BYD Seagull compact electric car unveiled in China – can this be the future ‘Myvi’ of EVs in Malaysia?

BYD has revealed official pix and initial details of its most compact electric car yet, the BYD Seagull. It slots in below the BYD Dolphin in the BYD line-up, and since the Dolphin is priced at RM104k in Thailand, we can expect the Seagull to be priced in the 5 digit range.

How much exactly? It seems the Chinese market RRP is between 80,000 to 100,000 yuan, so that translates to between RM51k to RM64k. The Dolphin goes for as much as 136,800 (RM88k) in China, but ended up RM104k in Thailand, so could we be looking at RM60-70k for the Seagull in the ASEAN market?

The BYD Seagull measures 3,780 mm long, 1,715 mm wide and 1,540 mm tall with a wheelbase of 2,500 mm. That’s around the size of a Myvi, which measures 3,895 mm long, 1,735 mm wide and 1,515 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,500 mm. The larger Dolphin is 345 mm longer, 55 mm wider and is 30 mm taller.

Powering the Seagull is a choice of either a 74 hp or 94 hp electric motor. It will have two battery options – 30 kWh and 38 kWh, which will allow a range of up to 305 km or 405 km respectively.

There are rumours that at least one of these battery packs will be a new type of battery called sodium ion (instead of lithium ion) but we’ll wait for the official unveiling which is expected to be on April 18.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kckfen on Apr 03, 2023 at 4:03 pm

Bring the Seagull to Malaysia, this will sell well…bring th Sodium Battery as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • donno on Apr 03, 2023 at 4:15 pm

that is one of the most attractive small car i have ever seen.

I would buy that instead of a Myvi in a heartbeat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Roshan on Apr 03, 2023 at 4:29 pm

This is even uglier than a plausible Iris EV.

No idea how to let 90hp to propel a 1200kg Battery Car too.
    Very heavy, top speed will be very low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
    • Typical cytro. Want 300bhp, twin turbo v8 family car that can go 250kmh only to drive it around town at 50kmh. Yeah, you really need all those bhp don’t you?

• Li Peng on Apr 04, 2023 at 11:55 am

Axia: 890kg/67PS=13.28kg/PS
      BYD Seagull: 1200kg/94PS=12.76kg/PS

Less kg/PS=faster

• But no, battery car suffering from 1 speed transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • Li Peng on Apr 04, 2023 at 1:59 pm

That’s why all CNC machine tools have D-CVT for their spindle drive?

• Why there are so many burning byd ev in china?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Anonymous on Apr 04, 2023 at 4:45 am

Between 2020 and 2022 there were 11 BYDs caught fire. They sell 25000+ cars a month and in 2 years 11 of them caught on fire. So many.

• 11 are those reported by media. There are 640 cases for 1st Q 2022 in China alone and BYD hold the first place. You do the calculation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • jb5music on Jun 29, 2023 at 4:41 pm

Did not you hear them mentioned sodium-ion battery? That’s the reason for the sodium ion battery… Electric car fires are an obsolete thing of the past with the sodium-ion battery

• komarad on Apr 04, 2023 at 8:21 am

i googled it…and kinda right..

• “7 Battery Electric Cars a Day Catch Fire in China: The Most Involved Brands..”

It is so dangerous compared to Gasoline,
      Ppl always blame Gasoline catch fire due to Workshop/owner new modification problem.

What to be modified in EV to catch fire? But every day burning battery car out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Ramona on Apr 05, 2023 at 2:58 pm

Sodium ion battery is non flammable unlike lithium ion. you should not see any news about Seagull burning anytime soon

• That’s Proton mentality. Asking the public to renew their trust in every new model when they screw up again and again.

• Should you make foregone conclusion when Proton has yet to introduce ev in Malaysia.?

• Cascarino Ling Guo Bao on Apr 03, 2023 at 11:11 pm

Buy used Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Hanif on Apr 03, 2023 at 11:36 pm

Their new Sodium battery or Blade Battery should be quite safe

• Panda on Apr 04, 2023 at 6:21 am

Myvi of Malaysia? With the current gomen’s plan to charge road tax on EVs that is way higher than normal cars, how is that paving towards a greener earth. Also cant be myvi of Malaysia when roadtax would be more expensive than a petrol bmw. Still shocked at how much i need to pay roadtax in 2025 ( RM3,xxx) for my bmw iX.