White road markings cause motorcycle tank slapper

In a viral video posted on Malaysian police social media, a Honda RS150 rider is seen losing control of his motorcycle and falling after riding across some white road markings on the highway. While no information was given as to the fate of the rider, we hope his injuries were not serious.

In the video, what can be learned from the incident by other motorcyclists? As many riders know, paint on the road, no matter what the colour, is slippery, especially when wet and sometimes not even then.

While efforts can be made to avoid road markings, there are locations where there are simply too many markings and worse, in the wrong places like in the apex of corners. While braking or leaned over in a corner, the issue of reduced grip caused by road paint is exacerbated, regardless of wet or dry conditions.

In the video, the rider crosses the road marking which promptly destabilises the steering, causing a tank slapper. For those who might not know, a tank slapper is when the motorcycle’s handlebars go into an uncontrolled oscillation after the front forks are upset or unable to react fast enough, or in a proper manner, to road irregularities, or when the motorcycle’s fore-aft balance is thrown off by rapid acceleration or deceleration, and this can happen at any speed.

Some riders, in a misguided attempt to control tank slappers, install a steering damper, something commonly seen on racing motorcycles, or tighten the steering cone bearings. This does not solve the problem but only addresses the symptom because racing motorcycles are by design inherently unstable to allow quick changes of direction.

Holding on tight to the handlebars merely intensifies the tank slapper as the rider’s hand movements feed into the oscillation. To properly solve a motorcycle prone to tank slapping, attention should be paid to tyre wear, condition and pressure. Suspension should be adjusted to the rider’s weight and riding style, where possible, and weight distribution be done with care.

Bearings in the steering cone, swingarm and axles should also be in good condition. Whatever you do, when a tank slap occurs, don’t stiffen your arms, that only serves to push the bar movement back into the front wheel with subsequent loss of control.

Instead, relax your elbows but maintain a firm grip while gradually closing the throttle and if you have enough road space, the front wheel oscillation will work itself out. This happens because a motorcycle’s front wheel is a gyroscope and will naturally fall into a state of equilibrium, continuing to roll straight on.

In the meantime, if you’re riding on the roads and highways, be aware of the road surface. Ride within your capabilities and the capability of your bike and most of all, be safe and ride defensively.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Why So Serious on Nov 07, 2022 at 9:22 am

Quoting: “there are locations where there are simply too many markings and worse, in the wrong places like in the apex of corners.”
    Bradder those markings are there for a purpose, mainly safety, to indicate junctions, sharp corners, danger zones, I have never seen one just for show. Who da fuk ask that rider to overtake on the left, if he ridden on the lane, keeping to speed limit, and sufficiently behind the car, this incident would not have happen. Stop trying to justify human stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 53
    • SmilingSofi on Nov 07, 2022 at 1:23 pm

Have you even ridden a bike? You know what happens if bikers stay on lane? Cars overtake us dangerously, lorry and trucks honk at us. Always for a purpose? Come to northern southern highway at bertam sungai petani la wei. Look at emergency lane. On a 110km/h road. Go look and come back write what reason you think they are there. Because i can’t think of any. Also, tank slapper happened to me while going 60km/h, because the paint in my case also happens to be on uneven road.
      Put some limit on saying things you don’t know la brader. It sound so stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 48
      • Resurgent Rafizi n & Co on Nov 07, 2022 at 4:43 pm

Hello Smiling Dude..might as well abolish all markings,according to your reasoning.
        Why so serious is ngam.The markings have a purpose.Those JKR/municipal council workers are not paid to shake legs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
      • Kariayam on Nov 07, 2022 at 8:06 pm

That marking is to indicate there’s a road diversion ahead to stop ignorant people like yourself from riding all the way to the end and then slamming your crotch rocket into the barriers and then blaming Plus for not making proper road markings, etc etc. Didn’t they teach you this when you got your license?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Kerbau hitam on Nov 07, 2022 at 2:54 pm

Hello don’t judge people like an idiot everyone makes mistakes the problem is the design is not idiot proof .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • Spin Too Much on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:14 am

Interesting. Did your driving school teacher taught you to overtake on left, ride over road markings and not on the lanes? If they did, it should be closed down for doing ajaran sesat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • I Am The Law on Nov 12, 2022 at 4:09 pm

All I can say padan muka lu accident bro. Which haram jadah punya driving school you went to and get lesen terbang?

• Mohan Tanggavelu on Nov 07, 2022 at 4:02 pm

Mind ur words.u haven’t experienced a tank slapping at 60 km. n I believe u don’t ride a bike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
      • Spin Too Much on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:16 am

I ride bike on daily basis. The only time I have tank slap is unexpected cross winds otherwise I don’t court danger by riding on road markings as above did. That is just stupid.

• Meh-mehhh! on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:17 pm

Government should provide free intelligent adaptative electronic suspension kits to all malaysian riders… Stuff like on BMW GS ! I will vote for that candidate :-)

• I Am The Law on Nov 12, 2022 at 4:12 pm

Your bro…I think you noob bro Mohan…you only experience that in cross winds

• Johnny Blood Clots - keep vaxxing on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:11 pm

If he was trained to ride Superman style, that would not have happened. Serious lack of acrobatic skills…
      Also, not enough alcohol in the blood… Cannot relax during that government attacks on his bike :-/
      And let’s blame those driving schools who don’t teach wheelies to riders, at least some bunny hop mehhh..

• Zayed Adam BHEL on Nov 13, 2022 at 3:20 pm

Obviously your a so bloody ignorant..just type without any brains….pls justify how to overtake when u see a signboard saying motorcycle keep left at emergency lane? And at the end of the road u will see markings like this divide roads neither cars will give you way to go in ….ride a bike then talk…..

• Dav lee on Nov 07, 2022 at 9:33 am

Actually marking is for the road guide. Avoid to be on it if possible. Is just like u driving on a smooth wet road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 07, 2022 at 10:14 am

Point to note when straddling lanes. Road surfaces between 2 lanes could be different or uneven due to how roads are constructed or refinished. That’s the same effect running on painted lines. One side of the tyre will suddenly get different grip levels and pull aside.

Front tyre wear also will cause tank slappers….especially for those of us running 30/70 tyres as the big blocks eventually will wear uneven even with lots of thread left.

• It happenned to me too, maybe lthe pant was too thick?

• Anonymous on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:50 am

Road marking on high traffic roads can be up to 5mm thick so they don’t wear out too quickly. Motorcycles should never be on them regardless. The divider road markings are especially dangerous since not only are they thick, but they are also a part of the road that is infrequently driven on. All loose debris gets swept into them and with the bumps of the road markings there is a lot less grip on them.

• Expert on Nov 09, 2022 at 4:48 pm

Normaly, with this kind of climate, should’t be the pant thickness…

• I agree. I fell from my bike near Bangi Tol gate last March because the road markings at the motorcycle lane were very slippery. Broke my shoulder in 2 places, still haven’t fully recovered until now.

Proper research must be done immediately to find better material, suitable for Malaysian climate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • There are good reason for those markings on the roads and for them to be thick. Haven’t all motorists learnt to avoid those markings, for own safety? Ride/Drive with safety in mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Morgan J Cantius on Nov 07, 2022 at 8:20 pm

True !! One shouldn’t be riding on ot in the First place – But most Malaysians (and humans) don’t know simple things unless they’re told, so if this is not a message, then texting/using a mobilephone while riding/driving, not using indicator turn signals when changing travel direction/lanes and excessive speeding when dark & on slippery roads or not usingbsafety belts will forever remain problems, no matter what good is done by anyone :(

• If that’s your logic, then better propose periuk api je terus…

• great advice! too bad no one will heed it. better advice is don’t ride too fsst… even THAT is hard to follow for most riders!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Those lines made of polymer based paints which slippery when wet.
    Worse case the speed break lines are thicker and slippery. Guide lines by JKR says install speed break before corner, but hway owner just install it even at the apex of corners. This may disorientate and destabilise vehicle. Seen some serious accident happened due to thick speed breaker at mid corners; in Putrajaya as well. So far no comment abt this from road user.

• The line is not for you to train cat walk, please ride on the road instead of the paint

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Ground europe passenger on Nov 07, 2022 at 2:26 pm

My first experiences was nearly fall through a besi rail near the seremban highway going into mex. Dun know what’s the purpose of that thing??

• Try braking on the RFID painted marking right before toll on wet day.. 8/10 times you WILL skid despite being slow..

• Helmi on Nov 07, 2022 at 2:59 pm

Im a user of rs150. The main problem was the standard tyre that given from manufactured. The was not grip at all. Useless and dangerous for their users. You should change the tyre immediately for your safety

• I met a contractor years ago buying household paint to make road marking, did this contribute to the slippery marking.

• solo metal butt sportrider on Nov 07, 2022 at 3:44 pm

if u rode on thai’s roadway, it is significantly different. my experience in my solo ride to bangkok never been a problem. it seems like they are using different type of tarr & lining markings material which deceive us with the wet look but hell some of grip availability.

• akmal on Nov 07, 2022 at 4:07 pm

I thought it was Goyang Gerudi

• Ashiq on Nov 07, 2022 at 7:31 pm

Habibi come to India

• Seharan on Nov 07, 2022 at 7:39 pm

Road markings are not supposed to be slippery. The road markers must have the same skid resistance as the pavement

• Bujang Terlajak on Nov 07, 2022 at 7:57 pm

Trust me, I’m an expert riding motor kapcai on these white markings whether on highways or state roads. From my experience, yes those white markings are very slippery because they are acrylic but they don’t pose any dangers to those who know how to navigate via it. The video shows that the rider was speeding and braking to avoid collision with the car in front him thus caused him to lose control. The white marking just simply make it worse!

• disinterested on Nov 07, 2022 at 7:59 pm

slip during running (marathon) on road that have white stripes.

• Morgan J Cantius on Nov 07, 2022 at 8:24 pm

One shouldn’t be riding/driving on the marked areas in the First place – But most Malaysians (and humans) don’t know simple things even after they’re told repeatedly & experience tragedy themselves, so if this is not a message, then ignoring & driving past Red lights, stopping out of Yellow Boxes, overtakingbalong double lines, texting/using a mobilephone while riding/driving, not using indicator turn signals when changing travel direction/lanes and excessive speeding when dark & on slippery roads or even not using safety belts, will forever remain problems, no matter what good is done by anyone :(

• Vince Leong on Nov 07, 2022 at 8:28 pm

The white markings are higher then the road surface. So when our bike’s tyre goes over the markings the bike’s handle bar tends to wobble. If you don’t hold the handle tightly, you will be out of control and you will fall.

• Thiam cj on Nov 07, 2022 at 10:47 pm

Too many lines painting on the road can cause vehicles accidents. B’coz during rain n wet road at cornering road, vehicles tyre won’t grip the pain n the height of cement colours marking lines too close cause vehicles skipped away. This happen to me but I control the wheel n Blake slowly.

• I believe that he could have avoided the crash if he had just relaxed his grip on the bars when he felt the front tire start to squirm. I ride a dual sport and I get the beginnings of tank slappers several times a ride going over separations in the concrete and paint lines just relax and let the momentum sturdy the bike. if you have a squared of rear tire, riding on the paint becomes way more dangerous because the tire will favor being to one side or the other and not on top of the paint which would certainly exacerbate a tank slapper.

• Fawzi son on Nov 08, 2022 at 6:22 am

Wear Front wheel bearings can cause it

• LaksaKL on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:05 am

Now, Bike Tyre manufacturers to shows some product that can grip well at this condition.

• Anand on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:42 am

Some tires are actually good on these lines.. some not.

• I like Japan Motorcycle rules..there Motorcyle rules follow car rules..no zipping between car and take the whole car spot for overtaking on the right and they have no extra right of way as much as a car have..but Japan have less motorcycle than Malaysia..hurmmm

• Sparcov on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:27 am

Actually this is true and dangerous. I personally drove a car and before the toll, there is a lot new marking e.g. RFID or smart tag. Especially during rainy day, when you approaching the toll and hit the brake, your tyre will skid on the marking itself, it is not fast but it will skid.

I believe many encounter this before

• Human on Nov 08, 2022 at 1:23 pm

Hi, there!

Please mind on your mindset!

When rain slowdown your vehicle. Don’t speed that can cause an accident and involve other road users.

Even u use whatever good tyre are or specially ordered and highly techonology u use, u are not in a racing track to show off your speed to other road users.

If u see the white marking, or yellow or red marking u might slowdown your speed a bit and don’t rush. Rushing can increase probability to u to accident.

Marking are there for purpose. If no marking road users will make a simple mistake and drive or ride like a crazy.

I’ll understand this unfortunate road user accident because of 4 things:

1. Reckless Driver or Rider.
    2. Driving or riding too fast and rush with no confident.
    3. The white marking are too thick or slippery with overflowing oil on the road or maybe the tyre are not in good condition or the tyre accidently hit the nails, screws or whatever things that on the white marking.
    4. He or she was destined for accident on that day. U can make a different.

Remember your family that u love.

People can plan, but God decides.

“The best planner is God’s plan”

Good to see you and have a good day.

• White rode marking victim on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:18 pm

I am now stuck at home for treatment after surgery. I got fracture on my right leg. All thanks to the slippery white road marking. I fell at PLUS highway but can’t make complaint or claim since there is no witness and says the PLUS officer, the white road marking where i fell off is a newly painted, and it is painted based their standard. **RubbishStandard

• Mr. Somebody on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:22 pm

While u guys complaint and critique why don’t we brain storm to figure out a better way to replace road paint and serve the same purpose. Like maybe change the road paint material that are less slippery

I’m not a bright person about road safety but I want everyone to change the way we’re thinking. Complaint and criticism will not solve the problem

• Somebody on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:23 pm

While u guys complaint and critique why don’t we brain storm to figure out a better way to replace road paint and serve the same purpose. Like maybe change the road paint material that are less slippery

I’m not a bright person about road safety but I want everyone to change the way we’re thinking. Complaint and criticism will not solve the problem

• Rosdi bin Abd Wahab @ Mat on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:59 pm

Why they keep painting the roads (with few colors) when it is proven caused more harm (to drivers/riders & vehicle) than good? Is this world standard?

• Supe Coal on Nov 09, 2022 at 12:08 am

Rake and trail too steep. Probably sacked fork springs. They give it to you brand-new set up for like the weight of a middle school girl.

• Bikers should ride in bikers lane.
    Asking for trouble to use car lanes.

• Ilham on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:16 am

Thin tire and tight handle is 1 of reasons why tank slapper.. also bad condition rim can be it.. bubble up tire cause of it too.. monoshock/fork can cause of it also.. but i see here is thin tire and still speeding when tank slapping. What you have to do when having tank slap is 1. Dont panic, panic = death 2. Soften you hands, hard hand can cause even hard slap. 3. Use rear brakes.. dont use front brakes. 4. Throttle completely off and pull clutch lever. 5. Move your ass slightly back. Thanks

• junkies otr on Nov 09, 2022 at 4:58 pm

This is the only material for road marking to be reflective at night. Unlike those marking on racing tracks which is not reflective.

• I drive n I ride n still do.Those tat don hv enuf riding experience don b sarcastic, ditto drivers. I don support reckless road users n I mean ALL road users.
    Markings don hv to b so thick. Most ride bcos of reasons like affordability, jam etc. D markings r slippery in d wet not only riders need to be careful. Try driving on them at a higher speed in yr car.

• Aen Rabeon on Nov 10, 2022 at 12:55 am

It all comes to the type of paint used to mark roads. There are many types of paint as according to it’s purpose and rubber based ones are best for road markings as they tend to be less slippery especially in the wet AND they come in many quality grades as well. Don’t know what are the specs expected by JKR and are they implimented by contractors. End of the day, until a minister tank slapped headfirst into the asphalt, nothing will change. Road users are lucky enough to not have to avoid potholes along the way.

• Krsna on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:33 pm

Looks like the rear tyre deflated or a puncture…

• Alain on Nov 12, 2022 at 10:20 am

Riding on the uneven edge of a longitudinal marking is definitely a bad idea and something you shouldn’t try. His position on the road is wrong. Hope he wasn’t injured. Now, those markings can be a big problem. In Singapore they are everywhere and sometimes it is difficult to avoid them. The worst are large yellow markings at bus stops. They are the full width of the lane and very long. When it is raining those are death traps for motorcycle. You cannot break and they happened to be close to junction where you need to break. They were not designed with motorcycle safety in mind.

• I Am The Law on Nov 12, 2022 at 4:40 pm

Rider with low I.Q. It’s a fact. Should have I.Q test in driving school for cognitive awareness and alertness for road users. Accidents are mostly related to how good you are utilizing your brain rather than your brawn. It’s often the stupidity of the brain that causes accidents and rarely the vehicle.

• James E Johnson on Nov 12, 2022 at 8:47 pm

Stupid rider passing on the wrong side and riding the white line. You NEVER do that. I’ve been riding a little over 50 years and that’s a big no-no.

• Thiza Anak Rover on Nov 13, 2022 at 9:36 am

Bukan hanya garisan tapi bonjolan jalan atau kualiti jalan selepas di baiki…misalnya jalan yg rosak n diperbaiki tapi lebih tinggi dari jalan asal pun boleh menyebabkan tank slapper…saya dh kena dan patah pergelangan tangan terpaksa wrist fusion…walaupun dikatakan self accident tapi sendiri juga bayar kesalahan…tiada langgar lampu isyarat namun masih juga membayar…kalau ikutkan hati nak juga salahkan si pembuat jalan…malas nak sebutkan pihak mana…kita bayar cukai jalan namun keadaan jalan macam apa jak… ” Jalan boleh diperbaiki dgn memikirkan keselamatan pengguna, nyawa manusia tak boleh diganti”.

• Slowburn on Nov 13, 2022 at 11:22 pm

I’m not going to judge about the rider. I also among the sport bike rider and seasoned driver myself. Tank slaps happen when uneven road condition comes with front suspensions(motorcycle fork) fluid is not even; leaking. Normal bikes(not a sport bikes or superbikes) usually never been tuned or serviced regularly and setup properly. Thus, it leads to instability. Furthermore, the brakes only at one side. Which mostly on sport bikes have 2 disc brakes much more stable when braking and didn’t tweak the wheel alignment when braking which leads to unintended braking. This shows smaller bikes doesn’t deserve to be ridden on the highways. It’s a short distance commuter. It wasn’t build to be ridden long distance like what Malaysian accustomed to do. It’s slow, not really comfortable to ride for long journeys, it’s not designed to go long distance regularly.

This is just my opinion. I do learn mechanical engineering and motorsport enthusiast. So I do know what I’m saying.

• Blaming on other attitude huh?

• athies on Nov 23, 2022 at 11:41 am

What is the thickness of those slappers?(why is it called slapper when the correct name is speed breakers)
    In my sons Kurikulum Pendidikan Pemandu, pg71, it is stated that the speed breakers are 5mm in height.
    How is this verifed….some places it is even highers