Volvo switches lanes abruptly near toll booth, nearly causes collision – get into your chosen lane earlier!

Bro, kesian king la…change lane responsibly ???????????

Posted by Jonathan Wong on Saturday, 10 December 2022

DashCam Owners Malaysia Facebook group member Jonathan posted footage of this near collision between a Volvo XC60 and a Perodua Myvi happen at a toll plaza. Fortunately thanks to the Perodua Myvi driver’s quick reflexes, nothing happened.

The Volvo XC60 was seen close to the right-most RFID lane at a toll plaza at a distance of just 4-5 cars away from the toll (yet at the same time not quite in the RFID lane) when he suddenly decided to switch 3 lanes to his left into the SmartTAG lane.

A Perodua Myvi was already in the SmartTAG lane and had to quickly switch to the next SmartTAG lane in order to avoid a collision. This is dangerous driving on part of the Volvo driver and should not be emulated.

Always make sure you are in the correct lane well ahead of the toll plaza so you do not have to make last minute lane changes like this. If you are bad at remembering whether you want to use RFID or SmartTAG, just stick to one no matter how long the queue is at a particulate lane.

If you somehow accidentally get into an RFID lane when you are not supposed to, and if the next lane is a Touch n Go lane, just use the Touch n Go lane as the payment method is the same as a SmartTAG lane.

In this case, the Volvo could have used the Touch n Go lane that the car was already in, but instead a decision was made to drive dangerously over to the SmartTAG lane just for the convenience of not having to wind down a window to tap the Touch n Go card.

We should be better on the road, please don’t drive like this.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• unfortunately, this is just 1 of 1000s of bad/dangerous driving we see on a daily basis… it’s so normalized, we just have to drive with our wits about us rather than hope for other drivers’ (and riders’) attitude to change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Sohai on Dec 15, 2022 at 1:19 am

No… PLUS should enable all devices/tag detected at all lanes , inst3ad asking road user to switch lanes…. Sohoi betoi to switch here switch there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
  • Matchy on Dec 14, 2022 at 9:06 pm

Most likely becoz the volvo saw the RFID lane long queue and decided to switch to smartag. Always see these kind of ppl at toll. Unfortunately this for this toll, the smartag lane is far from the RFID lane. Agree with you the volvo should’ve use the TNG lane, but probably want to be “fast”, do decided to switch 3 lanes to the smartag lane.

• policeman on Dec 15, 2022 at 10:25 am

Saman 100k & Gantung lesen 10tahun.

For dangerous and careless driving, dia ingat plaza tol Bapak dia punyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • They will not change… seriously

• Props to the myvi driver. Sometimes we have to be attentive to avoid stupid drivers. Can’t rely on others to not hit us, so we should try to avoid and be far away from other drivers when they show even a glimpse of bad driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • AkooIm on Dec 14, 2022 at 9:39 pm

Volvo:
    We pledge for zero fatalities involving our cars in the future…

Idiot Volvo drivers:
    Challenge accepted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • ROTI CANAI on Dec 14, 2022 at 9:41 pm

yeap, all the previous mercedes drivers drive volvos these days

• 4musa73 on Dec 14, 2022 at 9:55 pm

Volvo may build safer cars, but dumb drivers like this is just not worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Manuniversal on Dec 14, 2022 at 10:32 pm

Malaysian drivers seldom use turn signals and just switch lanes as they like. One of the main causes of road accidents.

• Part of the problem is also caused by the fact that there’s always only one RFID lane on every toll.

• Li Peng on Dec 15, 2022 at 12:06 pm

So the Myvi driver was wrong? He or she would have taken that into account?

• Unfortunately, many toll plazas are poorly designed and confusing to people who cannot understand perspective. Some people think that they are in the right “lane” until it becomes clear that they are not once they get close. The lane markings and lines are absent just as you reach the toll, and only appear when you are within a few cars distance from the actual tolls. What did you expect to happen when you turn a marked 3-lane highway into an unmarked 10-lane one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Paul Tham on Dec 14, 2022 at 11:37 pm

Seen this kind of driver almost everyday , especially at subang exit at NKVE!!!

• Matahari on Dec 15, 2022 at 7:19 am

Reckless Volvo driver ni, kasih saman.

• what3v3r on Dec 15, 2022 at 7:36 am

meh dtg toll sunway menghala puchong…. hari2 boleh jumpa bangsa ‘babi’ ni…. xkira jenis kereta, kecik besar semua ada…

• Good Driver on Dec 15, 2022 at 7:50 am

The driver thought he is driving a Volvo mah…so can drive like this

• Good Driver on Dec 15, 2022 at 7:51 am

Volvo driver thought he is driving a Volvo mah…so can drive like this

• Muhammad Hafiizh on Dec 15, 2022 at 8:33 am

this is like F1 racing when they approach the first corner

• AppleTree on Dec 15, 2022 at 8:53 am

If an IT system allows you to do mistake EASILY and does not prevent mistake or error, this is a bad system and nobody will buy it. For example, you enter wrong email format at email field.

Same to say with our tol plaza. Very bad design that encourage lane switching anytime and anywhere. And the RFID scanner is put on the very high roof of the tol booth. I am still curios, why it is not placed down nearer to the car.

• Deans on Dec 15, 2022 at 9:03 am

Big car with a small brain..

• Wayangbetui on Dec 15, 2022 at 9:04 am

Almost all of you commented here did this mistake atleast once in your lifetime. So, stop wayang2 blaming others… haha

• KEN WONG on Dec 15, 2022 at 9:22 am

Even though the plus toll install all the payment detection. But…but if the driver attitudes not changing, the accident stills will be happening.

• drMpower on Dec 15, 2022 at 10:16 am

so nothing is happening to the volvo driver?
    need to wait for report first? then see how?

• civicEK on Dec 15, 2022 at 10:22 am

Only in Malaysia.

Bigger Car = Smaller Brain.

• Orteip on Dec 15, 2022 at 11:01 am

A**h#@ volvo driver

• Li Peng on Dec 15, 2022 at 12:03 pm

Volvo drivers think they purchased the right to change lanes apruptly together with the car, that’s normal. They also think that they can park their Volvo wherever they want, even if they block somebody else.

• Papa Goines on Dec 15, 2022 at 12:08 pm

Baru tau ka… hari-hari orang buat tau

tak kisah la brand kereta apa pun

• Phillip on Dec 15, 2022 at 3:53 pm

that’s one reason to have traffic cops overseeing situations like this.

• visually or mentally challenge volvo driver on Dec 15, 2022 at 4:33 pm

volvo driver mental proccessor slow still using ancient version, last seconds only remember dont have TnG

volvo driver cock eye no money buy new spec, near near only can see its wrong lane

after toll booth, road belongs to volvo driver father, go left then go right or what ever way

• Eric Siow on Dec 15, 2022 at 6:41 pm

Best to submit the video clip to the authorities. Let them decide if the driver should be charged for dangerous driving.

• Because you want fast, but danger to other road user, everyone also don’t like queue,behave yourself.

• Driving at top speed when approaching tol gates is normal for drivers in this country…either they left their brain at home or never had one.

• Wilson on Dec 17, 2022 at 9:49 am

Lane markings mana?! Maybe should be 750m from toll plaza = single solid line.. then from 500m = double solid lines.. put cameras and enforce rules with fines / compounds..! Takde susah lah..!