A statement from the Motorsports Association of Malaysia (MAM) confirms the Drag Bike National ET Record Championship 2023 Road Tour is a non-sanctioned race event. Expressing regret and condolences to the family over the death of motorcycle drag racer Hattem Rashdi, MAM said the event held in Pekan, Pahang, did not receive any form of sanction.
Reiterating that motorsports is dangerous, organisers of motorsports events in Malaysia are reminded safety regulations and protocol should be followed at all times. Motorsports events sanctioned by MAM follow FIA and FIM guidelines as well as National Competition Rules (NCR) with clear instructions to event organisers.
This includes circuit preparation for safety, marshals and race officials, medical teams and insurance coverage for racers, spectators, officials and organisers. Additionally, the Ministry of Youth and Sport, police, the Malaysian Sports Commissioner and MAM are in discussion to streamline and expedite the administration and regulations regarding motorsports events in Malaysia.
RIP bro. You have sacrificed your life to prove that Darwn’s theory is right.
Hopefully can gets some compensation from sponsors
So why did Anwar allow illegal race to happen under his leadership?
The key word here is ‘illegal’
Since when illegal racers need to ask for Anwar’s permission to race?
I remember one dumpster suggesting each
states to have motorbike racing circuit..
Offspring inherit characteristics from their parents – Darwn’s theory
So, the pertinent question to ask is what are the requirements? Should all events be sanctioned? If they must, what will be the fate of the organisers? It is all good and well to point out the status of the event, but will this incident be just a tab in history? Or will it be the dawn of a more organised and safe races in the future?
without full racing suits you’ll know it wasn’t a sanctioned event
Yeah, and with wearing torn jeans, school standard canvas shoes and half gloves for style….Al Fatihah….:(
This is all government’s fault because they were never strict with their illegal racing rules and never punished those who involved.
Exactly bruh.. our deceased friend was from kedah & you got it spot on surely this is all Kedah PN Pas government’s fault..
https://paultan.org/2022/05/22/sungai-petani-racing-circuit-in-kedah-is-on-again-state-govt-to-sell-land-to-finance-rm30-milllion-project/
Agreed. But then, Kedah is in Malaysia, so this all PHBN government’s fault.
That means you admit that kerajaan pusat has to be responsible for everything while kerajaan negeri does not have to take any responsibility, which means that you also admit that kerajaan negeri is useless.
Dear ministers and person with influence, let not the loss of this young man wasted. Do a thorough study on what cause the crash, how this crash results in death, what safety measures we should innovate to improve survival of such crash. Competition regulation change? Rider pre competition assessment b4 race day .. F1 can’t prevent Senna’s death but they learnt from it and we see crashes with wheels still attached to the chassis..not on Senna’s head.. we saw neck support and now halo cage around driver seat.. there are results of previous accidents
In terms of rider safety, MAM doesn’t even implement strict rules and regulations about rider apparel, which includes helmets, race suits, gloves and shoes.
MAM did not implement strict rules and regulations here because – it’s illegal – MAM did not allow this race to run at all.
so how did the organizer managed to obtain the permits to run the event?
Nvm lah…
Plenty of potential rempits around eager to take up the job.
We should encourage all the rempits to participate and ensure they have all the permits, gears, sanctions and whatever they need.
That is a good activity for all of them.
Kampateh yo!!!!
for those who may not know English…
UNSANCTIONED = ILLEGAL (racing)
Agreed. But then, Kedah is in Malaysia, so this all PHBN government’s fault.
Cope harder