80% of accidents due to driver behaviour – JPJ chief

We blame this, we blame that, but we should really blame ourselves when it comes to road accidents. That’s according to JPJ director-general Datuk Zailani Hashim, who said that 80% of road accidents in Malaysia stems from the behaviour of motorists (sikap pengguna jalan raya) who do not prioritise safety.

“The other 20% is caused by other factors such as vehicles (technical, brakes and others) and outside factors such as the roads (condition, environment, weather and others),” he told Sinar Harian, adding that the road transport department always takes consistent steps in ensuring road safety in the country.

“Various steps are taken to avoid road accidents, including in the aspects of advocacy, literacy, provocation, notification and legislation. All these steps are taken to ensure that road users always follow the road regulations and laws that have been set,” he added.

Accidents involving heavy vehicles have been in the news and Zailani said that JPJ conducted Ops Road Worthiness at all Puspakom outlets nationwide in August as part of a prevention initiative.

“1,008 saman involving 879 faults such as technical ones, no driving license and others were issued. Generally, all commercial vehicles are mandated to undergo schedule inspection every six months for buses and lorries. For taxis and e-hailing vehicles, it’s once a year,” he said, adding that JPJ’s automotive engineering division has increased the frequency of auditing Puspakom’s compliance to vehicle inspection standards.

“The frequency of auditing has been changed from monthly to weekly to ensure the quality of Puspakom’s inspections are always at the optimum level,” he said. Is the lack of inspection and regulations the main reason behind accidents involving lorries? We did a deep dive here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Johhny Dough on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:11 am

Brader JPJ c’mon the clear issue is driver education, dont be dungu.

JPJ driver tests should be much more comprehensive and made harder to pass, that will increase driver standards. Also simple enforcement by police of people driving with no tail lights or people turning without using signal will automatically make e everyone a better driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Malaysians moving forward on Nov 04, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Your argument is relevant. However your language is foul, reflective of your poor attitude. It doesn’t cost to be polite and respectful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
  • 80% are noob drivers/riders.
    20% are lousy infrastructure + lousy low Spec Car / Aged / Badly Maintained / Cap Ayam Car Parts and Tyres.

• The new Era of disposable Tards on Nov 04, 2022 at 6:01 pm

Lousy infrastuctures do not cause strokes (neither blood clots in drivers vessels…)

Datuk Zailani Hashim is the man. I would say that his 80% is even too nice compare to reality…

How many fu#$kers are watching FB, Instagram, or simply texting while driving?

I see it with my own eyes, 90% !

…The 10% remaining, cannot see ->>> tint glasses too dark (isn’t it…)

• Safety First on Nov 04, 2022 at 12:24 pm

Toldcha so it is driver attitude but as usual Malaysians simply like to find fault with others coz nobody THINKS SAFETY FIRST, they only think I AM FIRST. Cipudah!
    #THINKSAFETYFIRST

• awaKL on Nov 04, 2022 at 1:08 pm

And yet that Transport Guy wants to put the blame on alcohol just to satisfy his super masters. Such a Sad case here, Public Transport bad, Roads voted from bad to worst imagine what happens if these jokers are still in power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Drunk driving is also categorized as driver behavior bro

• PlainBS on Nov 04, 2022 at 3:55 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/02/08/60-of-tarred-roads-in-selangor-have-expired-report/
      Indeed. What happens if these jokers are still in power.

• Kea Was on Nov 04, 2022 at 4:14 pm

I supposed you mean the latest ranking that the nation roads in Malaysia rank 12 worst in the World guess thanks to the people in charge for so many years.

• PlainBS on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:43 pm

I guess your right… if you forget that majority of roads are in urban cities and these are either in PH states or under PH MPs for many years. So the blame goes back too….

• Well, the federal government doesn’t give much funding to PH areas so best bet is to vote PH for both federal and state seats

• Bullshit! Urban cities got the bulk of funding and majority goes to Selangor & KL, both Opposition hardcores. I want to know what did PH mentris do with all those funding given. Sapu semua?

• Meh-mehhh! on Nov 04, 2022 at 6:08 pm

Amazing tard comment from awaKL.

– Let’s drink alcool before driving… It izz safffe buURps.. Herr? What, If something happen, it’s Malaysian Gov fault becoze the roadz is not very flat meh :-/ CheERzz burps

LOL

• Mr Fakta on Nov 04, 2022 at 1:51 pm

But in Malaysia drink driving is punished way more than other traffic offenses. Accidents is due to human stupidity, nothing else.

• PlainBS on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:45 pm

Drink & drive is a choice. And as such people should be punished heavier for making wrong choices.

• Everything else are choices too. Speeding, beating traffic light, being reckless, overtaking in prohibited stretch, not checking if vehicle is roadworthy, including brakes, tyres and lights. These choices do not warrant heavier penalties?

• WHO is WHO? on Nov 07, 2022 at 9:32 am

Like accepting to be injected with jewish experimental “vaccins”…

The Good thing is, no need to ask police to punish their stupidity :

– Karma just do it with a stroke

You guys can “pray” that you get a placebo, if not? Good luck my dear fellow guinea pigs :-/

• geeee.. what a revelation. so how?

• WHO is WHO? on Nov 04, 2022 at 7:32 pm

Simply ban jewish media. No jewish media? No more stupid people (jews intoxicate the world with toxic entertainment, porn and alcool…)

Google, FB, Insta, Netflix, all the mainstream media are full of nonesense, promoting decadence, perverdion, greed, LGBT insane theories.

Enough of that shit and you will get back a new Nation, people being proud to be their race.

Stop with American fallacious democracy.

As long as jews control your TV and your money, you guys are just good for the trash bins.

The truth, only the Truth (jews means, their insiders too, freemassons and co…)

• Wrong forum bru

• WHO is WHO? on Nov 06, 2022 at 8:51 am

Nope. Toxic culture generates toxic populations. Toxic drivers, toxic social environment…

Jewish media promote decadence and stupidity, it’s a fact. They intoxicate other races to weaken, divide and dominate them.

They want sick and stupid consumers to keep their money-debt running and unable people to understand WHO realy fu#k them with artificial inflations and pre-programmed economic crisis (fake pandemy…)

Who benefit from covid crisis? You Malaysian taxpayers? Or the Jews on Wallstreet and the City and they exclusif network of investisors?

But poor greedy people are too busy with entertainment to understand that. They blame “politicians and bad road maintanance LOL”

The way people drive simply reflect the shit they have in their brain and also in their veins.

Soon, they will impose you automatic electric car that will decide where you can go (…or not), because handicap people are by definition irresponsible for taking decision for themselves.

Autistic parents and autistic kids wearing masks and queuing in front of corrupted clinics to get their geneticaly modified anti-running nose injection…

That’s the reality. Tard greedy people everywhere…

• Maarten on Nov 04, 2022 at 3:02 pm

It comes down to education, licensing, enforcement and anti-corruption. The number of fatal road accidents per capita against some developed countries are clearly an indication that the transport ministry needs to turn the needle with regard to driver training and enforcement of rules. Currently even the enforcement officers dont always stick to traffic rules but just go with the flow (i.e. police officers riding around with illegally tuned kapchai’s etc)

Enforcement needs to be ‘enforced’ and I am willing to pay higher fines if it helps to safe peoples life.

Corruption in enforcement needs to be eradicated as it kills people in traffic every day (example: people getting away with faulty vehicles or reckless driving style)

Education – Licensing – Enforcement – Anti Corruption

• PlainBS on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:49 pm

https://paultan.org/2022/11/04/driver-flung-out-of-car-in-crash-down-a-10-metre-drop-serious-injuries-sustained-always-wear-your-seatbelt/
      You mind telling me this is all Government fault? Come on! People have a choice and Malaysians love to make bad choices as we did back in 2018.

• Hing Gu Ming on Nov 04, 2022 at 3:34 pm

Beside put all on driver, there is one point i am sure JPJ can do something. Please make the installation of UNDERRUN PROTECTION on heavy vehicle mandatory in Malaysia! This can save a lot of lives for sure.

in accident involving tall heavy vehichle like lorry/trailer or even a pickup, the car’s crumple zone is not effective at all.

• Andrew siao on Nov 04, 2022 at 4:48 pm

Fully agreed most of it lorry fault but what action had been taken so far. Each time we drive in highway our life is in danger because a lot lorry speed easily over 110km/h

• We need more comprehensive lessons and testing for people wanting a license

We need enforcement and or testing for cars to be roadworthy

We need road maintenance be audited (?)

We need more alternate mediums of transport.

Anyone want to start lobbying?

• Correct answer

• Jeffrey Ooi on Nov 04, 2022 at 9:46 pm

The worst is road conditions and lightning of the area so dark and road sign and maintenance of the road or the blinker is not working or very dim only

• Not able to accept drivers being at fault? Switch ON your lights if too dark and not save on your bulbs’ life.

• Now days most of driver are terrible driving skills. Not by just go for JPJ test get license and hit the road..need implement on road safety driving knowledge.. Safety driving knowledge..Not a blady signage reading..not but parking test..not by road driving test…need to make sure that every person who applying license for road vehicles need to go for a proper road safety knowledge..some idiot drivers doing a silly mistake cause big damage such as changing from one lane to another lane by turn on the signal indicator and just change the lane..it should be change lane turn on signal indicator wait for 5 seconds then only change the lane..but I tell for those driving like an idiot, better don’t drive if you don’t know what is road safety can cause major accident.

• MotorFrus on Nov 05, 2022 at 11:13 pm

As a motorcyclist, I see way too many drivers on their phones while crawling through traffic. This causes their cars to drift to the left or right blocking lane filtering and could prove harmful if left unchecked.

• If you frequently watch dashcam videos in fb, it really does make you chicken out to drive in malaysia. For eg a recent case of myvi got beaten and car got wreck n flipped by a gang of riders/rempit even though the myvi is not at fault. Road rage is increasing and the horn which is designed to serve as a warning, msian cannot take it of kena horn when did wrong. Behaviour, education is getting worse in our country. Why do we become like that? I hope my country becomes better n not worse.

• similar situation to Sam ke ting. the barbaric brown skins , relatives and friends of the delinquent children, went amok and flipped her car . same species with the reckless riders who roam our streets in bikes.