915,874 road accidents recorded from 2021-2022: MoT

A total of 915,874 road accidents were recorded for the period of 2021 to 2022 according to the ministry of transport, The Star has reported.

From this total, 545,588 of these accidents with 6,080 deaths (1.1%) occurred last year, while 370,286 accidents occurred in 2021, with 4,539 deaths (1.23%), said the minister of transport Anthony Loke Siew Fook.

“A Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) study found that road accidents were mainly caused by human behaviour, followed by the design, condition of road infrastructure and vehicles’ condition. Miros and the Road Transport Department (JPJ) are continously running campaigns and enforcement measures to promote safe driving etiquette,” Loke said.

The response by Loke in a written parliamentary reply was to Datuk Adnan Abu Hassan (BN-Kuala Pilah), who asked the transport minister to state the main cause of fatal road accidents alongside short, medium and long-term plans to resolve the issue.

To this end, the transport ministry had launched the Malaysia Road Safety Plan 2022-2030 in January 2022 to tackle the issue of road accidents.

“The goal is to reduce the number of road accidents by 50% come 2030. Various programmes and strategies involving stakeholders from local communities and the private sector have also been planned,” the transport minister said.

Both passive and active strategies are also taken in order to increase the safety standards of vehicles, he said. These are through the creation of a vehicle research and safety test centre, and [by] improving the standards and mechanism used to evaluate [the safety of a vehicle],” Loke said, adding that other measures are also being taken.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ben Yap on Jun 13, 2023 at 12:25 pm

motorcyclist beating the red lights are a common occurrence and cars overtaking on double lines are a norm too. if they die alone, it is good news. if they drag innocent lives along and they survived the accident, they should be charged for 1st degree murder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • I too love to drive recklessly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • YB Albert on Jun 13, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Datuk Ben Yap..u should be Road Safety Council Pengerusi.
      The problem is : INCONSISTENT and HAPHAZARD enforcement.
      How can the dad of the 6 year old Vios Crasher in Langkawi escape prosecution? Can anyone smell any rat?
      Today ,u station 100 enforcement officers at all major T junctions in Klang Valley,u can literally nab thousands of hell riders who r color blind when approaching traffic lights.It has become the norm to speed past red traffic lights.
      How can the Honda civic crasher at Genting escape punishment with a dozen saman hanging over his head?
      So,the message the bad motorists get is: Crash first,No need worry,if saman..got plenty of time n discounts.

• Ben Yap on Jun 13, 2023 at 3:26 pm

wahlao! i suddenly get awarded with the title Datuk from you…. but when people check Ben Yap at istiadat.gov.my, i don’t have the title conferred to me. Better call me Ben Yap so that i won’t be labelled as a fake Datuk.

• Ben Yap on Jun 13, 2023 at 4:11 pm

Thank you. I will do my best in Road Safety Council…. I will put a ban for traffic offenders with 3 samans or more.

• eeeriz on Jun 19, 2023 at 4:17 pm

3 samans are too common nowadays, better up a bit to 5 & above. hehe

• Susukotak on Jun 13, 2023 at 12:47 pm

Main caused of accident is hunan behaviour then road condition. Strategies is to create vehocle / safety centre. What a silly RCA.

• alldisc on Jun 13, 2023 at 12:50 pm

545,588 accidents cases in 2022. that’s an average of 1,494 accidents in the entire country every day.

62 accidents every hour.

• The Plan is easy only. Most road death from motorcycles. Then do speed trap for car lor…

• t333son on Jun 13, 2023 at 1:32 pm

hangat hangat tahi ayam, tidak apa, kawtim. These attitudes ensure death rate will continue to climb.

oh forgot .. the discount culture instead of punishment culture where wrong doing is rewarded

well lets start with enforcing traffic rules such as traffic lights, double lines, speeding, phone while driving, seatbelts, childseats and dark tinted windows

• Yeahsure on Jun 13, 2023 at 1:56 pm

Until we have a heavy handed police action on offenders with no compromise, then numbers will only get higher and higher, as long as we turn a blind eye on a certain demographic n not apply the law to them, lets not bs ourselves its been like that for a decade already’then we are basically doomed.. Our roads are just a death trap caused by retarded bikers and car drivers who are so full of inferiority complex its shocking

• basikal lajak on Jun 13, 2023 at 2:10 pm

isu basikal lajak pun tak setel. nak kecoh lain pulak.

• Jimho on Jun 13, 2023 at 2:24 pm

(Miros) study…mainly caused by human behaviour, followed by…I believe since ’21.. it’s mainly due to cv vax sudden death or injuries. Whole of 2023 will be much higher. We’re paying the price for taking a poison vaxx for a C19 that do not exist. Go ahead & attack me -this is a common fanatic behavior or vaxx-injury behavior. Do take the right supplements to minimize the injuries. God bless.

• longjaafar on Jun 13, 2023 at 2:41 pm

I don’t think we are serious in curbing reckless driving.
    How much air time have the TV stations devoted to promoting road safety? How many column inches do the printed media contribute? It’s all talk talk talk, but no serious effort. And our enforcement is a big joke.
    So is it any wonder that our accident rate is so high?

• todak on Jun 13, 2023 at 3:11 pm

The Miros study had found that road accidents were mainly caused by human behaviour. Well, this is not surprising when most road users, regardless of vehicle used, have poor attitude towards road safety. What could have caused such a poor attitude? Poor parental guidance? Weak education system? Not strict enough traffic law enforcement? Mental health issues?

• traffic fines should follow income.
    Just fine 2% of income + 1% of property for ALL OFFENCE.

• Laugh on Jun 13, 2023 at 4:14 pm

2 options available.

1. Install CCTVs at all accident and traffic offence prone area. Install all over the country would be even better with less need of police patrol saving money and enviroment in the long run.

2. Limit all vehicle speeds in Malaysia. The highest speed limit is only 110kmph. Why want to allow vehicle drive over that limit? For saman purposes?

• Zlatan Tan on Jun 13, 2023 at 4:34 pm

Time to stop the MF from tailgate flash light, sometimes I think we go to that great Moh Foh Dynasty level think more price car that means I smarter and better than you.

• bugger on Jun 14, 2023 at 12:46 am

must tailgate since MF driving 90km/hr on right lane on highway

• KariBuaya on Jun 14, 2023 at 11:15 am

I think you defensive MF can’t speak on behalf of others, balik makan bak Kut teh saja la

• Easiest way to lower the numbers is to remove the human element. They are usually the most problematic part of the driving system.

The reason self-driving cars do not work well now is because for some reason, there is not much effort to create standards and implementations to allow signaling between vehicles (V2V comm). When vehicles can ‘communicate’ directly with one another (and maybe some stationary beacons), it will not only improve self-driving behavior, but also allows for better development of traffic management systems as well.

Of course, security will be an issue, I think it will be similar to our mobile phones’ security problems. And we managed to, more or less, keep that under control.

• bugger on Jun 14, 2023 at 12:46 am

mostly not from drink driving….90 plus percent from non drink driving

• surprised it’s not higher!! More cars and BIKES on the road = MORE and MORE accidents… add that to the ‘tidak apa’ attitude of drivers, it’s a gone case!

• JPJ useless on Jun 14, 2023 at 1:55 pm

JPJ running campaign ? barely see any roadblock from JPJ , i can’t even remember when was the last . puikkkkk