2023 Honda Wave Alpha updated for Malaysia – now with EFI, larger 4.1-litre fuel tank, priced at RM5,179

2023  Honda Wave Alpha updated for Malaysia – now with EFI, larger 4.1-litre fuel tank, priced at RM5,179

Getting a major update for this year in Malaysia is the 2023 Honda Wave Alpha, priced at RM5,179 excluding road tax, insurance and registration with a two-year or 20,000 km warranty against manufacturing defects. There are three colour options for the Wave Alpha in 2023 – Nightfall Blue, Vivacity Red dan Clipper Yellow.

Biggest change for the incoming Wave Alpha model is the addition of Honda’s PGM-Fi to the Euro 4 compliant SOHC 109.2 cc single-cylinder engine. Power for the Wave Alpha is claimed to be 8.7 hp at 7,500 rpm with 8.7 Nm of torque at 5,500 rpm, going through a four-speed gearbox with centrifugal clutch.

According to Honda, under World Motorcycle Test Cycle (WMTC) standards, the Wave Alpha records a fuel consumption figure of 1.41 litres per 100 km compared to the carburettor Wave Alpha‘s 1.71 litres per 100 km with engine starting using electric or kick start. Meanwhile, fuel capacity has been increased from the 3.7-litres of the previous generation model to the current 4.1-litres.

Also seeing an upgrade is the under seat storage space on the Wave Alpha, now at 7.3-litres, almost twice as much as the outgoing model. Weight for the Wave Alpha is listed as 98 kg, with seat height set at 768 mm off the ground.

For braking, the Wave Alpha gets a single hydraulic disc on the front wheel mechanical drum brake at the back, with wheel sizing – only cast alloy wheels are available – at 17 inches, shod with 70/90 front and 80/90 rear tyres. Suspension is done with telescopic forks in front while the back end is held up with preload-adjustable twin shock absorbers.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• CASEY C on Jan 04, 2023 at 11:12 am

I am waiting Honda to launch 5 speed Wave 125. Honda please buat kerja, your 4 speed gear box was 30 year old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Squid on Jan 04, 2023 at 2:56 pm

The gearbox is half the engine. To go 5 speed will require a totally new engine. If they did that, the price will be much more than RM5k+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • WWK 1581 on Jan 06, 2023 at 7:17 pm

And also upgrade to liquid cooled, honda behind yamaha lc135 15++years

• We have the previous model with drum-brakes in the family. We never had a bike with poorer quality. Rims were rusting after the first rain, rear signals fell off within the first six months, etc.
    Good and reliable engine, but all parts supplied from other vendors are cheap rubbish.

• victerr on Jan 05, 2023 at 3:24 am

honda wave 2023 kpn masuk ke indonesia? hrg on the road brp? apakah honda wave 2023 ini ada yg listrik? tlg diberitahu kl sudah masuk ke indonesia, dan honda wave ini matic atau bebek biasa

• Jimho on Jan 05, 2023 at 9:41 pm

Dah masuk ke Indon? Pemula listrik (electric starter)? Harga? Bagaimana kami bisa tahu? Harga motor biasanya sekitar 7% lebih disini. Tapi sekarang dengan Menteri Anthony Loke, harusnya sama.

As an aside: I visited Palembang + Central Sumatra 3 years ago, noticed that approximately 77 % of the bikes are scooters, 17% Kapchais, 6% bigger bikes. I’d spoken to many of them, Gojek riders, couriers, office workers, etc: Practicality, humility & modesty – are the traits behind their choices.
      In M’sia most don’t choose scooters because they’re thought to be more suitable to girls & sissies. It’s just conceited, immature thinking, I think. Louder Kapchais, with steel chains, seems to be more ‘macho’ & better suited to the generally bigger egos here – just my observation. I also discovered that motorcyclists in the places I’ve visited – are so much more patient & considerate. I’d not come across any road rage or fights over there. But when they’re here they behave just like the locals.

• Turismo Auto SB on Jun 27, 2023 at 4:30 pm

How much Honda Wave Alpha per unit if we buy 7 units, can I one short to loan and how much the minimum down payment?