muhammad Hisyam Azih at 017-7378704.

The DASH is a 20.1 km highway connecting Puncak Perdana to Penchala, where the now-famous spaghetti intersection is. There are 13 interchanges (Puncak Perdana, Alam Suria, Denai Alam, Kampung Melayu Subang, Pinggiran Subang, Subang 2, Subang Airport, RRIM (Kwasa Damansara), Surian, Seksyen 5 Kota Damansara, Sunway Damansara, Damansara Perdana and Penchala) and 90% of the route is above ground. It’s free from now till November 30. Full DASH facts and figures here.

We’re all tourists on these new highways, and there’s plenty to see, but please drive safe and be alert in unfamiliar surroundings and look out for fellow tourists.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam “Hailat” Loo on Oct 20, 2022 at 4:49 pm

Where were their CCTVs..? Sudah rosak liao…?

• Risking my life in monsoon polls? No way. on Oct 20, 2022 at 11:51 pm

Prolintas..at 20km long,dont tell me there aren’t enough CCTV cameras? I can get tons of CCTVs from Lazada at offer prices.You mau ? Comeon..with due respect to the victim’s family,excessive speed at UNFAMILIAR sharp corners,by even the King of the Road..MYVI,can be fatal..when u lose control.
      There should be speed limit signs at all sharp corners n CCTVs positioned with shots of offenders sent to PDRM real time.Offenders should get saman from PDRM.
      In England n China…every nook and corner,u can find CCTVs.They make it easier for law enforcers to nab the culprits.

• mat motoria on Oct 24, 2022 at 10:40 am

With CCTV installed by highway operator – PDRM investigating officer can stop asking witness to come forward to conclude the investigation. Everyone will be at peace. RIP bro.

• COD: inertia causing blunt force trauma. RIP friend

• Autodriver on Oct 20, 2022 at 7:25 pm

I used DASH few times and nearby the incident area Kota Damansara the corners are quite sharp. The deceleration stripe in corner might cause the vehicle swing dangerously. I guess many vehicle from Shah Alam toward KD not decelerate much because there are corners while going up hill. Prolintas can consider to make the deceleration stripe forward to alert the users to slow down even more.

• Dah Menang Semua on Oct 21, 2022 at 7:23 am

Is designed to expecting slow traffic in the future. When merging many lanes and entrances towards Penchala Link in TTDI. So sharp corner by right is fine and safe. Road users please stick with speed limit

• Lampu on Oct 21, 2022 at 10:58 am

Correct, speed limit already fixed @ 60km/h there.

Just too many motorist trying to drive 80 to 110km/h at Dash.
        But AES unable to catch/save the reckless Biker and drivers.

Put more warning signboard, lights, and more speed limit signboard too.
        But avoid speed breaker, dangerous to motorist.

• No one can help victim due to his own riding attitude. For a new road that you are not familiar, just ride slwoly. Even professional racing car drivers or moto GP also need to get use to the racing track before dare to push 100%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Dettol on Oct 21, 2022 at 9:21 am

How u know he ride fast ? U were there ?

• Because he died, at what slow speed is a fall fatal?

• Just save your gas talking to soneone without common sense. Thre is always people when you say A, they must say B to show that they are special.

• With the “biasa lah tu” Malaysian attitude of riding/driving, its a known fact that motorcyclist speed, so know or not know, we bet he was speeding.

• ex-motocylist on Oct 21, 2022 at 7:23 pm

btw, does anyone that the unfortunate rider DID NOT ride fast..? maybe sleepy too..

• Lampu on Oct 21, 2022 at 10:55 am

DASH highway many section of the road only designed for 60km/h due too much slopey cornering. At this stretch of road of accident, speed limit also only 60km/h.

However, ,any motorist not used to such low speed @ highway/express way.
    Many motorist used to drive above speed limit even at cornering.
    Finally @ Dash with this practice, you most likely loose control.

Should locate more number and larger Speed Limit Signboard, with more warning lights.
    Avoid using speed barrier which reduces necessary grip due to bouncing suspension and wheels off the roads.

• Kapchai on Oct 21, 2022 at 10:56 am

This section of road speed limit 60km/h only.
    Not enough signboard and warning.