Lorry driver repeatedly attempts to drive into car, causes several near misses and obstructs traffic

In a series of videos posted to Twitter by user Simrath, footage from front- and rear-facing cameras show a driver’s encounter with an aggressively-driven articulated lorry when en route from the Federal Highway towards Subang Airport, and then taking the ramp to the North Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE).

The author of the post claimed that the lorry had been driven recklessly from a distance before their own encounter with the lorry, making dangerous overtakes and nearly crashing into their vehicle. The author sounded their horn to voice displeasure, then made an attempt to overtake the lorry, which was unsuccessful as the lorry driver moved to block the author’s car.

Further down the road towards Subang Airport, the lorry driver does a brake check on the far right lane, and appears to have attempted to drive into the camera car when the latter tried to overtake the now-stationary lorry. The author of the post encounters the lorry driver once again on the ramp towards the entry into the NKVE, where the lorry driver brake-checks the author yet again.

Under Section 42 of the Road Transport Act 1987 (amended in 2020), the penalties for reckless and dangerous driving are disqualification from driving for five years, a maximum jail term of less than five years and a fine of between RM5,000 and RM10,000 for the first offence.

Incidents such as these are also a reminder to have a dashcam fitted to your vehicle if you don’t already have one, which will provide you with video proof in the event of any dispute regarding the road incident.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ben Yap on May 26, 2023 at 11:38 am

a gun will neutralizes everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 23
    • Yap Ka Ling on May 26, 2023 at 1:02 pm

you mean if the lorry driver has a gun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
      • DonkeyKong on May 26, 2023 at 1:50 pm

Fag answer. Beta male detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 26, 2023 at 2:39 pm

Both drivers are stupid
          Just lodge police report
          Since got dashcam footage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
          • Ingky on May 26, 2023 at 4:30 pm

Why stupid? Clearly the lorry driver has an issue. I would have reacted the same. KNN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 26, 2023 at 5:24 pm

Of course is stupid!
            The whole drama 3.5km/6mins
            For me I would bagi laluan jer
            Then to go balai buat report
            One possibly high on drugs
            Another high on music

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
          • Sick&Tired on May 26, 2023 at 8:43 pm

Did you see the video?? The lorry driver was basically chasing him! You would have probably got off the car and bend over and ask the lorry driver to bang you from behind!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 26, 2023 at 10:35 pm

[Clip-1]The car was travelling 60+ and avoided the truck and HONKED the truck

[Clip-2]The car following the truck 60+ before sped upto 80+ on left. Obviously the car driver adrenaline is high too!

Does anyone knows OVERTAKING ON THE LEFT is an offence (dangerous driving) too?

By right the episode should have ended immediate after Clip-1. As said, I would just bagi laluan jer. Nak report pergi jer lo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • todak on May 27, 2023 at 9:32 am

Yes, it should have ended after clip 1 because Simrath is not a law enforcement officer & as a civilian, he could have just passed on the dashcam footage to the authorities & let them take action. Of course, anyone would get angry after seeing the lorry driver’s reckless ways, but Simrath shouldn’t give into his emotions & let himself be drawn into this needless cat & mouse chase which also put other road users at risk.

• Dredd on May 28, 2023 at 3:08 pm

Simrath shud ekcelli Jam braked the lorry driver instead

• Dredd shld teach Simrath how to do that with a real life demo.

• Unimaginable Insanity.. recalcitrant lorry drivers on May 26, 2023 at 1:12 pm

Do u know why lorry drivers dont give a damn,while on the road?
      Simply cos 95% of the lorries dont belong to them.They think they just makan gaji,their majikan will attend to insurance claims ,if they arise.
      High time,our germen perpaduan organise kempen besarbesaran to put all these rogue lorry n bus drivers behind bars.
      Ahlokekor,stop all the undercover antiques lah…get JPJ n PDRM Joint operasi to STOP all these morons.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Yap Ah Loy on May 26, 2023 at 1:37 pm

Ben Yap again. so shallow. you think guns will solve road rage problems? you should be sent to war in Ukraine. Possibly pissed your pants off crying for mommy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • todak on May 26, 2023 at 11:44 am

It doesn’t matter what motor vehicle they drive or ride. The best thing to do is to get out of their way and not provoke them. If you have a dashcam, yes, submit the video footage to the authorities and social media so that the public are aware of such individuals. There is always a good chance that these culprits will end up in a mishap because it’ll only take 1 small mistake, especially with a heavy goods vehicle, and they’ll be in big trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Sick&Tired on May 26, 2023 at 12:21 pm

Please arrest this guy, revoke his license and put him and jail. If can whipping would be better! He literally tried to kill the guy! Should be charged for attempted murder!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • air mani on May 26, 2023 at 12:56 pm

usually high on drugs. nothing new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • kentucky friend duck on May 26, 2023 at 1:04 pm

need more enforcement. these lorry drivers most have a lot of saman already, but still can resume driving on public roads. something isnt right. corruption?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Peppa on May 26, 2023 at 12:57 pm

I hope the driver get death penalty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
    • najib nazak on May 26, 2023 at 1:13 pm

in malaysia, someone who murdered, stolen billions in fraud and money laundering, still able to roam around like a millionaire for many years before finally hauled to court. and even then, only being sentences so ever lightly. BUT yet, you wanted this overworked lorry driver, who possibly just had a bad day, fed up with traffic jams and over-reacted…. to a death penalty? be reasonable lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 38
      • Sick&Tired on May 26, 2023 at 8:46 pm

Did you see the video!!?? So following your logic, if you are having a bad day, it’s ok for you to try to run someone off the road!? Nothing can justify the lorry drivers auction. If not happy, just horn back la.

• hazri on May 27, 2023 at 3:08 am

you mean…be reasonable till your parent, sibling, or anyone you love dead because of that unreasonable lorry driver? when that happened, you think it is ok because maybe that lorry driver just had bad day, fed up with traffic jam and over reacted? i don’t know man, why we should be enabler to someone who drives dangerously on the road.

• linear_system on May 26, 2023 at 1:08 pm

this is my everyday road after work…will surely cause an accident if the lorry did this during peak time.. this lorry driver should get the heaviest penalty.. not suitable to drive on the road at all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • @Snakebabu on May 26, 2023 at 1:09 pm

Assholes like this don’t deserve any driving licenses!
    Lodge a police report for endangering your life & other road users, sue him & his employer for negligence!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • After reviewing the dashcam videos you can see the lorry driver was speeding in the first video. However, in the second video, the car driver is trying to overtake from the left. This is clearly in the blindspot of the lorry and a very dangerous manoeuvre. The lorry driver must be really pissed off. Not siding with the lorry driver but there’s always 2 sides of the story. 2 wrongs does not make a right either…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
    • newbie too on May 26, 2023 at 1:36 pm

few minutes before the first dashcam footage, will tell the whole story. The driver must have done something that pissed off the lorry. But since we cant see that, then only 1 side of the story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
    • Sick&Tired on May 26, 2023 at 8:48 pm

There is no justification. The lorry driver is in the wrong! He also endangered other road users as well! I really hope one day you go through the same thing.

• BolehLand on Jun 01, 2023 at 2:01 am

Sick&Tired – you are Simranth or his relatives? Dont be an a-hole in believing one side story. He also did a very dangerous act by taking over from left and upload that to play victim. Two wrong thing doesnt make it right. Fikir pakai otak bukan belalai.

• hazri on May 27, 2023 at 3:10 am

i think lorry driver pissed off after that myvi king horn him and maybe high beam him too.

• Should end that barua life…

• This drivers license should be revoked and have a max sentence imposed on him. The police should removed this kind of driver from the road for good.

• WHILE i was sitting in toilet just now on May 26, 2023 at 2:18 pm

I was wondering, there are so many cars out there, why only YOU got problems with the lorry driver?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • jantan cari peminat on May 26, 2023 at 3:17 pm

need to view earlier few minutes from before the first video. something must have happened, but not shown.

• Tired Road Patron on May 26, 2023 at 4:19 pm

It’s unfair to say this, anyone who’s been driving on busy roads on a daily basis comes across plenty of moronic drivers such as this trucker. The excuse of blaming the author of these tweets is unacceptable either, why on earth would that justify such a massive heavyweight vehicle being swung around like a go-kart?

• I hope the lorry driver met with a school of basikal lajak kids. So both of them can have their own kind of lessons.
    For the dashcam owner, you better get a better louder horn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Eric lim on May 26, 2023 at 2:52 pm

Please make a police report and let them deal with idiots bullies like that.

• cannot make pulis report. because if driver do, then pulis will ask for FULL video from 15 mins earlier. Confirm this driver also did something that pissed the lorry. Notice the lorry only targeting this driver, and nobody else?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • anonimus on May 26, 2023 at 3:58 pm

does polis actually request 15 mins of dashcam footage when you make a polis report?

• pantang kene horn… sound of horn triggers madness!

• ThePolygon on May 26, 2023 at 3:27 pm

Endangering the life of everyone on the road. If he gets away with this, the rest will follow. Please report PDRM.

• i really wanna see lorry driver how he look like “pig”, not deserve be human.

• Tired Road Patron on May 26, 2023 at 4:16 pm

I can’t get through a week without coming across at least one recklessly driven heavyweight vehicle these days–with the rise in incidents involving poorly driven/maintained trucks especially, I wonder what it’ll take for some sort of stern action to be delivered as a means of deterring idiotic and dangerous buffoonery such as this.

• org kata abg lori ni baik baik semuanya. baik #kepalabapakdia

• motobodo on May 26, 2023 at 4:51 pm

finally can distract people away from motosikal samseng jalanan. good job.

• Master Foo Ling Yew on May 26, 2023 at 4:34 pm

Here is wisdom. He need love the universe inside so small he suffer one, see him say you love him and hug him. Master Foo

• Jerungbetina on May 26, 2023 at 5:47 pm

Kasi cari driver ni then tarik his lesen ‘E’ for life. This kind of people can’t work and drive around society. Selfish and short minded. What a bully. I hope jpj will take action. Lucky that no one got injured in this incident.

• Boyracer on May 26, 2023 at 7:29 pm

It’s like watching Duel Malaysian version..

• Damn reckless driving this trailer. Pdrm jpj traffic police, your move bro. How you handle these drivers? Almost crashing into others so many times.

• Ikan Jerung on May 26, 2023 at 8:17 pm

The lorry driver indeed was driving recklessly from the beginning. However,the driver of car not re-acting good either. Why were you keep honking the Lorry Driver & chasing him? In the way,you awaking the godzilla on its rage.You considered lucky that the lorry driver does not kill you.From all the videos,it seemed before 1st video the driver might did something that put the lorry driver on rage.

• Looks like a movie from Alfred Hitchcock…

• hazri on May 27, 2023 at 3:02 am

i go to simrath98 tweet, he said driving myvi that time, and he maybe born in 1998, so 25 years old (gen-Z). i don’t want to judge anybody. i just want to say, nowadays you can’t easily horn your car and high beam, especially to someone looks dangerous like that lorry driver. and especially if you driving king (some people has bad thinking about king). somehow even you in the right side, you just triggered people to be aggressive. for me, if you see any lorry or bus speeding behind you, just give the way and go on. no need to horn, high beam or mad or angry. just be cool. if you don’t horn or high beam him, i believe that lorry driver doesn’t even care about you. and simrath, if you are gen z or not, please, i know you are young and brave, but in this real world, some thing is better to just let it go.

• todak on May 27, 2023 at 9:52 am

As human beings, we might find it difficult not to give into our emotions & end up doing something which we later regret. That’s why we should try our best to train ourselves to drive defensively each day on the public roads. It is impossible to totally avoid reckless irresponsible road users everyday, but we can control our own reaction to such encounters by thinking of the safety of not only ourselves, but also of our family & the other people who happen to be in the same vehicle. If irresponsible road users want to be reckless without caring for their personal well-being, they’ve made their choice & let them suffer the consequences on their own. Our choice is to avoid them & not let ourselves become victims of an accident caused by them.

• harvard smart alexis on May 27, 2023 at 12:33 pm

typical human species having too much feelings may hindered ownself navigating a moving vehicle skillfully logically aka defensive drivng or riding

• todak on May 27, 2023 at 1:44 pm

While having feelings/emotions is part of being human, strong emotions, especially negative ones, can cloud a person’s judgement, which is bad for safety. It’s obvious that reckless lorry driver was not in the right state of mind, and was already endangering himself and the other road users, with the potential to make the situation worse if provoked.

• Cdpark on May 27, 2023 at 5:46 am

The b40 gomen protecting for vote

• Hamzah on May 27, 2023 at 10:39 am

Mana Polis Peronda Lebuh Raya? Ada order banyak Honda Civic….

• I was horn a long trailer for sudden overtake lane change, after passing that fellow horns me back and swerved into my lane

• I think simrath pissed the lorry driver earlier on but not shown on video. So lorry driver came after him.

• Ruslan Bahari on May 28, 2023 at 9:17 am

The more interesting part of the video that mist be shown is the earlier bit. Did the car driver do something to provoke the lorry driver? I’m not saying the lorry driver’s reaction if there was an earlier incident is the right reaction, but these videos usually show just the retaliation not the original tipping point.

As other commenters have stated, the best thing to do is to pull away and not engage. I usually change my route if I see a driver hunting me and following me closely behind.

• todak on May 28, 2023 at 2:49 pm

Simrath’s 1st video clip shows that the lorry was speeding & overtook him in a dangerous manner. He in turn reacted by honking at the lorry. The lorry driver of course became unhappy & that’s when the cat & mouse chase began. According to Simrath’s twitter updates, the police has already identified & arrested the lorry driver who was tested positive for drugs. But it would not be a surprise if there are still other road users like this out there on the public roads, acting recklessly while being high on drugs. So, better beware and be cautious.

• Hope the lorry driver license is ban for life.