Four electric scooters among 13 vehicles involved in fire at Suria KLCC – reason for fire still unknown

KEBAKARAN MOTOSIKAL DI PARKING SURIA KLCC

KUALA LUMPUR, 13.4.2023: Pusat Gerakan Operasi (PGO), JBPM Kuala Lumpur…

Posted by Jabatan Bomba dan Penyelamat Malaysia on Thursday, 13 April 2023

Four electric scooters were among those lost in a fire while parked at Suria KLCC earlier today. Other than the scooters, 9 motorcycles were also lost in the blaze. A total of 13 vehicles were involved but the last one only suffered minor damage.

Firefighers from Jabatan Bomba dan Penyelamat WPKL responded to a 999 call at 3:46 pm and managed to control the fire by 4:04pm.

This incident could be the first reported fire involving an electric vehicle in Malaysia. Electric vehicle fires can be difficult to put out, but thankfully in this case since electric scooters have small batteries, it seems that firefighters put it out with relative ease.

The cause for the fire has yet to be determined – we don’t know if the electric scooters caused it. There could be many possible scenarios that could have caused a fire to start. As you know, internal combustion engine vehicles such as motorcycles carry some pretty combustible fuel around with them. We’ll have to wait for the findings of the investigation to know for sure.

Previously we reported that KPKT was proposing a ban on EV chargers in basement parking lots due to concerns raised by Jabatan Bomba on access by firefighting vehicles.

The fact that a fire involving electric vehicles (though it appears they weren’t being charged) has already happened might strengthen Jabatan Bomba’s case.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Pandan muka. HAHA!
    Less motorcycles = Less riders = Less nuisance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 73
  • Vijaya Lekshmi V on Apr 13, 2023 at 9:40 pm

You report that 4 electric scooters and 9 motorcycles were lost in the fire, so that’s 13. Yet you say ‘A total of 13 vehicles were involved but the last one only suffered minor damage’. Rather confusing. Which last one? So what does ‘lost’ mean here?

• Phuddi sung lee on Apr 13, 2023 at 9:43 pm

Vandalism (for sure) getting sick pleasure from it (garbage part of our society)

• Hipokrit on Apr 14, 2023 at 6:49 am

Good, less motorcycles on the road. It’s only bad if it happens to a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • traffic jam the bane of society on Apr 14, 2023 at 9:17 am

..less motorcycle = worse traffic jam u idiot!…i wish everyone will ride bike instead so that i can have a non congested road.

• Anti EV on Apr 14, 2023 at 7:05 am

If you drive EV ah, you’ll be like this 4 E-scooter burn you to death

• The culprit must be the e scooters’ battery lah. Just like always happened in India.

• Any different if the scooters use LFP batteries? Like BYD Han?

• Malaysia needs winter

• Ground europe passenger on Apr 14, 2023 at 11:25 am

Scooter kena letak under shade lah. Musim panas skrg >34C. Tambah lagi pantulan cahaya klcc. Powerbank dalam boot pun jadi pregnant kalau berhenti 2 jam kat sana..

• Justice on Apr 14, 2023 at 3:05 pm

EV’s should be banned from public roads