Toyota GR Corolla to enter ASEAN market soon; Thailand first, launch expected in December 2022

For fans of all-wheel-drive hot hatchbacks who missed out on the Toyota GR Yaris due to overwhelming demand for the AWD hot hatch, word has it that its big brother, the GR Corolla will be entering the ASEAN market by the end of this year.

Specifically, the GR Corolla has been tipped to see its ASEAN launch in Thailand. Though a launch date has yet to be divulged, it could be held at the 2022 Thailand International Motor Expo is set to be held in December, wrote Autoindustriya.

The ASEAN arrival of the Toyota GR Corolla could also coincide with the 60th anniversary of Toyota Thailand, and Indonesian news outlet Autonetmagz reported that Toyota president Akio Toyoda will travel to Thailand for the launch of the larger of the two AWD hot hatches from the brand.

Built in the same Motomachi plant as the three-door GR Yaris, the GR Corolla has been said to be offered in Thailand from an allocation of 10 units, though it remains to be seen if the tally is for a yearly allocation or for its initial launch roll-out, reported Autoindustriya.

Thailand has previously received 71 units of the GR Yaris, compared to Malaysia which had 127 units earmarked though UMT Toyota’s official figure was “under 200 units”, which leaves room for more to be imported. By that comparison, could Malaysia receive a larger allocation of the GR Corolla, as the case was with the GR Yaris? Time will tell.

The GR Corolla shares much of its powertrain with the GR Yaris, including its G16E-GTS turbocharged three-cylinder 1.6 litre petrol engine which makes 304 PS and 370 Nm of torque (272 PS/370 Nm for the Japanese-market GR Yaris), as well as its GR-Four AWD system that offers a choice of 60:40, 30:70 or 50:50 torque splits between its front and rear axles.

Toyota GR Corolla Morizo Edition – more performance focus, no rear seats

Differentiating the GR Corolla from the GR Yaris is the former’s five-doors bodyshell adapted from the regular Corolla Hatchback, albeit with added welding points and structural adhesive and bracing for greater rigidity, whereas the GR Yaris uses a more bespoke bodyshell.

Further afield, the GR Corolla went on sale in the United States in three variants; the Core which started at USD35,900 (RM161,550), and next was the Circuit Edition that was listed for USD42,900 (RM193,050). Hardcore fans could opt for the limited Morizo Edition, which retailed at USD49,900 (RM224,550).

Locally, the Toyota GR Yaris arrived in Malaysia in a single variant (with Performance Pack as standard) at RM299,000 OTR without insurance at the end of 2020. Should the GR Corolla be confirmed for our market, what do you think its price will be?

GALLERY: 2023 Toyota GR Corolla

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Toyota GR Yaris RM299,000 OTR. GR Corolla RM499,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 27, 2022 at 8:12 am

Nothing but just another
      Yaris GR in Corolla guise

• Different segment and different design

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 27, 2022 at 4:47 pm

Sad they don’t employ Corolla-GR Hybrid else Yaris-G sure repeating himself “hybrid without turbo is also more fun than turbo”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • I told you already, I don’t drive yaris, I just like cars bro. Did you hear that? Unlike you, you are just purely honda fanboy.

• YG doesn’t mean that I drive Yaris, so please never ever assume that I drive Yaris. I just like cars. Got that?

• Roti john Reborn on Oct 27, 2022 at 8:30 am

What a stunning car! I hope one day our Proton can create a Game-Changing car like this instead of reselling Geely cars

• Lee Kwan Cheng on Oct 27, 2022 at 1:06 pm

Dream on lah. Toyota is a world class carmaker that is sold in over 200 countries. Proton is sold only in Malaysia and a few developing nations. sales also only good in Malaysia

• Troll Hunter on Oct 27, 2022 at 6:41 pm

You sure love to reply your own comments dontcha? Too bored?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • GR boy on Oct 27, 2022 at 8:53 am

Your assumption price for Corolla GR? Impossible

• Fariz on Oct 27, 2022 at 12:16 am

Where to book?? Take my money!!!!

• Seribu on Oct 27, 2022 at 12:37 am

Nice. Bring here quick

• Rossie on Oct 27, 2022 at 7:28 am

When asked by Australian publication Drive if there are other GR models to follow, Suezawa said “There is none left actually…”

It might become THE TOYOTA collection instead of serving its Morizo’s Ultimate Track Racing purpose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Damnnn. Best news this week but now it’s giving me a huge predicament. FL5 Type R or this GR.

• RM370k.Grey looks menacing.

• Faisal on Oct 27, 2022 at 4:35 pm

Toyota understands that there is a growing demand for hothatches in ASEAN. Its time Toyota Malaysia upgrades its plant to service the Malaysian market and have GR cars built in Malaysia.

Following US variants and pricing, if they can sell this car as a CKD, at a price that is reasonable, under 170K, they will dominate the market.

Also, bring in the wagon touring variant too. Balik kampung asyik jam je.. dapat isi icebox, beg pampers and all.

A GR Corolla Tourer would be a sick and practical balik kampung machine!

• Finally, one of the Toyota that I want!

Chasing Cars is speculating that this will be priced in the AUD65-70k range, which is Golf R money at 66k. That will put the GR Corolla at around RM380k. Most probably higher, given the limited supply. Circuit edition at close to 20% more will be about RM450k. Almost double the price of a BRZ… but this is more desirable… argh!!!