Perodua, Proton, Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi top five in Malaysia in 1H 2023 – 85.9% market share combined

During the first six months of 2023, auto sales in Malaysia totalled 366,037 units according to the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA). This represents a 10.3% year-on-year (YoY) increase compared to the same period last year, but how did car companies fare individually?

Based on MAA data, Perodua is unsurprisingly leading in terms of total vehicle sales in 1H 2023 with 144,690 units, which is enough for a market share of 39.5%. Both figures are higher than in 1H 2022, when Perodua managed 127,343 deliveries and a market share of 38.4%

Meanwhile, Proton is second place with 76,012 units, up 32.4% from the 57,402 units in 1H 2022. The national carmaker’s market share has also gone up by 3.5% YoY to hit 20.8% in 1H 2023. Coming in third place is Toyota with 48,145 units and a market share of 13.2% – the former is higher than the 45,449 units recorded in 1H 2022, but the latter is actually down by 0.5%.

Another Japanese carmaker in the top five is Honda, which managed to secure fourth place with 33,727 units. The 1H 2023 total is nearly 15% down from what was recorded in 1H 2022, and market share also went down by 2.8% to 9.2% in the first half of 2023.

Rounding off the top five is Mitsubishi with 11,811 units and a market share of 3.2%. Like Honda, Mitsubishi’s figures are down from 1H 2022, which saw 12,621 units and a market share of 3.8%. Other car companies made up the remaining deliveries with 51,652 units.

It should be noted that total vehicle sales includes both passenger vehicles and commercial vehicles – three out of the top five (Perodua, Proton and Honda) do not offer the latter. Additionally, the top five ranking in 1H 2023 is unchanged from 1H 2022.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Nice, 4 Japanese and 1 Chinese carmaker in the top 5! Malaysia truly Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • YB Kinte Kunte on Jul 21, 2023 at 5:37 pm

Bradder,cannot say CHINESE carmaker.
      Protong is 51% DRB..49% Geely..nanti the Arab marah.
      Anyway,it is sad Honda sales is falling compared to same period 2022.Toyota more or less maintain market share.
      The biggest disappointment is Tan Chong.
      Its product range is nowhere competitive n virtually has no DOPAMINE surge at all.
      Once Tesla and the Chinese EVs start flooding the market,the pie will get even smaller for all.

• Toyohatsudua stakeholder Union on Jul 21, 2023 at 2:23 pm

Kudos to Toyota group sold 200k vehicles to malaysians

• PNB’s unit trust holder will laugh all the way to the bank. Thank you P2 and Toyota buyers!
      1. Direct profit from UMW group
      2. Indirect profit from Maybank and CIMB which provide hire purchase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • 4GR-FSE on Jul 21, 2023 at 9:19 pm

Yup.. technically more than 50% of the car sold are Toyota drive train.. Malaysia is a “Toyota dominant” market.. macam Toyota is our national car.. lol

P/s: if we add up all the grey import Alphard Vellfire Harrier Estima Voxy NX300 RX300, the market share of Toyota is even higher..

• Omg can’t believe H has lost their no.1 non-national car ranking, in second consecutive year? Omg…

• 4GR-FSE on Jul 21, 2023 at 9:22 pm

Honda was #1 bcos UMW was asleep.. now they just woke up from a long hibernation.. Toyota has always been leading globally..

Fun fact.. more than 50% of sales are actually Toyota if you include Perodua..

• Vincent Liew on Jul 22, 2023 at 2:50 am

My crv caught in a minor flash flood (water level just below the car floor board)n the engine dead. Tolled
      to authorise H workshop.Next morning was told by workshop technician water was suck into engine
      combustion chamber through the air filter compartment.Since i claiming for flood insurance, got to wait for the insurance appointed adjuster report. What surprised me is the adjuster report is
      to change the engine and the transmission. These two major changes n some minor replacements
      n labour cost add up to RM60k+ . The insurance company offer me the total loss valuation(rm70k). I challenged the adjuster report of transmission need replacement but not successful.
      I promise myself not to buy any H car(transmission
      easily enter by water) n also the M*** insurance

• Special Peril - Must Add on Jul 22, 2023 at 9:43 am

You were smart to insure your crv with flood coverae, not causing you a total loss. At least you will get an extra money to buy a new vehicle, though you may need to fork more in the long run. Shit did happen.

• Your loyalty to H doesn’t mean anything to them at all. So don’t be sour when they chose not to do the things you’ve expected them to do.

• So?

• hazri on Jul 21, 2023 at 5:42 pm

it seems new accord, city, civic and hrv not give very good sale volume to honda. then change jazz to city hb also not a good move. now change brv to wrv, it gonna fail. honda should remember how they became the no. 1 non national car long time ago even they dont sell pickup like hilux.

why? first in 2014 they sell many variants of honda city, and people can buy city at vios price (70k for s spec). 2nd, people had money buying jazz, not myvi. 3rd, whatever you want to say about civic ketam, it still the sportiest look ever. current one look so abah-abah. 4th, crv lose to mazda cx-5. 5th, hrv lose to corolla cross, x50, x70, aruz.

solution? since honda cant decrease their price, they should offer and give 5 free services maintenance like mazda. not just 5 times free labor.

• 4GR-FSE on Jul 21, 2023 at 9:27 pm

Honda was selling well because UMW’s offering wasn’t attractive few years ago. It wasn’t because Honda is better, but rather UMW fail to bring in the best Toyota that they can offer.. now UMW has waken up and bringing in their best line up to compete.. The Toyota brand is still synonyms with long term reliability and that is what most people are looking for – proven technology, no turbo, simple, low cost to fix, parts are abundance..

• City, civic and hrv = boring, dated and overpriced. The excitement is no longer there. Also, not many people can afford civic or hrv nowadays. Even if they can, they’ll probably get X70 or Corolla cross or Mazda. There’s only one reason why people buy HRV – diehard H fanboys. Period.

• 4GR-FSE on Jul 21, 2023 at 7:21 pm

No matter how ppl bash Toyota being boring, no turbo, CVT, small Myvi engine, old engine, using perodua’s DNGA, infotainment screen like TV, outdated no EV BLA BLA BLA.. Toyota will still remains on top.. because they know what the market need and what the market want, and the sales figure proof they are on the right track.

• Boy Racer on Jul 21, 2023 at 8:36 pm

Represents what Malaysians can afford.

Salary has been stagnant for decades sadly to be able to upgrade further.

• UMW vs DRB-HICOM
    UMW: P2,Toyota,Lexus
    DRB-HICOM: P1,Honda

• Toyota got so many vehicle meh! Hiace, Hilux, Innova, Dyna small lorry, forklift, hand pallet jack, tractor
    Honda extra only honda jet and motorcycle

• Honda came out many different versions in one model. For example look at WRV, got S, E, V, and RS. For me all tipu money, same engine, only giving u this accessories different. When new Honda has new model, I won’t bother to give it a look what is the different.

• VS Antony on Jul 23, 2023 at 9:20 am

From my observation of the comparison table, would suggest to include two more columns; the type of cars and the total price of that type. As we know Perodua’s vehicle price 50% of their cars cost <RM60k and another 50% cost <RM80k. If the sales cost is also added than it will provide a more relevant table. It will allow the readers to know the purchasing power of the rakyat, the rate of traffic build-up on the road and the parking facilities required, etc.

• Worrying on Jul 25, 2023 at 1:46 pm

Judging from the figure of total sales between T and H, the gap is huge at around 14k units. And even if you take Hilux out, which is sold 1-2K unit a month on average, it’s 12k units max. Meaning T outsold H even in passenger car category even without taking Hilux, lorry or van into account. This is worrying for H man!!!