Spectator hit and killed after race car goes off track at Dato’ Sagor Circuit – state government to investigate

A spectator was killed when a car hit him at the Dato’ Sagor Circuit in Pasir Salak, Perak on New Year’s Eve 2022 during the CCT Battle of Champion race, with footage of incident being widely circulated on social media.

In the video, two cars were shown racing closely before coming into contact, which forced one of the cars off the track and towards a group of people standing in an open area. The car then hit the 32-year-old workshop mechanic who was then rushed to Changkat Melintang Hospital but succumbed to his injuries at around 5pm.

According to event coordinator Yano Al-Mahadzir, 10 marshals were positioned at six sections around the track during the race and were told to ensure there were no spectators in the area where the incident occurred.

“However, during the last lap, they ran from the middle of the circuit and approached the area near the track,” he said when contacted by Berita Harian. Yano added the incident was the first time there had been a fatal accident during the nearly 10 years his company (Yano Auto Parts & Accessories) had been managing car racing competitions at the Dato’ Sagor Circuit.

Following the incident, the Perak state government said it would look into the full report from the organiser, Bernama reported. “On behalf of the state government I offer our condolences to the victim’s family and we do very much regret the incident,” said state education, higher education, youth and sports committee chairman Khairudin Abu Hanipah.

“I will announce the next course of action after I have gone through the full report including from the local authority on the technical aspects, spectators and racers’ safety, the officials on duty and so forth,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• PitStop on Jan 04, 2023 at 11:06 am

Salam takziah kepada arwah Amir. Orang Taiping dan mempunyai car workshop sendiri.

• so unfortunate… RIP brother

• A tragedy for the deceased family. Sad day. Kudos to the very quick action by the emergency team and personnel. Wonder how spectators for to the track side. Better vigilance needed by organizers.

• the driver on Jan 04, 2023 at 1:13 pm

Racing is dangerous, full stop. The authorities and the organiser need to get there act in place before continuing. No run off areas, no gravel pits or ‘soft barriers’ to catch or slow down wayward racing cars. A disaster in the making.

• Safety First on Jan 04, 2023 at 2:16 pm

How come there is people within the race track area, no kind of barricade some more…No safety measurement at all, right after the accident, there is people immediately running through the track while cars still racing some more…

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 04, 2023 at 2:23 pm

no safety barriers?

• Squid on Jan 04, 2023 at 2:51 pm

“Jaguh Kampung” cup what u expect. When I first heard about it my immediate reaction was “I’m surprised it didn’t happen earlier”.

It’s a cowboy race track for cowboy racers and cowboy fans.

• Ajibkor on Jan 05, 2023 at 2:29 pm

Organisers should go to jail for negligence.Dont ever allow your loved ones to step inside these landmines.

• This is what happens when you run unsanctioned races. There are plenty of safety protocols to keep the sport safe. If you ignore them, shit happens. Yes, things can still happen if the best safety practices are in place but that’s how the regulations genuinely evolve. But this incident and the drag racing death last year were totally avoidable.

• Takziah to the deceased and family.
    This a sad looking circuit.
    Whoever built this only research track layout for go-karts.
    No concrete barriers / safety metal fence on each side of the starting area either,
    sooner or later some driver would plough through the used tire (doesn’t look like it’s strapped down either) or wrap their car around the starting pillar.

Malulah sukan permotoran untuk negara.