Debit card payment not secure for use at parking lots? Can be accessed by scammers, says Ahmad Maslan

Deputy finance minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan has agreed that the use of debit cards for payments at cashless parking lots may not be secure and could cause data leaks to scammers, Sinar Daily reported.

According to the minister, debit card data could be accessed simply by using malware. “I agree with what was mentioned, so we have to continue to be careful, and [from] the figures I stated in the Dewan Rakyat regarding scam fraud [in] the country, almost 22,000 people have become victims and have lost around RM850 million,” he said.

“That number is high and we hope that people will always be careful, especially using cards that can be accessed using special software for accounts,” Ahmad Maslan said in a Dewan Negara session on Monday, in response to a question from Datuk Mohd Hisamudin Yahaya who asked if the data of debit card users is safe if they make payments at a cashless parking lot.

Throughout the report, the deputy finance minister did not go into detail how a scammer would access a customer’s card details from a contactless payment terminal.

Otherwise known as PayWave, the contactless card payment method is generally secure as the EMV chip technology in use for cards today generate a dynamic code for each transaction and prevents the cloning of cards, Bank Negara Malaysia stated in a Bernama report from 2017.

Additionally, PayWave transactions are typically capped to a maximum of RM250, above which a personal identification number (PIN) is required before the transaction can go through. That limit can even be lowered should the user want to do so, and so any transaction made without PIN, intended or otherwise is capped.

There is the potential for scammers to cover the actual PayWave terminal with a fake terminal for the purposes of theft, however that would make the hardware visibly altered. If that is the case, it would be best to call for assistance, or back out where possible.

Have you encountered any such attempt at scamming contactless transactions at parking lots, dear readers? Let us know in the comments sections.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Johnny on Mar 28, 2023 at 10:26 am

Typical malaysian leaders who talk about something but without details!
    Perhaps he is alluding to the recommendation that motorist should continue using Touch and Go or Cash for parking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Should open to other e wallet provider other than tng eg; boost,setel, grab. e wallet more secure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Paul Tan on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:59 pm

Setel e-wallet does have ANPR parking at KLCC and other locations.

Other than Setel, there’s KiplePark under Kiple e-wallet, uses ANPR too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Casual reader on Mar 28, 2023 at 11:52 am

Good heavens! Does it mean the new CC payment for tolls can be hacked by scammers?! So why is this useless shortsighted Gomen introducing thos unsecured way to pay? Wait a sec, werent they supposed to give for free?! What useless Gomen is this?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:23 pm

Good advice Ahmad Maslan…I”m with you on this…most of us are already sceptical about this…Anthony Loke what are your solutions on this dont be so hasty announcing something without proper planning…so what are the payment mechanism then if you want to stop the monopoly…but for now TnG is still the best option

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
      • Dumbfxxk on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Lol. You TnG staff? Better pack your bags and leave….closing down very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • paanjang16 on Mar 28, 2023 at 10:40 am

Suggest go back to the good old fashioned parking machine that issues ticket and the end user pay with cash at the counter manned by a real human being. It is a fool proof method, won’t reject your notes, accept coins and can even issue receipt. Cash is king.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 18
    • Melanesians Union on Mar 28, 2023 at 11:42 am

yes support those dinosaurs era ticket payment machine prones to reject myr banknotes and worst not accepting coins…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • Ex Anwar Supporter on Mar 28, 2023 at 10:40 am

Scam duit rakyat lagi teruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Keyboard warrior on Mar 28, 2023 at 10:47 am

If that’s the case then we shouldnt use our debit/credit card in mall right? Smarty

• sloan on Mar 28, 2023 at 10:50 am

he just talk something without solution? and show how incapable he is? if this scam thing is true means everyday we got more victim?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • What do you expect from him? He’s just enjoying the funny character that’s bestow upon him.

• tng user on Mar 28, 2023 at 10:53 am

this is why i agree with tng monopoly the toll and parking payment system. use a separate cashless card to avoid risking your main ‘atm card/credit card’ being exposed. but ok, you wanna have additional option for ‘visa/master card’, go ahead, anyway TNG is there to stay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Debit card is not secure for any type of payments. Once the money is out, it’s gone. Use credit card instead, which you can dispute and demand investigation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • You can dispute through the issuing bank as well even if its a debit card, just that ppl feel the pinch, since it is hard cash from the acc and credit it something you wont be billed until the next cycle

• Amat Maslanjiao on Mar 28, 2023 at 11:49 am

never trust the words coming out of this person’s mouth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • AM has a reputation that preceeds him. But let’s give him the benefit of the doubt. If scammers clone your credit card, you can easily call the bank to cancel it and the illegal transactions do not need to be paid. There is a credit limit anyway. However, if it’s debit card, all your savings will be gone and more difficult to get back.

• Bieight8 on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:16 pm

Should follow Singapore system, they been using for years without problems

• TnG Surcharged on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:46 pm

Some parking need to pay TnG surcharged for nothing. Real scam. Demolished this BS.

• SadButTrue on Mar 28, 2023 at 7:30 pm

End user point of view… Yes its a BS when comes to surcharge… Due to this outcries over surcharge… Many land owner or carpark operators decided to put signs at their rate board saying “no surcharge”… Sounds good right? But here’s the catch, they then increase the parking rate instead n we end user will always lose. Their land, they are the boss mah right?

• FreakingAnnoyed on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:58 pm

Ahmad Maslan is really should just stay at home and cook kangkung. Paywave has been around for so long and if it’s insecure it won’t affect just the payment of parking but every single point of transaction that uses a card. Furthermore card holders are only liable up to RM250 for any unauthorised transactions. And nowadays bank are really proactive when it comes to credit/debit card fraud detection.

• Maybe on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:59 pm

Thats the beauty of politician statistic data. 22k people have been scammed. Yup the figure might be correct be he is misleading. 22k people have been scammed but how many of those actually related in CC or debit card scam involving paywave terminal?

Come one lah minister/deputy minister……nowadays more and more people are smarter than almost all politician which includes you. Why not comes out with statement that matches the people level of thinking.

• To solve this problem simple. Do not use credit card, that means no more toll. Abolish the toll so nobody need to use any payment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • MonsterMunch on Mar 28, 2023 at 2:54 pm

No need to pay parking anywhere. Make it free

• Parking does not accept TnG reload on IC. Why?

• “Scammers to cover the actual PayWave terminal with a fake terminal for the purposes of theft, however that would make the hardware visibly altered”. How would i even know whether its real/fake when its my first time using the terminal?

• Parameswaran on Mar 28, 2023 at 4:07 pm

As long as there is no enforcement and punishment scammers will be evolving with AI next. Should not the law be ahead of the crime? Malaysia wants to be the first in all why not develop laws against scammers ?

Every day sadly news of thievery in the headlines. I have a suggestion if the service provider should introduce and link our fingerprint to payments.The banks use such for authentication right at the branches?

Just scan your thumbprint like you do to unlock your phone for payment. How hard to install a thumb print scanner linked to the jpn registry that is tagged to your bank account verified by lhdn. Ok for non Malaysians maybe they need their records tagged to their passport details with immigration and issue them a govt regulated touch n go card perhaps. Them govt can trace their financial activity and movements.

This should be the new touch and really go… While they thinking about the perfect mechanism can they first ban all hid lights for good again.

• Ciput on Mar 28, 2023 at 4:52 pm

Ahmad Mazlan…..IQ 3.85 ….tahap “goreng pisang”

• hazri on Mar 28, 2023 at 4:57 pm

wait, i never heard anyone lost their money after pay at parking lot using debit card. have you? if yes, where the news?

• Chughoong on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:08 am

No matter what reason, don’t use debit card, since it tied to your account