Melaka JPJ alarmed by the high number of foreigners it has detected driving around without a licence

The Melaka road transport department (JPJ) says that it has detected a high number of Rohingya riding or driving vehicles without valid licences in the state. According to state department director Muhammad Firdaus Shariff, from January to July this year, no less than 63 individuals from the community have had their vehicles confiscated for driving without a licence.

He described the situation as alarming, as The Star reports. “This is troubling, as it poses risk to other motorists, while JPJ is only empowered to confiscate the vehicles and issue summonses,” he told reporters at the department’s headquarters in Bukit Katil yesterday.

He said that in an operation on Wednesday alone, the department came across 19 Rohingya who were utilising vehicles on the road without driving licences. “My men managed to detect these foreigners within only two hours of the operation that started at 5 pm and ended at 6.45 pm along routes surrounding the Melaka Sentral bus terminal,” he said.

He said apart from the Rohingyas, eight Bangladeshis and one Pakistani were also found to be on the road without valid driving licences, while 10 of these vehicles had no insurance coverage after the road tax expired. “I believe we would be able to detect more of such cases if we conducted more operations throughout the state,” he added.

During the operation, 23 motorcycles and two cars were confiscated under Section 64(1) of the Road Transport Act 1987, while a total of 35 vehicles were checked.

Muhammad Firdaus said foreigners must understand that having a United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) card does not qualify them to drive or ride without a licence and they should follow the rules in this country. “Locals should stop lending or selling their vehicles to illegal immigrants or foreigners without proper documents,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Earth prince on Aug 11, 2023 at 11:30 am

Pack them into containers and ship back to their countries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 17
    • Phuddi sung Lee on Aug 11, 2023 at 3:56 pm

Like pack back u from strawberry plugging once caught in Australia but they still developed country so they throw u bak Malaysia via plane and not in container(they have std) cheap pple cheap mentality and good pple have good mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
    • Keris-stan on Aug 11, 2023 at 5:06 pm

Kenot execute your suggestion due to sympathisers sure come out protect them since they are refugees of Mohammadian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Phuddi sung lee on Aug 11, 2023 at 7:21 pm

Moron idiot, cheap pple cheap thinking with confidence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Yeahsure on Aug 11, 2023 at 6:08 pm

Your ancestors not from here either.. You are not any better than them.. You people also overstay on Australia/NZ and the middle east… So stfu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • Phuddi sung lee on Aug 11, 2023 at 7:22 pm

Ha ha ha jealous jealous bez can’t compete us ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Stan Smith on Aug 11, 2023 at 9:53 pm

No la, ask them if they have passport or not and go back to their countries by flight.

• Welcome to malaysia

• Raja Kamarul on Aug 11, 2023 at 11:53 am

Alarmed.

Of course it is happening. Your enforcement is nil. Everything has to be operasi. No operasi, no saman. Nobody is scared to break the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • This is a huge deal and risk for local and legit drivers. It’s getting out of hand in KL and even where I live in Mont Kiara. They break all the rules risking lives and cars always break down causing massive jams. I don’t get how they’re getting away with it so easily and the community feels powerless to confront them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Tok Guru Todi on Aug 11, 2023 at 12:29 pm

goes to show how this sad state is being managed by the clowns in power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
    • If the NIISe has failed to on Aug 11, 2023 at 6:06 pm

properly monitor these foreigners in the country, the clowns who launched it in 2021 should explain.

• rafiq on Aug 12, 2023 at 12:09 pm

baru hidup lepas tahun 2021 ke ?? all this refuges or unlisted immigrant been here for ages …overstayed chinese naionality pun bersepah kat penang,selangor n johor.. Malaysia ni negara maritim… border luas.. not easy too monitor… Malaysia ni dah mcm US /UK… undocumented immigrant Arabs n Afrika pun bersepah kat KL..

• Please do something!! on Aug 12, 2023 at 1:11 pm

this has happen b4 current gment in power. But really hope tht they do something to get rid those illegally stay and limit them to certain industry(Agriculture/waste). Cant allow them doing business. When tourist arrive in the country, see non msian work in retail/services is not good for the experience. And this deprive the opportunity for local.If see no change, in ge16 i & family members may vote others or dont vote at all.

• Amazed that they came with the shirts on their backs and officially without jobs could manage to afford for motors & cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Do you remember on Aug 11, 2023 at 6:13 pm

that some generations ago, there were people with similar achievements in pre-independence Malaya, Sarawak & North Borneo (Sabah)?

• History Bender on Aug 11, 2023 at 10:48 pm

And yet now they are rich they became traitors and ingrates demanding for more and more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • nobody's stopping you on Aug 12, 2023 at 7:45 am

if you want to keep bending over backwards for your own version of history.

• Your attempts to on Aug 12, 2023 at 10:41 am

bend/distort history may be impressive, but actually pointless & unnecessary.

• Get out of Malaysia on Aug 12, 2023 at 3:13 pm

can you and your dupes stop being racist towards our minorities? even as a malay muslim, i hate and disapprove of racism towards our ‘non’ friends in this beautiful country. gi berambus la mat….

• I had seen video clips of foreigners riding motorbikes without relevant papers, and they say “Kalau kena tangkap, boleh kowtim ma. Polis senang, JPJ susah sikit.” Is this something true?

Whether foreigners or locals, the enforcers ought to act seriously so that people fear of getting caught and do not break rules.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Tok Hina Bawang on Aug 11, 2023 at 2:35 pm

it’s true. They have no fear of local authorities because they know a few ringgit and they can get away with it. Only locals are dumb enough to abide laws.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Abdul Hamid on Aug 11, 2023 at 2:47 pm

UNHCR Cards and Card Holders should not be accepted in Malaysia. Malaysia doesn’t need them, and they are trouble makers in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Tok Hadi Bawang on Aug 11, 2023 at 3:49 pm

malaysia cant even afford to feed our own B40. but wanna take these refugees in and feed them. now they creating social problems for us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • Yeahsure on Aug 11, 2023 at 6:11 pm

You want all the goodies thay come with being a UN member but you refuse refugees.. Selective bodo-ness… As if all the social problems u refering to is bcos of them, bcos you lot are just angels la roaming around spreading peace…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Sohai on Aug 11, 2023 at 4:36 pm

Then get out of the UN lah.
      Want to take goodies without contribution? Kampung minds…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Tan W L on Aug 11, 2023 at 3:10 pm

Wow… I’m so shocked that you’re in shocked about this shocking news! Haha

• ShockingOh on Aug 19, 2023 at 4:23 pm

Yeah… very shocking of this shocking news till police shocked to hear this shocking news. Lol

• Baru bangun tidur ke

• Sohai on Aug 11, 2023 at 4:34 pm

There could be other alarming stats not surface due to pay-on-the-spot arrangmenets.
    The Rohinga obviously didnt’t know about how it works here.

• pay-on-the-spot is the new arrangements by Anthony Loke. Blame him. Oh wait policemen must love him for giving them extra pocket money.

• Ecar Mafia on Aug 11, 2023 at 8:02 pm

Accepting refugees is one thing, but managing them is a different level. This refugee programs should not not be at the expense of the citizens life. This is bad administration from the immigration and home ministry. Bad governance. At least now the issue is brought to daylight, one can only hope the relevant authorities act responsibly. Hope they they are not blindly given IC and added to the voter listing, expanding the existing B40 issues. What is happening to this country..

• Ali Baba Nyonya on Aug 11, 2023 at 8:52 pm

Everyday can see them on road why some more do business use Ali Baba lesen open furniture shop don’t pretend shocking news lazy people gadai negara.

• Sanjayr on Aug 11, 2023 at 9:55 pm

Not only in Malacca but we can see them in every state drive without valid license. They can doing the business without anything and also can see them drive 3 roda bike bringing scraps(metal parts without proper) Why the authorities department is unable to stop them ?

• I don’t know how to react to this article. Should I laugh or should I be concerned ? What have the responsible authorities been doing all this while ?

• Sanjayr on Aug 11, 2023 at 9:56 pm

Not only in Malacca but we can see them in every state drive without valid license. They can doing the business without anything and also can see them drive 3 roda bike bringing scraps(metal parts without proper) Why the authorities department is unable to stop them ?

• Now I think I know one of the reasons why Myanmar has not recognised them as their own citizen. But we happily accepted them. Just wait when they are big & strong to fight us within our own compounds.

• Francis Lim on Aug 12, 2023 at 2:06 pm

They already want to take over Selayang during 2020 MCO period. They have taken Selayang wholesale market.

• seancorr on Aug 11, 2023 at 11:20 pm

Awww don’t tell me now only they realize this is happening here?

• It happened all over Malaysia. Enforcement must be strict. Normally they ride three wheeler motorcycle going around collecting recycle materials and stealing when opportunity persist. Hope Johor JPJ will do the same.

• Asirvatham on Aug 12, 2023 at 8:49 am

It’s not only in malaka…. they are everywhere in Malaysia driving without license… it’s very funny only now that they know…

• beamcruiser on Aug 12, 2023 at 9:34 am

Alarm? Means someone is NOT doing a good job right? Its all over the country. Wake up.

• The same is happening in Johor Bahru. It is not that hard to spot them.

They are doing business too!

They first started by walking around, then using motorbike, then using motorcar… now using better motorcar…

• Yes, a lot indeed hopefully the Johor authorities will do something before it gets out of hands

• As matter of fact such operations should be held inlandswide. As the amount of foreigners and local driving without license are on the rise.

• Recruit more police officer, continue to enforce the law. Many youngsters are interested to be in the force but I wonder why they are not being selected.

• Normal what. Everywhere also got such cases but nothing much done to prevent and stop such things.

• Try to give lessen easy way bos ku, so after that problems solved. All jpj can take rest right

• Brenda Lim on Aug 13, 2023 at 6:28 am

Any rental available

• Understand try to make fortune from working hard to bring back to homeland but have to follow Malaysian law and get international driving license. No issue of renting or purchasing vehicles owned by Malaysian local as said by the authority with proper documentation. Both factor mentioned is no other than for SAFETY.

• JPJ alarmed is one thing but what is the pro active action?

• Grama'Nazi on Aug 13, 2023 at 11:29 am

“pro active action” is a pleonasm, by definition an action is active (act- from Old French actif and directly from Latin activus, from actus “a doing”)

Learn how to express yourself correctly, you may find answers to your own questions…

• GANESEN A/L GUNARAJAN on Aug 14, 2023 at 4:20 pm

Not only Rohingya and not only in melaka foreigners driving without license. I am ehailing driver and i saw many foreigners driving without license and without valid documents. Some foreign group started with pick up their people in van or car where they providing illegal ehailing service.Dont know how they communicate. Maybe having WhatsApp groups i guess.

• GANESEN A/L GUNARAJAN on Aug 14, 2023 at 4:27 pm

I am ehailing driver and i saw many foreigners driving without license and without valid documents. Some foreign group started with pick up their people in van or car where they providing illegal ehailing service.Dont know how they communicate. Maybe having WhatsApp groups i guess.

• Good mind meleis on Aug 16, 2023 at 11:54 am

Stupid jpj and authority, refugees need a license, they cari makan here also just like you. If takut hit another people and accident this is the only solution now which give them chance to learn driving/license so menjamin kesejahteraan dan keselamatan bersama. Them is human also, they need insurance also like Malaysian. Jgn jadi zalim