Study finds Land Rover, BMW drivers to have lower IQ

This might not go down well with BMW or Land Rover owners, but as the data obtained from an intelligence quotient (IQ) research test shows, you lot aren’t the brightest around, based on what you drive. That’s right, and the argument for that is made via stats presented in a UK study.

Now, before you take out your sledgehammers or pick-axes and head wildly in this – or any – direction, deliberate for a moment on the science presented, and if you think it’s all hogwash after that, feel free to club away in disagreement.

So, here’s the angle of that particular dangle – having heard enough of the term “stupid driver,” the folk at UK website Scrap Car Comparison were curious as to whether the type of car one drives actually correlates with how intelligent one is.

That curiousity developed into a full-fledged research exercise to find out, with the firm then getting over 2,000 Brit drivers to take a standardised IQ test, ranking them based on their intelligence scores in relation to their car brand, of which findings for 22 marques were recorded. Powertrain type, vehicle colour and even personalisation subsets were also grouped and defined.

Smartiest pants? The ones who drive Skodas, because they topped the IQ test with an average score of 99. Suzuki owners weren’t far behind (98.09), with the rest of the top five consisting of Peugeot (97.79), Mini (97.41) and Mazda (95.91) owners.

On the other end of the scale were those with a BMW (91.68) and Fiat (90.14), with the laggards being Land Rover drivers, who didn’t even get to 90, with an average score of 88.58. Hafriz Shah, who has two Range Rovers, eminently disagrees with the findings, although it has been pointed out to him that a Range Rover is not quite a Land Rover, even if they are from the same tree. Alright, we’ll give you a score of 90 then, good sir.

The test also revealed that petrol vehicle drivers had the highest average IQ score (94.35), nudging ahead of hybrid (93.89) owners and diesel (92.91), with electric vehicle (EV) drivers showing the least spark, lagging significantly behind with a 90.19 score.

As for exterior colours, white (95.71) led the colour palette, ahead of grey (94.97) and red (94.88, yay). Of the seven colours sampled in the study, green was dead last at 88.43. The research also gleaned that owners with personalised number plates were less intelligent than those without. So, if you happen to drive a green all-electric BMW with personalised plates, we have news for you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bob Mal on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:15 pm

Hahaha, no data we also know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 10
    • Corelle on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:12 pm

This data study is sponsored by Mercedes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 5
      • Satsee on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:00 am

Lol!! Yeah….

• Why So Serious? on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:19 pm

Landies & Bimmers has low IQ.
        Mercs has EQ. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 41
        • Isaac on Feb 22, 2023 at 1:03 pm

Wrong. Merc have low IQ than BMW and Landies. That will be correct

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
          • this guy does not get the joke.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
          • Amriji on Feb 22, 2023 at 7:00 pm

Correctlah what was said. Merc has EQ…EQA, EQB, EQC, EQE, EQS etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
          • ExterMan on Feb 22, 2023 at 11:08 pm

lol
            It is not joke, EQ can be emotional intelligence

Amriji
            He was saying about EQ on emotional intelligence, not about Mercedes EQ

Go google search

• Elbow on Feb 23, 2023 at 8:36 am

Agree with Isaac but disagree with lol and Amriji

• Corelle on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:13 pm

This data study is sponsored by Mercedes because when sales for Mercedes is lesser and will talk bad about BMW and LR? Lol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • High Octane on Feb 23, 2023 at 1:10 pm

No. The study doesn’t show any vehicle manufacturers as sponsors.

• Take a look, did you think this study is fake and did you believe this study status? This is joke lol!

• Sick & Tired on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:39 am

So what that makes our Pakatan mentris in their PH bought Alphards & Velfires?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Aku Pun Melayu on Feb 22, 2023 at 1:58 pm

Najib pun ade vellfire jugak….

• Amran on Feb 23, 2023 at 12:37 pm

Dia sendri beli okeylah. PH punya semue taxpayer beli ape cilaka betui.

• Saya Tak Undi Past on Feb 23, 2023 at 9:46 pm

Lebai air karat PN PAS sebat duit rakyat pastu beli Mecedes..

• Amran on Feb 24, 2023 at 6:07 pm

Terengganu ada wang minyak apa nak jeles? Sepatutnya wang Petronas yang PH gasap hak kepunyaan Terengganu.

• Blacksheep on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:24 pm

As someone who doesn’t own a bmw or lr. (and have no interest to own one given their reliability record) Paultan should stop posting tests like this which hold no water. There is too many variables involved in this test. Where was it conducted, who are the volunteers involved. 2000 people might seem a lot but in an IQ test that literally means nothing. A car brand is just a nameplate and nothing more. This is very much like saying people who own Nike are generally more ignorant than someone who owns an Adidas. What if one day a Nike owner wakes up and purchases an adidas? Does that make him smarter magically.
    We’ve seen a lot of crazy people driving myvis but then I’ve seen a lot of excellent, genuinely good people driving myvis. So what does that mean?
    That’s right, absolutely nothing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 31
    • Correlle on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:20 pm

This was sponsored by mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Correlle on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:20 pm

Cause this study was sponsored by mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Agree. This study doesn’t make sense when seeing this survey

• E’elehh, chill bro! Paultan.org just quote the study. Go to the website, and find out their contact and bash them. Question them all you want.

• It got you to click at the article right? That’s what matters.. they don’t care about anything else, plus the data is from UK, I believe it, BMW there very affordable like KANCIL

• Nat Ryder on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:48 am

This is not rocket science or gospel truth but empirical statistics. I would agree with the findings though based on anecdotal evidence received.
      Also it might be possible that people who are less self confident are also the ones who want a symbol of power and prestige to bolster their ego.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • Roger Stephens on Feb 22, 2023 at 7:04 am

Well said. This crap is beneath Paul Tan. Firstly, by definition, average IQ is 100. So according to this, all the car drivers they tested had a below average IQ? I trained in psychology and one or two IQ tests have validitity buy 95% are newspaper rubbish with zero relationship to proper scientific measures. It’s cheap easy borrowed-copy journalism. Paul Tan minus 20 IQ points (just made up my own IQ test, what nonsense)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • dellen on Feb 22, 2023 at 7:19 am

dont let your bmw know you just denies its existance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • YesBetul on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:35 am

Frankly Paultan only published what the survey said and I agree. I would like to add that anyone that buys European made products today in general are low IQ sohai. You are just paying for their massive increase in manufacturing cost due to their stupid sanction and war against the Super good Russia.
      Be smart and buy from non western countries. Be a smart consumer and not a sohai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • I totally disagree on the first part. This survey needs to make more correction and this UK survey doesn’t make real accuracy. While for second part, not all boycotting European made products, the good attitude but better reliability, will buy good ones from European made products

• Mike Tee on Feb 24, 2023 at 11:21 am

I would agree with you if the car only served as a mode of transport, it needs to be 100% utilitarian.

However cars are also aspirational. Think watches and Casio F-91W versus a mechanical watch with ETA movement (with no chance of appreciating in value).

• Loaded IQ one on Feb 23, 2023 at 6:35 am

No need to get excited lah!

• Mike Tee on Feb 24, 2023 at 11:16 am

“What if one day a Nike owner wakes up and purchases an adidas? Does that make him smarter magically?”

Correlation != Causation

• As a bmw driver, sounds about right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
    • bitter me on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:35 pm

wow..great article from the paultan editorial folks. now how can one get a lower IQ so that they can cry about it in the comfort of a 5 series rather than a Suzuki Swift?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Being over gungho ..A Clear and Present Danger on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:33 pm

Are u telling us,all the gungho Myvi,Axia,kanchil drivers have higher IQ?
    Perhaps,it is true..look at how they overtake from left,right centre.Even Shumacher kalah teruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • DonkeyKong on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:38 pm

EV owners are dimwits? Not surprising. Just talk with any EV fan. Either they’ll be spewing some word salad nonsense and virtue-signaling about some climate emergency hogwash non-stop, or they’ll be swooning about EVs because it’s an “in-thing” that’s trendy and that “it’s the future”. Other than that, no original and independent thoughts at all.

Oh and let’s not forget that many EV fans are supporters of the rainbow people (or are rainbow folks themselves) so that itself is an indication of intellectual impairment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
    • Sum One on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:37 pm

Fake tree huggers

• seancorr on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:21 pm

Go look at the FB EV page. A lot of preaching about their religion. Seems like they are right and the rest of the world is wrong.

• Foolswatcher on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Fake climate emergency hogwash? Loll , you sir , greatly mistaken. Just so you know, your decendants will curse you to no end….loll

• yeah… and Proton drivers are geniuses!

• Bieight8 on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:46 pm

Qurious to see Tesla driver fair…

• Forest gump on Feb 21, 2023 at 7:54 pm

Hahaha. Got to forward this to my ex girlfriend who drives an old green 3 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • Corelle on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:15 pm

Don’t believe this study. This study was done by mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Johny on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:01 pm

This comes as no surprise.

• Isaac on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:10 pm

Same like mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Ng Fook Meng on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:20 pm

Ha! ha! ha!

• Janji dicapati on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:23 pm

So it’s no wonder some of our ministers like that.

• Sohai on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:29 pm

Haha interesting.
    P1 & P2 drivers, please have a good night sleep before you take the test.

• Correlle on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:16 pm

JD Power and global reliability ranking reports tells the truth than this study. We already know why mercedes are posting study

• according to this, I must immediately buy a Skoda tomorrow!

oh wait…no one in Malaysia is dumb enough to do that. Anyone who does probably truly has low IQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Abahkau on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:35 pm

In Malaysia, it should be BMW, Alphard, Vellfire and diesel pickup truck drivers. People drive such cars to make up for their deficiency in IQ and in their anatomy. Either they are short in stature or some parts of them are too short.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • Habibu on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:15 am

Looks like you need an upgrade in your life instead of complaining others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Jason on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:42 pm

Agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • Elbow on Feb 23, 2023 at 8:38 am

You didn’t include that mercedes should be the added in your list too because mercedes drivers are also low IQ in malaysia but worst than any others

• No basis

• Doesn’t make sense when seeing this survey

• Eastmile on Feb 21, 2023 at 11:32 pm

Mercedes fanboy detected!!!

• Foton on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:21 am

Sour grapes from UK Study. Global reports are more reliable than this study

• Abbas on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:30 am

I own bmw and want buy land rover

• Diablom on Feb 22, 2023 at 1:01 am

Porsche drivers too…never use signal lights…maybe big balls…

• Shaji on Feb 22, 2023 at 7:47 am

They may not be unintelligent but they certainly drive vehicles without blinkers or turn signals

• Shaji on Feb 22, 2023 at 7:50 am

They may not be dimwits but they certainly drive vehicles without blinkers or turn signals

• Myvi?

• grumpy_car on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:18 am

im somehow agree…only genius know that we just need to go from point A to point B without hassle. EV owner known this and BMW with unreliable sensor also known this also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Are you really sure?

https://www.thestreet.com/.amp/automotive/most-least-reliable-cars-and-car-brands-according-to-consumer-reports

Read this above please

Audi has ranked sixth place, fourth placed behind Lexus and third placed behind BMW. Mercedes already placed at the worst position as badly results. Porsche and Volvo not really bad position

• This UK study is pure stupid.

Surely there are low IQ people in every brand

• YesBetul on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:32 am

In 2023, whoever buys European made product has Low IQ. All countries that are allies with the USA is suffering with severe inflation and high manufacturing cost because of their stupid sanction and war with Russia. Russia and most non western countries is winning big because we get to enjoy major energy discount from Russia.Lets buy Asian made (except from Japan, Australia, NZ since they are USA allies), African made etc. Why pay for their high manufacturing cost buta buta. Don’t be a Low IQ sohai.
    Be a smart consumer.

• The gas sold here is from Malaysia and not Russia. Therefore we don’t need a Russian discount.

• belake pare on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:37 am

aku pakai proton!!! hahaha(gelak jahat)

• Harry Ballsac on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:39 am

BMW drivers no signal in every country, watch out for those CKD X5s/3series with fake M badges stomping around!! It’s the new pickup truck of Malaysian roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • teetwenty on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:46 am

look at all the frail damaged egos of lower T20

• newme on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:56 am

If that’s the case, many would want to be lower IQ.

• With this kind of survey really hates BMW and Land Rover, with this behavior, I will continue to opt BMW again. Land Rover is also better option but too expensive that I only can owned low spec Land Rover

• Don’t believe this survey. This UK survey have low IQ accuracy

• EV drivers are the least intelligent people? That’s an interesting finding…

• april fools already on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:30 am

If someone gives me a free BMW or Land Rover, I’m willing to lower my IQ. contact me at 012-1234567

• Abbas Abdul Wahab on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:47 am

British drivers style of driving is not representative of all the drivers in the whole world.

• Anonymous on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:52 am

– .

• Morgan on Feb 22, 2023 at 10:34 am

Nonsense!

• Losantara on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:05 pm

2000 sample size is a lot. I believe this survey

• You need to add in a little bit more sarcasm. Otherwise it might go “wooosh” over their heads

• Losantara on Feb 22, 2023 at 12:07 pm

2000 samples are a lot. I believe this

• Ben Yap on Feb 22, 2023 at 1:21 pm

Hafriz Shah is known to be a proud and egoistic person. He definitely won’t take it well with being labelled as low IQ.

• Totally agreed with the studies of the survey. If survey carries out in Malaysia, I think BMW owner don’t even get 50 marks for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • GP Panda on Feb 22, 2023 at 2:21 pm

Will be different. If you see more on the road, BMW owner will get excellent marks as experienced road drivers.

• QuackMcGuffin on Feb 22, 2023 at 2:55 pm

Source: their crusty, non-existant arses.

• In msia, it would be different, Hellfarts would top the list given the many Hellfarts on the road today and been driven and parked like having no IQ.

• MisterAngree on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:58 pm

Anyone who believes that a 100+HP vehicle should be the first choice of transport for one person travelling less than, say, two miles is definitely lacking in the intelligence department – regardless of what ‘brand’ they’ve been brainwashed into buying, by ads that always depict the ‘product’ on empty roads!
    Also idiotic are those who deny climate-change, simply because reality is incompatible with their selfish behaviour!

• high iq on Feb 22, 2023 at 7:09 pm

ahh so people iq are determine by what car they drive not by how much they study lol. the people who publish this type of report probably have the lowest iq.

• mistsu on Feb 22, 2023 at 10:25 pm

so, what is the problem of having lo IQ in a bimmer or landy?

• Love it on Feb 23, 2023 at 8:39 am

I love it when I see Perodua / Proton / Motor scolding beemers and Land Rover drivers “BODOH”.

Very cute, very smart Perodua / Proton / Motor, very successful in life

• Sya nina on Feb 23, 2023 at 9:00 am

Its because those lecturers, deans, scientist, teachers.. mostly drives a toyota

• CipanBara on Feb 23, 2023 at 9:57 am

I would say the team who did the study has the lowest IQ. This kind of research has no value at all!

• High Octane on Feb 23, 2023 at 1:04 pm

Very interesting UK survey shedding light on IQ levels of their car owners by brand. And as with all surveys, results may not be palatable to everyone but it is what it is. It’ll be good to conduct & publish results of a similar survey here in Malaysia.

• Kevin on Feb 23, 2023 at 3:05 pm

What a load of clickbait bollocks – I’ve been driving Landrover and BMW most of my life (Jeep now) and my IQ is over 135!

• michael on Feb 23, 2023 at 11:03 pm

My wife owns a Red Mazda, all-petrol with a standard number plate, no wonder lah she’s so smart….

• Richard C on Feb 24, 2023 at 8:23 am

Article does not hold water. But what I can say is the Land Rover now has lost its soul. Its just look like any japanese suv. Too soft. And hell. Why are BMW technicians moonshining at outside workshops after work? There’s a workshop in Kepong where many BMWs go to but its not an official BMW service centre. The technicians wear Sime Darby t-shirts.

• Crap research with no valid data

• sid scragg on Feb 25, 2023 at 1:22 am

Interesting EVERY driver has below average intelligence regardless of the make?