2022 Royal Enfield Super Meteor 650 joins lineup

2022 Royal Enfield Super Meteor 650

The lineup of 650 capacity motorcycles from Royal Enfield gets a new addition, the 2022 Royal Enfield Super Meteor 650, revealed at the EICMA show in Italy. Carrying cruiser styling, the Super Meteor is an all new design including the chassis, and is the first Royal Enfield motorcycle to carry an LED headlight.

Motive power is the same as its stable mates, the Continental GT650 and Interceptor 650 (priced at RM48,500 and RM45,500 in Malaysia, respectively), an air-/oil-cooled parallel-twin displacing 650 cc and fed by EFI. The Super Meteor produces a claimed 47 PS at 7,250 rpm and 52.3 Nm of torque at 5,650 rpm with power going to the back wheel via chain drive and a six-speed gearbox.

Weighing in at 241 kg, the front end is held up by 43 mm diameter upside-down forks with a travel of 120 mm while the back is fitted with twin shock absorbers with 101 mm of travel and preload adjustment. Wheel sizing is 19-invhes in front and 16-inches at the back, shod with 100/90 and 150/80 rubber.

Braking is done with a single 320 mm brake disc in front grabbed by a two-piston hydraulic calliper and a single 300 mm disc at the rear with two-piston brake calliper. Two-channel ABS is standard equipment and the Super Meteor carries 15.7-litres of fuel in the tank.

Royal Enfield Super Meteor 650 Tourer

Information the rider needs is displayed on a combination analogue and digital main meter while ancillary information is shown in a secondary round LCD panel which also shows navigation information when connected to the rider’s smartphone. Other riding conveniences include a 5 Volt USB charging socket.

Aside from the base model Super Meteor 650, there is also a Tourer version fitted with factory accessories. These include a pillion seat back rest and windshield with the rider having a choice of seven different paint schemes to choose from.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Iskandar Shah on Nov 17, 2022 at 9:03 pm

Kesian lah. All the mat rempit like john and Rakyat can’t afford this bike. they only can lumba on their cheap kapcai at KESAS highway

• Just to correct you, the price of the Interceptor and Continental GT is now around RM33k-RM35k after the change of distributorship. A far cry cheaper than your reported 45-48k during the initial launch.

• Mayukh on Nov 18, 2022 at 10:27 pm

Fantastic motorcycles. Even more fantastic engine on the 650 twins

• Camper7313 on Jan 16, 2023 at 11:35 am

What the expected price for super meteor? Any idea?

• Hirudo Sully on Feb 07, 2023 at 9:23 pm

I checked the RE at Gasket Alley n test drove the Continental and Meteor 350 today.

The Super 650 Meteor is coming to the Msia shores in Sept and price is OTR with insurance n RT of course circa MYR 40K. Will Have to give up my Leocino500 , 2018 for this Arab desert horse.( sob sob ). However will keep my equivalent to the RE ie my VCN 650

Looking forward to be one of the early owners of this RE Super Meteor 650 cruiser.( Pray ..pray )

• Ravin on Feb 28, 2023 at 11:44 am

Awesome bike,very good road handling at cruising speed,a good fight with HD for the price

• Saravena on Mar 09, 2023 at 11:13 pm

Looking forward to hearing from you , for new arrived meteor 650

• I hv a Meteor350 which I bought last year. RE are damn durable with good handling. I just test rode the Super Meteor 650 in Chennai last week. Its fantastic with superb handling and good power, 6 speed and inline twin engine. I will definitely upgrade once the bike is here