NKVE RFID toll payments work even when you enter the highway using SmartTAG thanks to ANPR?

Did you know that you can mix and match certain payment methods on entry and exit in closed toll highways? To be specific, you can enter using the SmartTAG lane and exit through the RFID lane. The RFID system is able to match your SmartTAG entry to the RFID exit. We tried this out twice and found that we were charged the correct toll amount instead of a penalty maximum toll charge.

We kinda discovered this by accident one morning by entering the NKVE via Shah Alam through SmartTAG and exiting at Bukit Raja through RFID. We thought we were going to be charged the maximum penalty toll charge but surprisingly, the system recorded our journey as a RFID journey and charged the appropriate toll cost from Shah Alam to Bukit Raja.

We tested to see if this was a fluke by trying it out again with a different car, thus with a different SmartTAG and RFID tag combo. We entered NKVE at Damansara toll plaza, and left the highway at Shah Alam toll plaza. Once again, the system was able to identify our SmartTAG entry and charge us the correct amount.

So how exactly does this work? Actually this should be of no surprise to us as when we checked back our previous stories covering how the RFID system works, PLUS highway has already said that this was possible. You can click here to read our previous story and scroll down to the question “What happens if I enter using TnG or SmartTAG and exit using RFID, and vice versa?”

Basically when you exit at a RFID lane, the system detects your RFID tag. It then checks to see if the RFID tag has entered the highway using the RFID lane.

If there is no RFID entry record, it falls back onto ANPR, which uses the cameras at the entry toll plaza to read your car’s number plate. If the system detects that the car plate registered to the RFID tag has entered the highway at a certain entry toll plaza, it then matches the journey and calculates the toll rate appropriately. This is why it’s important to register the correct number plate to your RFID tag.

The maximum penalty charge issues that you see on social media usually involve mixing the payment methods the other way around – entering via RFID and exiting via SmartTAG. Because all the more advanced background work only works on the RFID system, you end up with a penalty charge if you use the SmartTAG system to exit.

NKVE RFID toll payments work even when you enter the highway using SmartTAG thanks to ANPR?

The PLUS ANPR system is powered by Malaysian company Tapway’s VehicleTrack system. It can read a number plate and detect a car’s class, make and colour in just 50 milliseconds – even when it’s travelling at up to 40 km/h.

Tapway trained and ran its AI models using Nvidia A100 and V100 Tensor Core GPUs. Each GPU can manage up to 50 video streams at once thanks to an Nvidia Triton Interference Server, enabling the ANPR system to process up to 28,800 images a minute on edge servers using Nvidia A10, A30 and T4 GPUs.

Disclaimer – just to recap, we tried this successfully on two particular NKVE toll plaza combos, which is Damansara entry Shah Alam exit, and Shah Alam entry Bukit Raja exit. No guarantees it will work for you, or if ANPR is installed/active at all entry points. The official stance by the highways are to always use the same payment method to enter and exit the highway to avoid penalty charges.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Vedder on Aug 27, 2023 at 6:49 pm

All that… but the rfid sensors are still Stone Age. All cars need to reverse. Nonsense. Stick with TNG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 16
    • Arrma on Aug 28, 2023 at 12:29 am

Just put rfid on number plate 101% will go thru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Tsalesmanv2 on Aug 28, 2023 at 1:10 am

Also can saman that Myvi for using bright fog light
      U can tell by the glare

• Vader on Aug 28, 2023 at 9:43 am

Have you used it? 14/15 working for me. Just a small margin, definitely better than tng. tng every time need to stop. People like you still using stone age tng thats why there is just one rfid lane available. Grow up and use rfid. The future is now old man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Don’t have a problem since day one. Pretty sure you live in a poorly maintain area.

• Peter Ponnudurai on Aug 27, 2023 at 7:00 pm

Never trust both at the same time. Just stick to options to avoid penalty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Just checking, is your T&G charged? Check your statement, not sure if your T&G is considered as incomplete journey and get charged at max rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Matchy on Aug 27, 2023 at 8:52 pm

The TNG card used in the SmartTag, is it linked to TNG eWallet (paydirect)? Because this one more believable as paydirect and rfid are using TNG ewallet.

• KnowLongTimeAgo on Aug 27, 2023 at 10:02 pm

Yup. I’ve discovered long time ago by accident as well. Tried 2nd time to confirm and tried vice versa (enter Smart Tag & exit RFID) as well. Of course, the 2nd experiment set me back extra 2ringgit for max charge (did it at SKVE as the mac is just 4.50). I’ve shared this to my colleagues, but no one dares to try it :) At least now PT has verified it, everyone will try it and hopefully, less car will enter RFID lane. Less reverse forward car stuck at RFID lane. Really miss the time those days using RFID among pilot users. All smooth compared to now.

• The above scenario worked for me (accidental discovery too) from Sg Buloh to Sungkai in early July 2023

• This is how it should be (RFID must work in any lane) if it is the preferred payment choice of the toll operators. And since they want to phase out the Smartag and the old TnG card, options must be such that the toll user makes the right choice.

• This further proves that their RFID is useless because you need Smarttag as backup with the help of ANPR. Might as well use Smarttag all the way.

• who am i on Aug 28, 2023 at 8:59 am

hopefully we can do away with any sticker, tag or cards in the near future. Just use AI to track the car at entry and exits, and automatically charge to an app.

• ExitSmartTag on Aug 28, 2023 at 9:05 am

Anyone tried entered with RFID and exit with smart tag especially those travelling far from Klang Valley?

• Nice, and it should be this way from the start.
    Good Luck to those fancy and non standard car plate.

• Wong Tuck Wai on Aug 28, 2023 at 10:39 am

Kutip kutip sampai suma bankrap lu kaya lain orang makan kangkong.

• macampondan on Aug 28, 2023 at 12:55 pm

The entire payment thing is crap.

Mix here and there and if the road user mistaken the work, will get max penalty charge.

Stupid RFID design, especially passive sensor, bloody crap especially sprint highway rfid toll… so many cars have to reverse due to poor reception.

All in all, never think properly when implementing new tech. and it’s not as if a recent rush job… the entire rfid shit was in the talk since 20yrs ago.

that’s how our country progress. …. snail pace, a looser in the region.

• Raymond on Aug 28, 2023 at 6:08 pm

I was penalised when I entered via RFID and exit via smart tag by mistake , all my money in my smart tag forfeited; zero valued.

• I got the exactly same experience. Entered via RFID and exited with Smart Tag, and got a penalty with maximum charge.
      Both RFID and card are registered under my account.
      Then the portal was down for submitting a refund request, and I had to call CS for assistance, at the same call I asked if it is allowed to mix the payment method between RFID and touchngo card, and the answer was absolutely NO.

• Spyder on Aug 28, 2023 at 6:08 pm

I was penalised when I entered via RFID and exit via smart tag by mistake , all my money in my smart tag forfeited; zero valued.

• Clumsy Driver on Aug 29, 2023 at 12:29 pm

Tried twice by accident and on both scenarios got maximum charges (RM3X.XX). Call up TnG and was given a website where we can file and claim back the over charges. However, i was using RFID TnG card on Smart Tag. I dont know whether if it works on normal TnG card. Both time Entry Point : Subang Jaya, Exit: Setia Alam.

• Laurence Renshaw on Aug 29, 2023 at 1:40 pm

This happened to me a week ago – I entered at Damansara using Smart Tag and exited to the Guthrie using RFID by mistake, and was charged the correct amount.
    This is an essential feature – many of us have Smart Tag and RFID and may forget which one we used to enter the highway.

• AMLA not applicable to T&G on Sep 01, 2023 at 2:34 pm

It did not work for me back in June23 when I entered Duke highway via RFID and existed Subang Jaya using Touch&Go (the reason being the RFID scanner failed to scan my car’s RFID, and I was blocking the cars during evening rush hour, I decided to moved to T&G lane). I was penalised RM30. The system should automatically refund for me but alas T&G is truly money launder :(

• Paul Tan on Sep 01, 2023 at 3:05 pm

As mentioned in the story, only exit via RFID works, not the other way around.

• CL Chan on Sep 02, 2023 at 10:03 am

Please check this. Just abour a week ago I enter via RFID and exit Smartag. From Kuala Selangor Joint to NS exit Jalan Duta , I was charge the Max RM3x.xx can not remember the exact as my balance from RM8x.xx went to RM49. So the above do not work at all.

• Kassim Baba on Sep 06, 2023 at 9:00 am

Tngo lane patut ganti RFID bukan smart tag… dh thn 2023 pun tngo lane Masih bersepah…patut dh x ada…

• D. SAKTHIVEL on Mar 25, 2024 at 12:46 am

The same time as a friend