10 sen surcharge – EV owners may have to pay more to charge their cars under new 2H 2023 ICPT scheme

EV owners may have to pay more to charge their electric cars at home as the new ICPT scheme for the second half of 2023 has been announced. Bills with more than 1,500 kWh a month of usage will receive a surcharge of RM0.10 per kWh, which represents a total increase of RM0.12 compared to the RM0.02 rebate received previously.

This means the highest residential tariff of RM0.571 per kWh which we typically use to calculate residential EV charging costs is now effectively RM0.671 per kWh.

We typically use the RM0.571 rate because EVs are generally expensive items that are used in households that have residential electricity usage above the 901 kWh range monthly, in which the highest residential tariff applies.

However, do remember this RM0.10 per kWh surcharge doesn’t just apply to usage above 1,500 kWh. Once you use more than 1,500 kWh, the surcharge applies to your entire TNB bill.

Thus if your usage is currently just below the limit, adding an EV to your household might increase your electricity bill significantly, much more than just the electricity your EV consumes. The cost of electricity for everything else will go up as well.

The surcharge is estimated to affect approximately 83,000 users. For everyone else with usage below 1,500 kWh a month, the RM0.02 ICPT rebate that was previously available is still in effect.

According to the government, the average fuel cost for the 1H 2023 period was USD173.50 per metric tonne, reduced from USD224 per metric tonne in 2H 2022 which was used to calculate the previous ICPT rate.

In addition, the government also announced it would be revising the solar PV Net Energy Metering (NEM) scheme for residential houses to be less restrictive compared to the current 10 kW limit for 3-phase supply and 4 kW for single phase supply, but no further details on that yet.

What is ICPT?

ICPT is basically a mechanism to review the electricity tariff every six months to take into account fluctuating fuel pricing, which contributes to 65% of the cost component of the electricity tariff. It is revised every six months based on the six months period before it, thus this new ICPT surcharge for the second half of 2023 was based on fuel prices in the first half of 2023.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Its ok on Jun 24, 2023 at 8:54 am

Here it come

• clean energy supporters on Jun 24, 2023 at 9:46 am

tesla supercharger powered via solar array energy

• 1st Pride on Jun 24, 2023 at 11:24 am

Supercharger station goes off-grid has LiFePo batteries backup during nightfall and thunderstorms or cloudy days?

• Sohai on Jun 24, 2023 at 10:39 am

All EV owners that I know are rich. Don’t think is a problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Jun 25, 2023 at 9:09 am

Except for BYD buyers, obviously. Poor people who think they’re driving a premium EV.

• Arguably even BYD buyers. Nobody buys EV as their first and only car in the household.

• Junkies otr on Jun 24, 2023 at 10:59 am

Scrap cars above 20yrs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • kevin on Jun 24, 2023 at 11:19 am

same same la, petrol also subsidy mah, if no electric subsidy then pump more petrol get subsidy lo

• hartman on Jun 26, 2023 at 10:14 am

i use subsidized petrol to generate electricity now.
      just buy a generator.

• Yeahsure on Jun 24, 2023 at 12:00 pm

Hahahaha…

• jom kayuh on Jun 24, 2023 at 12:13 pm

jgn risau.. masih lagi ada basikal..

• Truth on Jun 24, 2023 at 12:36 pm

Say no to EV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Susukotak on Jun 24, 2023 at 1:11 pm

Onwer ada rasa menyesal tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • alif_p on Jun 24, 2023 at 7:29 pm

rasanya owner mampu kot.

don’t be bitter because others can afford nice things – orang lain worked hard to get nice things jugak, be nice la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • my average monthly EV charging uses about 75kWh.

2 bedroom air con (1hp) only switched on every night and my monthly use has never even gotten close to 700kWh.

how are some residences using up to 1,500kWh??? air con on 24/7?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • lolpanda on Jun 24, 2023 at 7:14 pm

i would imagine it’s long air con hours (especially daytime) and multiple air con units that primarily contributes to hiked costs rather than having an EV.

whether it’s a high-income household or not, EVs are extremely scarce in the market today on a nationwide scale – these high consumption households were already use a lot of energy without an EV in the picture.

Adding an EV into the mix brings the consumption up by a small amount relative to their current use.

In a nutshell, for most ppl who don’t use that much energy to begin with, even if you get an EV, you are unlikely to be affected by the new tariff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Bieight8 on Jun 24, 2023 at 2:14 pm

So have off peak rates for EV owners

• lolpanda on Jun 24, 2023 at 7:05 pm

i may be mistaken, but off-peak rates were not introduced for cost reasons – it’s to manage power loads from the power company and discourage high use of energy during peak hours (i.e. daytime) when energy consumption is high (businesses operating etc.)

some countries don’t produce enough energy to handle sudden surges in power demand.

• Squid on Jun 26, 2023 at 11:57 am

If I’m notmistaken, off peak rates only works in countries that gets energy from wind and water dams. Reduced energy use during off peak puts stress in the system so they encourage people to use more electricity during those periods.

• Lapiji Lamli on Jun 24, 2023 at 2:28 pm

Lol. Current gov is super hilarious. Pushing hard on EV, at the same time the country facing energy crisis. Well as others said, only rich people uses EV. So let the riches pay for the infra and we poor people use it when everything is ready and cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • ITG Techno on Jun 24, 2023 at 3:09 pm

On my point of view, EVs technology is meant for more towards wealthy countries rather than other poor and developing countries.
    They have abondance of Electric Power sources and those of the developing world countries.
    If you don’t believe my facts.. just ask any AI Chatbot, and the answers are almost/ always the same across the board.
    Just my AI 2 sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • worldofmoney on Jun 24, 2023 at 7:26 pm

it’s not just EVs…most new tech (cars, medical, devices, etc.) are always accessibly to the upper income groups first. that’s just how the world works.

whether or not it reaches the masses later on is subject to various factors (sometimes it never does – as proven in the medical industry)

for example, even if EVs comes down to more accessible prices but you live in a condo, and EV wouldn’t be your first choice because you don’t have ready access to a dedicated charger.

you could rely solely on public networks but it introduces inconvenience in your daily life (unavailability of charging points whether because it’s out of service or occupied by others, having to specifically make trips out to charge, waiting in public , cost of public charging isn’t cheap, and many more).

even charge points installed in a condo will be few (and you’d still have to pay public charging rates) – some people might accept the hassle but it’s not for everyone.

meaning ideally, to afford an EV you also need to afford a landed property.

• ericvictor on Jun 24, 2023 at 7:32 pm

even in “wealthy countries”, EVs are only accessible to higher income groups – it’s universally more expensive to buy an EV, not just in Malaysia.

• Susukotak on Jun 24, 2023 at 7:41 pm

And the one developing country is preparing to sell green energy to rich country while it should be prorities it own need.

• Matti on Jun 24, 2023 at 5:58 pm

Will not affect your premium EV buyers much, since they can easily afford a couple hundred ringgit to their bills. The China Econobox EV buyers might be worried though.

• Told you….just another scam…

• Anonymous on Jun 24, 2023 at 10:16 pm

If you own a ev ah your electricity bill will cost expensive ah, ev likes to suck your electricity!

• bolehland on Jun 24, 2023 at 11:51 pm

So no ev pickup trucks for Malaysians then… Even if EV pickups, they’ll be hit with maximum excise duty.

Please charge the lifestyle pickup trucks with excise duty, like the Filipinos do.

• Madani Korok on Jun 25, 2023 at 10:37 am

The very reason I want to puke whenever I hear on radio a propaganda song ending with “Malaysia … Madani”… I said WT wit job it is. I am true to my concise with the EV discouragement new when you get to pay more for charging. The head of Madani never thinks EV is to offset the CO2 emission which by right TNB shall give a discount on CO2 offsetting. I repeat “Madani”. “Madani”. “Madani”

• munkay on Jun 25, 2023 at 1:08 pm

You know what, at this rate you can just remove all subsidies but you must also agree that the people shouldn’t subsidize the government anymore. No more excise duties on cars, no more bailouts for GLCs, no more arbitrary spending on useless stuff.

• KuroEV Malaysia on Jun 25, 2023 at 10:35 pm

My house installed with EV with solar panels. Save alot electricity & petrol bills.

• FireAce on Jun 26, 2023 at 6:29 pm

To follow your strategy, the solar panel need to be generate enough power, we will need
      1. 5 digits budget for the solar panel setup
      2. Own a landed property
      3. Landed properly is at least a semi-detached bungalow or house with huge piece of empty land to have enough space to have many solar panels
      4. More budgets to maintain the Solar Panel batteries once every 5-10 years

Btw, what ROI timeline you are looking at?

• stasta on Jun 28, 2023 at 9:45 pm

probably he doesn’t need batteries, as the energy from solar feeds back in directly to the grid. not to charge his EV.

• Pedro on Jun 26, 2023 at 9:36 am

easy solution. buy subsidized petrol, then run a generator to recharge EV. problem solved.