Keep old cars instead of buying new, suggests BMW

With sustainability and environmental preservation at the focal point of every car manufacturer, BMW is encouraging vehicle owners to stick to their existing cars instead of replacing them.

According to Monika Dernai, head of sustainability at BMW, vehicle owners should look into extending the lifespan of their existing cars instead of replacing them with new ones. It was suggested that by doing so, it’s a simple way of reducing waste and the impact of automobiles on the environment. Dernai also pointed that vehicles should be made to last longer.

“We really need to think about prolonging the lifespan of car and rather than having a used car market where you sell cars to each other, perhaps take the existing car and extend its lifespan,” said Dernai to a report by AutoExpress.

Instead of replacing the old cars, Dernai proposed refurbishing the interior and retrofitting old vehicles with modern upgrades to keep them fresh.

Dernai also noted that new skill sets are needed in the automotive aftermarket industry where cars are designed in a way that the seat can be removed and replaced with a new one. Not only does it help preserve an existing car, but it also creates a business model for BMW – all while reusing and recycling as much as possible with minimum waste.

What do you think of this approach? Instead of buying a new car, would you prefer to have one that’s compatible with modular upgrades while maintaining the old shell?

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• tribal warrior Marky Low on Nov 30, 2022 at 11:44 am

environmentalist strife to convert consumers mindset of car becomes asset instead of liability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • A functional car, is not disposed like a Rubbish.
      Instead, it only transfer ownership.

So, there is no waste. It’s already in the cycle of re-using old cars, until nobody willing to repair a junk anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Masalah nye kereta ni especially conti tends to breakdown after finish warranty…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
    • Sohail on Nov 30, 2022 at 5:49 pm

With that in mind, iSeeCars has released a new study that examines which models have the highest mileage.

Top5 long Mileage car- No BMW in the list.
      Top10 long Mileage car- No BMW in the list.
      Top15 long Mileage car- No BMW in the list.
      Top20 long Mileage car- No BMW in the list.

I am also curious how to spend money to take care of old Junk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Banyak Masuk Workshop on Nov 30, 2022 at 11:51 am

How to extend? My x5 xDrive40e transmission busted after 5.5 years. Air suspension already changed twice in less than 6 years. Dunno what’s next after this. Mileage not even 100k km

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
  • Terence T. on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:01 pm

please tell apple too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • Not an Apple fan but dude, go look at Carousell or Mudah. Very easy to find 3-4 year old iPhone in good condition being sold with good price. The longer they last in the secondhand market, the less waste generated. Don’t get me started on Macs, those last 8-10 years on average.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 43
    • Hantu Raya on Dec 01, 2022 at 9:59 pm

Everybody knows apple is a scam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • MarkX on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:21 pm

Yes.. reduce waste, give used car a new life. Prolong the life of the car.
    What i like about used car is the basic old school specification, very honest car with the safety features and no gimmicks.

The more screens that I see in new cars, the more that I am being put off..

Just gonna keep it running for another decade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
  • Darren on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:39 pm

I think it is good in a way if the maintenance cost is not an issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • eeeriz on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:45 pm

yeah, that’s why i’ve been busy maintaining my old Mazda CX-9, had the urge to sell it, but at the same time, nice sentimental value. So decided to refurbish it slowly.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Dah Menang Semua on Nov 30, 2022 at 1:09 pm

Gotta cancel my BMW booking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • Bob Mal on Nov 30, 2022 at 1:18 pm

Wow BMW only pointed out only on the interior change? Problem is will you old engine last as long or meet the stringent environmental criteria set by the Euro Standard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Linda on Nov 30, 2022 at 2:02 pm

The older BMW crash test also fail to meet latest regulation, easy Milo Tin
      The smell of old plastic and sticky plastic everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Li Peng on Dec 03, 2022 at 1:10 pm

The new environmental standards are for newly registered cars only.

• Dong gor on Nov 30, 2022 at 1:31 pm

This should come from japanese makers like Toyota where reliability is their number 1 KPI. From bmw? Keke..u need to keep a spare car (and non bmw)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • Bruce on Nov 30, 2022 at 2:07 pm

Absolutely agree. New car may have better emissions, but people always forgot the pollution created during manufacturing all the parts and car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • beautiful, classic BMW 325i that one!

• Salmah Mohamed on Nov 30, 2022 at 2:41 pm

I totally agree.

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Nov 30, 2022 at 2:48 pm

Yup I still daily drive and maintained my 2001 Kelisa and weekend a 1995 BMW 325i Convertible.

• Justice on Nov 30, 2022 at 3:45 pm

No issues with Japanese cars like Toyota, useable for a minimum of 20 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • You mau mati ah, keeping BMW for more than 7 years, you asking for trouble. Parts will kill you. But car very nice to drive lah! One by one engine parts give way and need replacement and this exercise will put you under! Of course BMW cars are not meant for ordinary Joe’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Lim Chee Bye on Nov 30, 2022 at 4:04 pm

I prefer older cars. Less electronics. Less headache

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Absolutely. Less electronics are more reliable in the long run. Easy to maintain and can even repair a lot on your own.
      Certainly modern tech is better but old tech is damn simple.

• Robert H. on Nov 30, 2022 at 4:31 pm

I totally agree. The production of an automobile uses more energy and resources than it consumes once in use. The greenest car is the one already on your drive.

• Dugung X on Nov 30, 2022 at 9:38 pm

Except for the black smoke puking Hailats on the road. Those should be banned long time ago

• Sohail on Dec 01, 2022 at 8:11 am

Hahaha, BMW can show example by not accepting trade in, not doing pre-owned sales too.
      Then they will get a good statistics to tokok.

• Because they probably make more from spare parts.

• Why not u offer restoration plans? Old E46 chassis and body? Restore and upgrade it, change everything inside that would go wrong, upgrade stuffs to match newer regulations. New engine, new gb, new hybrid tech, new brakes, new suspension, strengthen chassis for safety blablabla

Charge way lesser than a new vehicle price and get banks to join in to offer installment plans

• I think its a brilliant idea. But refurbished snd upgraded cars must be treated as new with decent manufacturers warranties.
    Germsn automakers can easily set up refurbishing plant in douth east asia where there is a demand for european makes.

• The make sense guy on Nov 30, 2022 at 6:01 pm

This article title should be rewritten as “Toyota suggest” then it would be reasonable

• I m still keeping my F10 528 and it’s draining my wallet like nobody business.bmw is a car that would not be reliable after 150,000 kms

• Haidi on Nov 30, 2022 at 6:44 pm

For God sake, BMW please stop using plastics for engine parts, manifold and water tank just to point out a few. Plastic doesn’t last, understand?

• N S Tan on Nov 30, 2022 at 6:50 pm

The problem of maintaining old BMW such as the E36 series is the difficulty and high cost of E&E parts. A air flow meter cost more than RM4,700.

• Good but not for long on Nov 30, 2022 at 7:28 pm

How to keep a BMW for 10 years when the maintenance by then can buy you a new car. I think BMW should think how to build a more lasting car like Japanese if they want to encourage people to keep their BMWs

• Stone on Nov 30, 2022 at 7:49 pm

What about the end of life policy that keeping on coming up?

• bmw owner on Nov 30, 2022 at 7:51 pm

well if you take care of your car and maintain it properly all car can last long. i still kept my e90 325i after getting a new car it now has over 350k on the odo and it never fail to start and i still sometines drive it to other state it such a fun car would never considering selling it the n52 is still a tank.

• Mahafiz on Nov 30, 2022 at 8:18 pm

My CLK w208 is turning 23 in 2023. Still running fine. Refurbished with new leather seats, eagle eye front lamps, 360 camera, and android player.

• Muiz Zainuddin Abdullah @ Chet Adams on Nov 30, 2022 at 8:52 pm

Dreamt about it since childhood. From where I come (Borneo Island) we had a big yard displaying imported BMWs & CKD models. Sad seeing vintages left to rot. Imagine having new body kids of lines & colour varities to reskin the worn out & weather beaten ones. I know a family of mechanics having 2 units of Classic 2doors 1960 model. They could’nt make any running due to parts availability. What a pity, what a waste! If BMW can have parts available, we should be seeing the yesteryears handsome ones coming back to life. If possible, I’d love to be a part of the effort to make the old Auto Bavarias Rock the globe & becoming the ultimate driving machines again!

• Ng Fook Meng on Nov 30, 2022 at 10:52 pm

The investment into the old car may cost more than the market price.

• Jonathan on Dec 01, 2022 at 5:50 am

Good, if can still kept it. Problem is major parts give way and you may need to wait 3 to 6 months for parts. Can you wait that long without your BMW?

• Emkay on Dec 01, 2022 at 7:02 am

Better use the old school car with less electronic… less headache…

• Junkies otr on Dec 01, 2022 at 7:13 am

The root cause of traffic jam

• Environ on Dec 01, 2022 at 8:15 am

Monika Dernai, head of sustainability of BMW?

Let’s define what is re-use.
    Not all old cars scrapped, only non-road worthy cars are scrapped.

Ownership transfer is part of Re-Use.
    Using 2nd hand, it is not scrapped and wasted.

• Lim Jon Siong on Dec 01, 2022 at 8:31 am

I believe this is the way to sustainability, just like some of the things we are doing to refurbish and recycle. However car manufacturers must also do their part to keep the spare parts affordable and fixing/repair simple.

• Bmw is king when in comes to planned obsolescence , lol

• Don R Chan on Dec 01, 2022 at 12:11 pm

We, Malaysian, being so crazy in owning brand new flashy cars, we do not care what happens when we run out of roads for these obsession machines. For me, the last 2 decades are all about maintaining and using my 407, Merc & Suzuki Grand Vitara, all which are more than 12 years old.
    Everyone thinks that once the car gets old, its for scrap, parts or secondhand. The way most of us maintain our cars, we ought to be banned from buying and using them. I’ve seen the abuse these vehicles go through like not servicing on time or at all, tyres used till they are balder than me, brake pads till they are grinding steel, not servicing the gears and using cheap unproven car products and modification accessories.
    No wonder there are so many secondhand cars in the market. We change our car like it’s a fashion statement and not a necessary commuting item. That’s why we don’t care what we put in to our car or how we maintain it. When the time comes, just change a new one.
    We must be aware that not all new cars have the same good build as the older ones. True, they have gadgets and blinking lights that thrill us. But never EVER forget the first rule of owning and driving a vehicle, it’s a machine that needs proper and right stuff to run effectively and safely, especially when an accident should occur, will our reckless maintaining or our responsible maintenance save our love ones? A vehicle is normally built to last, but kena tengok tuannya.

• Make it a law that cars needs to be maintained as per manufacturer’s stipulated intervals

• Reduce the number of models…. So every model of vehicle is a popular one which can more guarantee parts availablity far in the future

• Instead of asking consumer to stop buying new car, what about telling the car manufacturer to stop designing or promoting new car if you really care for the environment?
    Supply and demand issue.

• nicholas on Dec 01, 2022 at 3:50 pm

not only nobody reluctantly want to repair an old car (they called it old junk) or service them anymore… but also because due to the lack of or no more spare parts & body parts available.
    my family has a old datsun sunny where we took care all these years, but due to unable to find certain spare parts, now that poor “old faithful” is left in the garage coz it’s unsafe and not road worthy! not because it’s unsafe by itself BUT unable to replace certain parts due to unable to find it’s spare parts!
    we also had an old nissan wagon in very good condition but have to let it go 2 years back due to difficulties in finding its spare parts too…

probably car manufacturers should continue to supply old cars spare parts/body parts even though no more manufacturing those old car models. just my humble opinions ✌✌
    Thank You.

• triton on Dec 01, 2022 at 4:24 pm

my dad sold his brand-new BWM 520i F10 after a few months using it

• MetaArt on Dec 01, 2022 at 4:25 pm

Yup totally agreed. Still maintaining my 2002 E46 325i MSport for the last 15 years. Great car..!

• bsapple on Dec 01, 2022 at 6:06 pm

Maybe, just maybe…. if BMW isn’t all plastic they will last longer?

• bsapple on Dec 01, 2022 at 6:07 pm

Maybe… Just maybe…. If BMW isn’t all plastic they will last longer?

• Bmw was not meant for malaysia

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 02, 2022 at 10:56 am

even monica also cannot stand the new cars they are making, look at the classics like the e30, e24, e34, e39 etc etc and the crap they make now

• Willy Lim on Dec 02, 2022 at 7:45 pm

I have a Merc that was made in 1996. Spent quite a bit every now and then. Was told recently that some of the parts aren’t easily available anymore so, I guess it’s about time to dispose right?

• Tony lim bk on Dec 04, 2022 at 12:02 am

Vehicles should be made to last at least 20 years or more on the road. Of course it must be road worthyness to run n in good condition

• CilakaBMW on Dec 04, 2022 at 1:52 pm

BMWW telling us to keep old car?? WTF. BMW purposely make all their kaputs after certain years even if you dont’t drive it. And now they tell us to keep old car?? Hahahahaha. Toyota can advice us that but not BMW. Pundek BMW

• Newimperial on Dec 04, 2022 at 9:51 pm

It’s weird that it’s almost the opposite with Motorbikes or BMW ones anyway. My old 1150 is 19 years old and is now starting to be worth more than it was say three or four years ago. My wife’s old Nissan is worthless but is reasonably reliable. It’ll never be worth anything but because of it’s size might be a good candidate for conversion to electric

• Adah George on Dec 04, 2022 at 10:28 pm

Good idea, I am support of it

• Shimofpj on Dec 05, 2022 at 7:01 pm

I love my BMW E46 325i 2004 model. Drives beautifully and still looks good among news cars. Regular maintenance keeps my car trouble free

• Sir Daus on Dec 06, 2022 at 7:59 am

kang aku tukau sana,tukau sini, kat roadblock tak pasal2 kena tahan JPJ sebab bukan spec asal la, modifikasi sendiri la,, aftermarket punya part bukan semua follow spec,, yela, barang ori, bapak mahai nya,, tak masuk kos upah pasang lagi,, fuhh, tauke balak pun jadi balak ini macam,, hahaha,, sj je bising2,, rasanya statement BMW ni sbb depa dh kalah ranking kereta pilihan skrg ni,, kononnya nk slow down sales kereta lain la ni,,

• Less unnecessary wiring connections & cables, unused features on the screen or sometimes even useless features with those over powered technology control systems, is making life more complicated. Retro design is the best, no complications systems control, straight forward driving pleasures. Now lets ask ourselves, do we really need those over powered tech while we needed are just a decent drive?? My authentic manual gearshift with that hand breaks where I know I am in control of my wheels are still the most preferred!
    & yes, please recycle!