Not just “grille engineering” – 5 ways Proton engineers made the Proton X50 safer than the Geely Binyue

Proton X50

It is a common misconception that Proton engineers are simply slapping a Proton badge onto Geely cars without contributing any engineering work.

The process of adapting a Geely car to meet Proton’s standards and local requirements involves extensive engineering and developmental work. As highlighted by the modifications made to the Proton X50 to comply with Malaysian and ASEAN NCAP standards, Proton engineers conduct thorough crash safety analysis and make key safety changes.

These include body reworking, footrest modifications, airbag adjustments, child safety improvements, and revisions to driving assistance features. These changes are not minor tweaks but significant alterations that require a deep understanding of automotive engineering, rigorous testing, and strict compliance to safety standards.

Here are 5 ways Proton modified the Proton X50 to make it safer:

Body Reworking

They reworked an aspect of the body of the X50 to prevent tearing of the front floorboard during a frontal collision, which is not acceptable under ASEAN NCAP standards.

Engineers reinforced these areas with ultra-high-strength steel, effectively shifting the force of impact to other areas that do not pose a threat to occupant safety. As a result, 40% of the body, including the front, side, and back, was made using a combination of high-strength steel variants​.

Driver’s Footrest Modification

The driver’s footrest, located next to the brake pedal, was modified due to concerns that the driver of a right-hand-drive X50 would be more vulnerable to foot injury in the event of a collision, as the engine is always oriented under the hood towards the right side of the vehicle.

The footrest was modified to ensure that the foot remains on the footrest, with limited slippage, during a collision​.

Curtain Airbags Adjustment

The curtain airbags in the X50 were adjusted to provide additional cushioning to the head area during impact, primarily in side collisions.

This adjustment was necessary because the ASEAN NCAP protocol emphasises that the static deployment of curtain airbags should cover a range of body types for different potential drivers.

Child Occupant Protection (COP) Safety Modifications

In the area of child safety, the engineers lengthened the hook on the Isofix interface to make it easier to fit a child safety seat. Also, the angle of the anchor was readjusted to offer a more secure placement of the seat​.

Driving Assistance Features Revisions

Some driving assistance features from the Binyue were carried over to the X50. However, the Speed Limit Information Function (SLIF), which recognises Chinese road signs and informs the driver of the current road’s speed limit, was excluded.

This decision was made to prevent the system from providing incorrect information to the X50’s control unit due to language, character, and signage differences​.

GALLERY: Proton X50 ASEAN NCAP crash testing

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• nene susu on May 31, 2023 at 5:49 pm

we are still waiting for the reasons why x90 is so much more expensive than the original model sold elsewhere.
    Also why proton makes the x90 more premium (price tag wise) than the x70, whereas everyone knows it is not suppose to be a premium car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 39
    • Can I advice u something..from Fat Mama on May 31, 2023 at 7:22 pm

If u prompt ChatGPT with this question ” Do we need the 5 points from Protong Engineers”,what reply?
      ChatGPT bot reply : ” Tell Geely do the 5 points in Geely HQ in China.No need local P1 engineers input.Sack all the dead wood.” Save cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
    • Calculator on Jun 01, 2023 at 6:54 pm

X90 is different to the Geely’s sold elsewhere (i.e. multi-link rear suspension vs. torsion beam rear suspension).

The question is why the Vios in unchanged form is sold RM30k cheaper in other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • OMG, took them such a long time to come out with 5 points just to show they are more useful than designing grille.

Did they conduct weekly meeting just to brainstorm what to put to make up the 5 points for the past 2 and a half years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 38
    • muslihat datu on May 31, 2023 at 6:01 pm

why dont geely just fire everyone in Proton that isn’t useful to their car business here in Malaysia? Just sell Geely cars as-is, which is actually cheaper than what Proton is asking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
      • Can I advice u something..from Fat Mama on May 31, 2023 at 7:31 pm

By right,Dr.Li should get his China HQ to do the required changes before we CKD it here.
        Just lay off half the workforce n save cost.
        But we know politics here come into play.
        DRB having half the shareholding ,would surely protest.They cant justify laying off hundreds if not thousands(deadwood especially)during their AGM.
        So Dr.Li’s hands are tied.
        The whole world knows P1 SUVs are 99% rebadge,except the Tiger logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
        • What makes you think the changes wasn’t done in China? If it was designed, built and tested by Proton, surely they would have already shouted about it during launch like how they have been telling people that they designed the grille.

• Kassim on May 31, 2023 at 6:03 pm

takut hilang kerja oi.
      memang takde guna pun Proton. Baik jual Geely terus je di sini. Tukar nama semua service centre dan showroom terus. Senang hati, harga lebih murah lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 29
      • tutup saja P1 and P2 on Jun 01, 2023 at 3:12 pm

tutup kedai saja p1 and p2, let the original cars come in, Geely, daihatsu, toyota. let malaysians experience the original, unaltered cars. we are fed up of all these BS marketing nonsense. Proton more expensive than geely for the same car. DONT MAKE SENSE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Calculator on Jun 01, 2023 at 6:48 pm

Toyota Vios in Malaysia is RM30k more than Toyota Vios in Mexico. Let the original cars come in and pay RM30k more for it?

• Toyota Vios doesn’t have national car status like Proton (though belongs to motherland). Takkan ini pun tak tau.

• So, Geely are making milo tin cars for China market and Proton make them better for the rest of the world? Hebat Proton, so proud of you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 25
    • actually car safety regulations in China is more stringent than Malaysia.

Malaysia safety is so much lower than even Thailand…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 28
      • DonkeyKong on May 31, 2023 at 6:34 pm

LOLLLLLL welcome to the Twilight Zone.. you exist in a world that’s different from this reality, buddy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
      • Where’s your source? You’re still a keyboard warrior until you do so.

• kapchai kamen rider on Jun 01, 2023 at 9:16 am

just take Perodua as example. Thailand and japan stopped selling the “at risk” cars immediately when they found out the safety results were tampered with. But Perodua can release statement proudly say NO IMPACT TO US. all BS. Malaysian car makers are the worse. irresponsible to their customers and nation.

• For a country that produces all dangerous cheap tyres and you are saying their car safety is better than Malaysia?

• Bossku on May 31, 2023 at 5:58 pm

There you have folks! Proton actually is not just potong and paste grille…they made China cars safer! Wow…if only they can make Proton Saga safer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
  • safer than the Geely Binyue

KAKAKAKA CHINAMAN CANT MAKE A SAFE CAR.

proton FUIYO.

that is why going nowhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 20
  • DonkeyKong on May 31, 2023 at 6:32 pm

“They reworked an aspect of the body of the X50 to prevent tearing of the front floorboard during a frontal collision, which is not acceptable under ASEAN NCAP standards.”

LOL goes to show what type of substandard safety benchmark is acceptable in China! Good luck to BYD buyers. Plenty of videos and Chinese socmed testimonies of BYD airbags not deploying in a crash haha.. loser car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 29
  • Rupa rupanya jurutera Proton pandai. Mereka hanya tidak tunjukkan kepandaian mereka sebelum Geely bawa masuk X70 dan X50. Marilah tunjukkan kepandaian kamu orang pada kereta Persona, Iriz and Saga!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
  • Sohai on May 31, 2023 at 6:47 pm

Adding a small pebble on top of a mountain and claim the mountain is yours?
    If that’s not bad enough, what’s worse is trying to claim the effort is very substantial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 22
    • DonkeyKong on Jun 01, 2023 at 9:35 am

Malaysia has been doing this all along.
      Take credit for things they didnt do.
      See SugarKing build sugar empire? Take it and claim as their own.
      See gardenia build bread empire? Take it and claim as their own.
      See mitsubishi cars good? Rebadge it and claim as local car.
      See Daihatsu cars good? Rebagde it and claim as 2nd national car.

• That’s not real engineering Proton, c’mon. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 25
    • Who decide what’s real and what’s not and which engineering expert are you hiding behind the keyboard?

• RavenAii (Member) on Jun 15, 2023 at 10:16 pm

Do you even know what engineering is buddy? LOL.

• REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on May 31, 2023 at 7:44 pm

low sales day eh? Address your world class aftersales first k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
  • Lol.

Please also explain why the camera is very 3gp?
    Why remove ambient lighting?
    Why remove dvr?
    For asean ncap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Please also explain why the camera is very 3gp?
      Last time 3gp kelapa sawit also can use, now why cannot…

Why remove ambient lighting?
      Glaring while driving.

Why remove dvr?
      No need. Cost cutting.

For asean ncap?
      This one for WOW factor. What do you expect.

• Bob Mal on May 31, 2023 at 8:07 pm

It is actually quite hard to believe your word by word since X50 has been launched more than 2.5 years and now only you told this to us?

So Proton do you want to tell us that the Body Reworking – frontal collision & Air Bags changes is to comply with ASEAN NCAP while the Geely Coolray sold in the Philippines dees not comply despite being part of ASEAN nations?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 32
  • Don’t BS la proton on May 31, 2023 at 8:48 pm

I smell BS marketing words

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 28
  • David on May 31, 2023 at 9:31 pm

What a engineering marvelous.

• tricycle on May 31, 2023 at 11:31 pm

Ok now engineer another special edition price below 130k. Convenience features and driver assists aa similar spec as the one in the Flagship model. Just remove the panaromic roof, it is very hot in Malaysia and many old pokok branches or coconuts might drop on your glass roof.

AWD it and put the well tested 1.8T engine with slight tune up the power to be around 230hp. Make sure it can get to 100kmh in less than 6.2sec. (if 1.5T also can churn out the power then let it be, but use the 4 cylinder instead of the 3 cylinder, too rough and noisy)

Then put back the original suspension of Geely, the Proton tweaked x50 suspension is a bit too soft on cornering, and too much body roll. Make it better while cornering and hard braking.

Now get the engineers to work.

• X90 is the best “D” SUV on May 31, 2023 at 11:38 pm

This is totally BS P1 created BS statement for the sake of BS! Else someone go translate into mandarin and let the Chinese to comment?

• Typical driver on May 31, 2023 at 11:47 pm

I think they may need to review/improve the braking system more. Drove once (my friend’s), and when hard braking at last minute, you really need to press that braking pedal very hard (likely due to the suv weight).

• Wendolan Kerk Ah Son on May 31, 2023 at 11:49 pm

Haha so many suxerz buy this and x 70 Volvo tech still waiting for spare part fall down by parashut. Now say we made the grill safer come on la let us buy what we want and no protiction policy no need to syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
  • That is all ?

• Phuddi sung lee on Jun 01, 2023 at 9:13 am

Potong engineers

• proorly x579 on Jun 01, 2023 at 9:21 am

The hike has gone after the sst discounts and price increase, now there are way too many ready stocks at the sales room seldom got people interest even go see the car. Styling and safety are good enough better than p2 car, shortcoming are the “downgraded” 3 cylinder tbelt engine, high fuel consumption, bad reputations on the spare part availability. At the price point rather choose H or T brand less canggih model for less headache longevity before ev era.

• Ben Yap on Jun 01, 2023 at 11:21 am

if i drive X50, i will have 9 lives.

• Madam & Steve from eden on Jun 01, 2023 at 12:44 pm

ROTFL 5 points to comply with aseanNcap, since when aseanNcap becomes world’s benchmark for car safety standard? volvo and siblings chinese cars must comply ok hihi

• Proton engineers made the Proton X50 BETTER than the Geely Binyue on Jun 01, 2023 at 1:17 pm

Clone BETTER than Original

• meanwhile in an alternate multiverse on Jun 01, 2023 at 3:52 pm

did proton bailed out geely?

• hazri on Jun 01, 2023 at 5:07 pm

ha yela, dia jela terpaling safe.

• Ferguson Chow Sin Kong on Jun 01, 2023 at 6:11 pm

Most expansive grille in the world more value than Rolls-Royce because we have R and D department for this and many pupil on payroll

• Laugh on Jun 02, 2023 at 9:04 am

Almost signed the agreement on the X70 and X50 right after MCO. All seem too good but luck was with me as there were financial restrain causing me to let go of the opportunity.

Mid last year got all sorted and went back shopping and found so much complaints and issues. The biggest let down was the fuel consumption and cost of maintenance in the long run.

Bought a P2 and I’ve been smiling ever since, especially everytime I go to the fuel station to pump full tank.

• You forgot the most important aspect of Proton. They re-engineer Geely handling! Ofc it’s the iconic Lotus handling. Handling is a huge indicator of Proton, compared to Perodua.

• Lol no lotus handling in geely rebadged cars la. It’s just the suspension tuning by proton that’s still too soft as proton doesn’t have the experience to tune higher cars.