2023 Perodua Axia size comparison vs old Axia, Myvi, Proton Iriz – which Malaysian hatchback suits you?

Thanks to the use of the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA), the second-generation Perodua Axia is a larger car when compared to its predecessor. If you’re curious how the new Axia stacks up against national hatchbacks that are one segment up, we’re doing just that by bringing in the Perodua Myvi and Proton Iriz into this comparison.

First, a little recap. The new Axia measures 3,760 mm long, 1,665 mm wide and 1,505 mm tall, which makes it 115 mm longer and 45 mm wider than the model it replaces, with the height also down by some five mm.

This sees the boot space increase by five litres, with the added benefit of better interior packaging as we detailed in our first drive report. However, the larger body does see kerb weight go up, with the starting point of the newer model being at where the older car maxed out.

In terms of external dimensions, the Myvi is undoubtedly a larger car compared to the Axia. Measuring in at 3,895 mm long and 1,735 mm wide, the other Perodua hatchback is 135 mm longer and 70 mm wider than its sibling.

Even so, the Axia has an advantage when it comes to wheelbase with an extra 25 mm over the Myvi’s 2,500 mm – interior space was already a hallmark of the original Axia. The Myvi’s larger body means it offers 12 litres more boot space compared to the Axia at 277 litres, and with its higher-capacity engine options and other features, its starting weight is 120 kg higher.

As for the Iriz, it beats the Myvi in terms of overall length (3,945 mm), height (1,554 mm) and wheelbase (2,555 mm), but its slightly narrower at 1,722 mm. Despite the dimensions, the Iriz offers less boot space when compared to the Perodua hatchbacks. It should also be noted the Proton model’s starting kerb weight is 180 kg more than the Myvi.

Pricing-wise, the new Axia commands a higher asking price than its predecessor due to its larger size and increased list of standard features – the base 1.0 G variant is now more comparable to the previous 1.0 GXtra that had VSC as standard.

The Axia overlaps with the Myvi when you spring for the range-topping 1.0 AV variant (RM49,500), which is still RM1,000 more than the Myvi 1.3 G with Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA) at RM48,500. Even so, the latter’s PSDA suite does not include a blind spot monitor, rear cross traffic alert, front parking sensors and a reverse camera, all of which are included in the Axia AV – you do get a 1.3 litre engine instead of a 1.0 litre unit though.

Meanwhile, the Iriz range is between RM42,800 and RM57,300, making it more affordable than the Myvi. However, all variants of the Iriz are not offered with active safety systems like autonomous emergency braking, and the same is also true of the Perodua cars.

The Iriz does stay on par with the Myvi by having stability control as well as a minimum of four airbags on lower variants and a maximum of six on top variants. As for the Axia, you’ll only get six airbags and PSDA with the top-spec 1.0 AV, with all other variants only coming with two airbags and VSC.

Given this information, which Malaysian-brand hatchback would you go for if you had to put your money down?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kimchi on Feb 21, 2023 at 5:47 pm

Axia all the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Amran on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:32 am

Smallest car now RM 50k. :-(
      #KerajaanGagal2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
      • Imagine being so low, you take the highest spec and lament about the price. LOL!

• Ajibkor on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Kereta mahal & car AP. This all the fault of madey & his korap PN kronies.. Hell to them

• ChronoLuna on Feb 23, 2023 at 9:34 pm

Pala utakmu. Inflasi. Tu la, nda belajar kewangan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Patut le org miskin ramai masuk Neraka on Feb 25, 2023 at 10:22 pm

Murah lg le tu Amran. Tu lah, kecik2 xnak belajar, da bsr gaji kecik komplen sana sini.

Dasar perangai PPR B40s, menyusahkan je.

Lahir miskin bkn slh kita, mati miskin tu salah kita.

P/s : Jgn salahkan takdir.

• Ground europe passenger on Feb 21, 2023 at 5:48 pm

Perodua car like so spacious, but once u test seat u will realise the seats were quite short that not reached your shoulder height or knee under hip. It’s exclusively made for lady or petite people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
    • Iriz's good but still need improvement! on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:48 pm

i kind of agree. I compared myvi (my sis car) & iriz (my dotter car) side by side, found out myvi seat smaller. Iriz seat hug u properly. Maybe bcoz of tht, u feel myvi inside bigger?? Iriz better in handling and solidness but lost in initial pickup response and fuel consumption. It’s good to drive in highway. For agility in city drive, myvi better, lighter! i think iriz is a man car, myvi is for female.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Theanswer on Feb 24, 2023 at 10:13 am

actually not only perodua use that approach. others use this kind of approach to make the interior feel airy. for example 1st gen almera..even civic fc use slimmer seat.

• newme on Feb 21, 2023 at 5:54 pm

Iriz is old dinosaur. Count it out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
    • Maverick merpati still at Kajang on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:44 pm

If I have a budget of 46 grand,I’ll get the basic 1.3Myvi..bigger,more power and slightly bigger boot.
      Axia is good for 4 persons.The fifth one will be sandwiched like sardines.Also leg room at the front is for midgets.
      Top spec Axia is another 3 grand extra ,with some extra features.

• Iriz NCAP 5 stars. Brand new Axia NCAP 4 stars. Better buy old dinosaur because of safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Kapchai on Feb 22, 2023 at 1:09 pm

Iriz need to be retest to the new Asean Ancap 2021-2025 protocol first,

Without the Blind Spot Side Mirror Monitoring, easily dropped to at least 4 star, so same like Axia lower spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Unlike P2, they were at least able to get 5 stars when the design was new.

• newme on Feb 22, 2023 at 2:01 pm

Nampak sangat ilmu tak cukup.

• Iriz still the best! on Feb 22, 2023 at 4:12 pm

Eventhough iriz is old, with no Adas, blind spot monitoring, but it is still good car. It was used in UK rally and won some stage, even featured in ps4 WRC9 game.World recognise it’s good handling and solidness of it. Mybi or Axiia can or not? Only self shiok king..! Dont bliv, go google urself, even paultan got mentioned it b4, try to search. Really hope Geely will come up a new iriz with all the latest features to impress again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • The car is still okay while the engine is not up to date. They should implant the X50 engine range into it.

• Iriz still the best! on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:11 pm

One side of me want iriz 1.5 turbo(x50engine), another side of me dont want bcoz scare later all this youngster race on the road, bring danger to others. sigh…maybe giv a new 1.5 na engine enufflah…and launch a gti version with turbo and sell around 75k?

• Sick & Tired on Feb 21, 2023 at 6:08 pm

People want cheaper cars, dulu Axia only cost RM 25k now Axia cost RM50k. PH Gomen dah gagal. Time to UBAH now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 65
    • Raja Kamarul on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:25 pm

You would think that your ability to type and operate a blog to comment would afford you the capability to know that your 25k and 50k comparison is a tad stupid. The basic bit*h versus the flagship.

If people want cheaper cars, go buy cheapers cars. Nobody has forced anything down your throat. Yep, I am sick and tired of your type.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
      • Aku Pun Melayu on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:13 pm

His kind only know how to rempit je..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Geng Bang Non on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Ur kind know how to racing saje.

• Aku Pun Melayu on Feb 22, 2023 at 1:56 pm

Aku org melayu la…. unless ur talking about those rempits or t20 racing in their sports cars then i agree….

• Ajibkor on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:46 pm

My time is stil the best. Until that old madey and his PN monkeys came to destroy or nation,

• Amran on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:34 am

WAKE UP!!!!
        Axia is the smallest new car you can buy and it now cost RM 50K!!!!!
        He is right!!! We ARE SICK & TIRED OF HIGH PRICE GOMEN!!!

#KerajaanGagal2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
        • rosmah bin najib on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:29 am

kerajaan BN 60 tahun gagal kau diam je apahal?

• Sick & Tired on Feb 23, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Previous 60 years gomen never said to limit car ownerships only for the rich.
            Previous 60 years gomen never said RM 120k car is considered affordable.
            Previous 60 years gomen never bash B40 & M40 for not affording an “affordable Rm 120k” EV.
            Previous 60 years gomen never send trolls to whack others for highlighting the truth.
            Simply put, previous 60 years gomen was never this farkup like today.

• Gomen make P2 prices?

• Sick & Tired and Amran bodoh on Feb 22, 2023 at 10:08 am

24k axia is still on the market,
          if you poor buy la 24k one.
          dah tahu sendiri b40, nak lagi beli top spec pastu complain mahal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • Aku Pun Melayu on Feb 22, 2023 at 2:02 pm

Amran ni mmg bodoh. Dulu tahun 2018-2019 pun budak ni dah merepek gile….

• newme on Feb 22, 2023 at 11:03 am

Who ask you to buy that RM50K car? You can buy Bezza at RM34K.

• Sohau on Feb 22, 2023 at 11:35 am

Kia Picanto is now the smallest new car.

• Motorcyclist on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:19 pm

Try a motorcycle is efficient.

• Harry19k on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:56 pm

Got many choices now, also in recon cars with comparable reliability

• I think I rather purchase a similarly sized Daihatsu Boon if it was available in Malaysia.

• JasonX on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:28 pm

AP car have… Go ask. Post pictures… I’d like to see you driving one . Else it’s just talking hot air

• GR Fans on Feb 21, 2023 at 6:30 pm

So next new myvi will be,
    3,965 in lenght
    1,750 in width
    1,525 in height
    2,650 wheelbase
    995 – 1,095 in kerb weight
    280l boot space

Gonna be slightly larger than iriz.

• Jason on Feb 21, 2023 at 6:36 pm

Not impressive by now bcuz Perodua has set new standards.
    I prefer to get rid of my old Jazz 1.3L hybrid now, performance and comfort has gone aging.

Gotta trade in the old 2 airbags Jazz Hybrid for this for my house use,
    Feels more comfortable, safe, and surprisingly doing better fuel saving

• Sammy on Feb 21, 2023 at 6:53 pm

People didn’t realize the DNGA cheap version Lego like platforms that you can assemble change according to specifications. Quality wise lower than TNGA used on global market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • And?

• Fur ODC on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:20 am

What the heck are u talking about? That’s what platforms are for. They are meant to have flexible architecture so that they can turn into several types of vehicles. TNGA is for Toyota. DNGA is for Daihatsu. What quality wise are u talking about?

• Muhammad Najmi on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:56 am

For me, it all comes down to Build Quality, Performance, and Fuel Consumption …

• Outrageously Kerajaan Gagal2.0 on Feb 22, 2023 at 10:52 am

Are you still waiting for Raja Formula (who is not Minister of Economy) to tell you that the price won’t go down but will go up and up and up? His 100days advice is, don’t buy if too expensive. Better if you can walk or ride a bike to save money before eggs and chickens roasting you.

• Azgarffield on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:30 pm

After the euphoria dies down on the new overhyped Axia, one will find that MyVi 1.3 G is better than all the new Axia range has to offer. Waiting period is much shorter as well (and psstt future resale value will also hold better).

Unless you die die want all the extra feature from Axia 3-cyl 1.0 AV lah. Your money.

• Ok I pilih 2nd hand 2019 Axia.

• Ts yao on Feb 22, 2023 at 4:20 pm

If rafizi can bring down sale n other tax, eventually car price will be lower.So it make affordable to many.also bring back the rebate for old car swap to new at 5k rebate…hahaha let see our minister said.

• Simon Oeter on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:51 pm

I am currently using a 2014 Axia Advance. Bought it for RM42K then. No plan to upgrade as the Advance variant got some of sensors that current 2023 models have. Probably, will use it couple of years more.

• Simon Peter on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:54 pm

I am currently using a 2014 Axia Advance. Bought it for RM42K then. I love the small turning radius especially making U-Turn at traffic lights. No plan to upgrade to the 2023 model as the Advance variant got some of sensors that current 2023 models have. Probably, will use it couple of years more.

• gibran on Feb 22, 2023 at 10:24 pm

people blaming the present government for Axia pricing are damn stoopid. P2 is is private sector, blame them for their pricing strategy, idiot all of you.

• Apadah on Feb 24, 2023 at 12:39 pm

Why the point of having a national car policy and still pay so much for an entry level car from a protected national car maker? All arguments of inflation, supply chain costs and knock on aside, it just doesn’t make sense in terms of public policy. Might as well do way with NAP and level the playing field. Would probably get a more decent offering from a foreign manufacturer at the same price points.

• CamPro on Mar 12, 2023 at 12:48 am

Iriz all the way thanks to world’s most powerful engine, Proton’s VVT engine.