Motorcyclist steals woman’s handbag at petrol station – be careful and aware before unlocking your car

Recently, a woman had her handbag stolen after she unlocked her car at a petrol station in Cheras. The incident was captured in a dashcam video that has since been widely spread across social media.

In the 16-second video, we see the victim getting back inside her car, presumably after fuelling up. However, unbeknownst to her, a motorcyclist approaches and waits near the front passenger door, and when she unlocks her car, he swiftly opens the door and grabs the handbag before making his escape with what appears to be an accomplice.

Upon realising what had happened, the woman attempts to stop the motorcyclist but fails and falls to the ground. Since the incident, Cheras district police have issued a statement saying it was aware of the case and is investigating it under Section 395 of the Penal Code.

Posted by 我们是马来西亚人 We are Malaysians on Wednesday, 22 February 2023

Preliminary investigations reveal the incident took place at around 9am in the morning and the woman suffered RM500 in losses. The police advised the public not to make any speculations and called on those with any information on the incident to come forward.

This case is a good reminder to us to always be aware of our surroundings. You never know if thieves have already targeted you and are just waiting for the right timing when you unlock your car to steal your belongings. Stay vigilant and seek help from others if you feel you have been “marked.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• there's a trend here on Feb 23, 2023 at 4:22 pm

notice the trend here?
    snatch theft always motorbike kapcai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Fat mama with tons of birkin handbags on Feb 23, 2023 at 6:34 pm

The bastard bugger is hanging around at the petrol station.He can even rob you by brandishing a knife.
      Just too bad,the poor woman got victimised.She could have died if there is on rushing vehicle when she fell.

• Keyboard warrior on Feb 23, 2023 at 6:59 pm

Snatch thief comes with a car in Klang. Why bitter?

• Aku Pun Melayu on Feb 23, 2023 at 8:21 pm

Mmg mat moto rempit yg selalu buat hal. geng bodo ni x blh harap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • moodin PN on Feb 23, 2023 at 9:24 pm

Dont those kapcai bikers scared of God & azab seksaan akhirat di alam barzakh,

• Ben Yap on Feb 23, 2023 at 4:28 pm

toyota yaris comes with stability control. Driver doesn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Deputy Sheriff Idaho on Feb 23, 2023 at 8:38 pm

Driver too distracted by a piece of paper receipt

• Bossku on Feb 24, 2023 at 5:52 am

She wanted to make sure petrol station no overcharged her. But, she then lose RM500. So, in conclusion, Cent smart, Ringgit stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Bossku on Feb 24, 2023 at 3:07 am

I vote comment of the year!! Ben, you deserve to be given an award!

• Bigbug on Feb 23, 2023 at 4:33 pm

Death penalty is still relevant. And that ugly man deserve it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Stephen on Feb 23, 2023 at 8:00 pm

Nobody deserves a death penalty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Right? on Feb 25, 2023 at 10:10 pm

Are you sure Stephen? Not till this ‘kena’ to you or your relatives then you want to bark like a dog?

Death penalty actually kinda good (as last resort let say for the third time), think of it on the brighter side. People will fear to commit crimes if they impose severe penalty.

• Alan Chung on Feb 24, 2023 at 2:00 pm

You can impose the death penalty plus repeated hot-cold-hot-cold cycles in hell but with ala-Malaysian style enforcement…

• dong gor on Feb 23, 2023 at 4:35 pm

be vigilant…don’t always look at your hp when you are in public/ on the road. many accidents happened due to this..and this robbery is least of the concern so to speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • In Lowyat /k people say the lady was looking at her receipt and not her smartphone. Either way, your comment still makes sense, don’t look down for too long and always be vigilant

• Vince on Feb 23, 2023 at 5:31 pm

Happened in 2018

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • dominic on Feb 23, 2023 at 10:39 pm

in 2018, yaris not launched in malaysia
      only launched in 2019
      the date not accurate

• If Yaris have Perodua Keyless system whereby you have to press twice to open all doors, this would not have happen! So don’t always complaint about troublesome of pressing twice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Vince on Feb 23, 2023 at 5:31 pm

Date stamped on top left of screen grab is 2018

• Vince on Feb 23, 2023 at 5:32 pm

Date stamped on top left of screen grab is 5 years ago

• Vince on Feb 23, 2023 at 5:32 pm

Happened in 2018 as date stamped on top left

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Paul Tan on Feb 23, 2023 at 5:36 pm

dashcam config error. that yaris was not launched in 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • dominic on Feb 23, 2023 at 10:40 pm

number plate VHJ not from 2018 lah….VHJ is late 2021/early 2022 plate. cam date wrong.

• When you snooze you lose.

• why is she using her handphone at petrol pump?
    not scare explode?

• Habibu on Feb 24, 2023 at 8:38 am

Where do you see the handphone ? We can’t find any of it in the video, please explain further.

• blackjack on Feb 23, 2023 at 10:00 pm

this type of trend will increase in time. know why? b4 grabfood,food panda emerged in malaysia these types of crime stealing,robbing,snatching etc..was rampant those days. then the trend reduced sharply after grabfood,foodpanda emerged. its trend will increase again due to eho p/e hailing recently reduced its fare drastically forcing its riders and drivers hard to make a living.

• What happened to the Perompak now?

Left free?

• Adakah mamat tu mencuri moto rider yg cuba mengejar jugak tu? Kene tgk video full dari mana die dtg and cctv petrol pump…
    Betul la single door lock tu sangat berguna utk kes2 yg mcm ni, sbb tu kita masih biarkan mode ni di bezza sbb risaukan wife…

• Ahmad Albab on Feb 24, 2023 at 8:58 am

Tengok baju lawa. Tengok motor ok. Nak cakap tak dak duit serba serbi cukup… Yang kau tetiba terfikir nak rompak orang pasal apa shaitan… Kecik2 tak nak mampos! Besar2 MENYUSAHKAN orang!

• On some car models like Volvo it’s possible to set the remote key to unlock only driver door with single press of the keyfob or door handle. Second press opens all door locks. This is a safer option especially for ladies to prevent someone from opening the passenger doors the same time as you. Check your car user manual if this can be set.

• You should never attempt to pull or push a rider off the bike, it’s very dangerous as you may get dragged down. Probably the best way is to try to kick the tyres to try to destabilize the rider and he may fall off. But I wouldn’t recommend it also in case the rider is armed with a knife or other weapons. The choice is yours and each situation is different so evaluate your risk first.
    Not worth risking your life even though it’s a designer bag or with loads of cash inside. Money or bag can be made and bought again, you only have 1 life.

• Trashy thief on Feb 24, 2023 at 1:38 pm

I think i need to carry steering lock whenever i leave my car at gas station

• newme on Feb 24, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Be vigilant when you see mat rempit faces near by, regardless they are in a car or on a bike.

• Piplup on Feb 24, 2023 at 3:12 pm

ppl like blaming her not being vigilant..lol. things happen so quickly when she is looking at the receipt, the moment she unlocks the door it is within seconds that rempit snatched the bag. so nobody blaming that thief? (why should we nd to find excuse to justify the thief’s act?) wat is wrong with this society. if the same happens to you, you sure you can react immediately?

• stasta on Mar 05, 2023 at 11:12 pm

people who blame her are supporting the criminal of their own race (i guess)

• Wan Kerteh on Feb 25, 2023 at 4:46 pm

Now gov can give annual handout to all mat motor bcos they are marginalized and poor