CATL unveils Shenxing superfast charging EV battery with 700 km range, 80% SoC recharging in 10 minutes

Chinese battery manufacturer CATL has unveiled its latest EV battery product, the Shenxing Superfast charging battery that is claimed to be the world’s first 4C superfast charging LFP (lithium iron phosphate) battery.

Citing fast-charging anxiety as the top factor withholding consumers from moving to electric vehicles, CATL has continued to develop battery materials, electrochemistry and system structure in an all-round manner to achieve superfast charging.

The Shenxing battery uses the super electronic network cathode technology and fully nano-crystallized LFP cathode material to form a super-electronic network, enabling the extraction of lithium ions and the rapid response to charging signals, says CATL.

A new superconducting electrolyte formula has been developed by CATL with the aim of reducing the viscosity of the electrolyte, thus improving conductivity. The battery’s ultra-thin SEI (solid electrolyte interphase) film in order to reduce the resistance towards lithium-ion movement. For the separator, high porosity and a shortened average transmission distance also aids in lower the transmission resistance of lithium ions, says CATL.

The new battery is said to be capable of bringing a state of charge equivalent to 400 km of driving range from a 10-minute charge, and is able to reach a 0-80% state of charge in 10 minutes when charging at room temperature and achieve a range of over 700 km, though the firm has not specified the charging rate nor the capacity of the battery for this claim.

Meanwhile, its cell temperature control technology ensure that the cells heat up to their optimal operating temperature range rapidly, enabling a 0-80% charge in 30 minutes at -10 degrees Celsius ambient. CATL also claims “uncompromised 0-100 km/h acceleration performance” at low temperatures.

In terms of safety, the Shenxing battery employs an upgraded electrolyte and separator for dual protection, says CATL; a real-time fault testing system aims to safeguard against potential hazards arising from fast charging, by regulating the global temperature within the battery cells through the use of algorithms.

The Shenxing superfast-charging battery is expected to enter mass production by the end of this year, and electric vehicles that will be equipped with this battery will go on sale in the first quarter of 2024, according to the CATL presentation.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• It’s safe until catching fire. Till now the biggest EV maker there is still clueless on why their EV caught fire despite using batteries they claim very safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • SpaceX intern on Aug 18, 2023 at 3:32 pm

whatever battery explosion still loose to jet fuel or hydrazine instantly vaporised on impact.

• Jealous Species (CRABS) on Aug 18, 2023 at 3:54 pm

This @ioma “Aiyo Ama” species looks sour and jealous. Go ask your motherland work harder lah instead of waste time spreading fake news and pull others down. I feel pity to see your motherland so dirty and poor. China was poorer than your motherland but look what hardwork and non jealous mind has done for them. Now the highest PPP country in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • With more than 20% published youth unemployment and a bunch of economic problem with evergrande, country garden, non-withdrawal bank deposit, exodus of foreign companies, you should jealous of them.

• Mike Tee on Aug 18, 2023 at 4:31 pm

I drove through 4km of taxis queuing, 99% EVs, on the way to GuangZhou airport. It is nearly impossible to find a blue plate (ICE) taxi in Guangzhou, and I guess in other tier one cities in China. These are not top of the range BYD, NIO, Tesla, BMW, etc but everyday DC fast charged cheap EVs that go through hell.

Trust me, these will be the most abused EVs you can find anywhere in the world and if they catch fire more than ICEs, you’d know about it.

Already many studies/reports that EVs are *less* likely to catch fire than ICE. If you want, a quick Google search will reveal all, but you do you

• Mike Tee on Aug 18, 2023 at 12:15 pm

Battery tech advancements such as this and motor tech is still in their infancy all things considered. Their trajectory vs ICE is obvious for all to see.

The rational consumer will take this as another step towards EV tipping point vs ICE. It is merely a mode of transport. If the vehicle fits their needs (price, range, charging, performance, resale, etc), they buy it.

“I hate EV” guy will never buy an EV, ever. They have been too outspoken against it and will lose face if they buy one.

• Explode in how many minutes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Komala on Aug 18, 2023 at 2:31 pm

same explosion as your iPhone battery. inside your pocket. beside your crown jewels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • who am i on Aug 18, 2023 at 1:27 pm

game changer. 10 mins is getting very close to fossil refuelling. and similar to NGV of hey-days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Lanyard on Aug 18, 2023 at 1:58 pm

Bye bye adios sayonara Petronas.

• PETRONAS Refuel 1 min.
        TYT Hydrogen Refuel 5min.
        CATL Electron Refuel 10min

dulu 100x slower, now 10x faster.
        Battery car market worth 10% here, by 2030.

• kapcai on Aug 18, 2023 at 4:33 pm

1 min refuel petronas? kau bawak moto kapcai 80cc dengan fuel tank kecik tin susu ke???

• Big Bear on Aug 18, 2023 at 6:00 pm

With 10 minutes recharge, no need long range battery. About 400 km more than enough. This will cut down on car cost and weight

• Main key words here are “can only be used on CATL high power charger”… are CATL going to build their charging station globally?

• President Xi on Aug 19, 2023 at 10:30 am

China numba one