Avoid runners’ fees by using our online services – JPJ

The use of runners to handle vehicle-related transactions such as road tax renewal and the transfer of ownership has been around for a good while, but the road transport department (JPJ) says that motorists can save money by doing the necessary themselves via the online route.

According to Penang JPJ director Adenan Md Isa, the public can perform transactions personally, as many services only need a click of the mouse to access, The Star reports. For something like the road tax, he said that users simply have to download the MyJPJ app on their phone and they can then access their road tax digitally.

“If you need a physical copy, come over to the JPJ office and we will have one printed for you at no charge. Then, you do not need the help of a third party, who may charge you more by saying that it is complicated,” he said.

Adenan said while he understood that the older generation might find going digital intimidating, he hoped their children would step up to help them. “We worry that some runners might take advantage of their clients and ask for more money even for easy tasks. Since the owner of the vehicle might be unaware, it is easy to convince them that there is a lot of work involved,” he said.

While this might be true for simpler things such as driving licences and road tax, runners are still very much in demand for transactions such as vehicle inspections, as the report indicated.

Motorist BK Khoo said that going to JPJ or Puspakom to do a vehicle inspection was time consuming, and that a runner familiar with the regulations would make the process a lot simpler. “I do not have the time because of my working hours. So, I paid a runner early this year to send my car for a test at Puspakom when I sold it. The extra money I had to fork out was worth it, as I don’t have to wake up early in the morning and wait my turn,” he told the news publication.

Meanwhile, Edward De Souza, who has been a runner for 30 years, said that despite things going digital, Malaysians still prefer to utilise runners for transactions, many of which were specialised and needed understanding of the required process. These include the transfer of vehicle ownership from deceased owners and number plate retention to a new vehicle.

In the case of the former, he said that the paperwork had to be endorsed by the court before ownership can be transferred. “Unless you do it regularly, you will not know the process,” the 65-year-old explained.

“It is a lengthy procedure for work like number plate retention, where I need to transfer one vehicle’s plate number to another. It requires the buying of a new motorcycle (a vehicle with the lowest price) so that the old number plate can be transferred to the new vehicle. You have to run around and do whatever is required, including having the vehicle thoroughly inspected,” he said.

He said there was also a market from foreigners living in Malaysia who need road tax and insurance for their vehicles. “It is a completely different procedure for them and the process is more difficult, especially if they do not understand the language. I even deal with any issues they may face when transferring ownership of vehicles,” he said.

What’s your take on runners? Would you use them to handle your vehicle-related transactions, or do you think JPJ’s digital route (via MySIKAP) makes it easy enough to attempt the process on your own? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why don’t you spend more time to focus the attitude of your frontline staffs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
    • 4GR-FSE on Sep 11, 2023 at 2:28 pm

They are making things online so that you don’t have to face their “frontline staff” lah. So what is the complain now?
      Moral of the story, it is easier to build an online platform than trying to change their ppl’s attitude…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • You mean you face JPJ staffs before this? Runner is everywhere and job is done. Now they are asking to go JPJ office to collect road tax instead of using runner. You think everyone so free karipap tea time at 9am, 11am, 3pm and 5pm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • 4GR-FSE on Sep 11, 2023 at 9:02 pm

@Ioma, you still collecting physical roadtax? which planet are you from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Squid on Sep 12, 2023 at 3:55 pm

You will still need the physical road tax if you intend to drive across the border.

• Why So Serious on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:31 pm

Planet Singapura where you still need to show physical roadtax.

• 4GR-FSE on Sep 13, 2023 at 10:19 am

@Squid, how many of us need to drive across the border? maybe only 1% of the population or even less..
            The online system is making convenience to 99% of the drivers in our country.. There are always special case that you need to do it manually but for most of the drivers, the system is built to make our life easier. Let’s not argue that it is still not convenient for just 1% of the driver and condemn the entire system.

• Mr Tulan Liow on Sep 12, 2023 at 1:50 pm

This online advice is just wayang je.
          U know the VVIP grand welcome given to runners at Puspakom and JPJ centres,u dont know meh?
          They will never smile at us.poor fools.But when runners appear…oh my gaud…Selamat Datang…5 star service.

• 11.45am Rehat!

• Truckers on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:29 pm

Use online but system down so how? Still need to go see frontline staff lor. At least pakai sopan skit dun wear like gangster or apek or h–ker.

If duwan hassle come to me. Many JPJ abangs are my fren.

• Sohai on Sep 11, 2023 at 2:21 pm

Why we can’t use MyJPJ to renew roadtax? Why still need to use MyEG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Not So High on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:26 pm

Then Wong thean soon duk termenung tunggu durian gugur meh?

• Yeahsure on Sep 11, 2023 at 2:36 pm

you make everything simple takes half a day worth of time to do,runners magically do it in 10 mins,the whole system is so rotten indirectly encouraging us to use runners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • dong gor on Sep 11, 2023 at 2:48 pm

one way to help us save money is allow us to pay online without any charges. sekian

• Ben Yap on Sep 11, 2023 at 2:52 pm

does JPJ officers know they shouldn’t ask drivers for the e-roadtax?

• Dredd on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:35 pm

JPJ officers know they shouldn’t fail students doing E-exam.

• Mike Tee on Sep 11, 2023 at 3:06 pm

My wife is Singaporean and did not grasp the concept of runners. She insisted on doing things herself because she was used to efficient government offices. How difficult can it be? Go to the website, get the checklist, tick it off and everything will be done within KPI and according to SOP right?

She gave up when she found that many (not all) government offices/officers make life as difficult as possible so that you have to use a runner, who probably give them a cut of the fee (my guess).

Oh the checklist you saw on the website? That’s outdated/no relevant. You didn’t bring a photocopy and original of A-Z? Your photocopy is too big, too small, has colour, has no colour, not clear, is centered, not centered. Your document needs certification by Commisioner of Oath.

Go again the next day, another officer will insist on another document. You ask why, and he/she says the previous officer is wrong. Rinse and repeat.

We now use a runner. I welcomed her to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Gomorrah on Sep 11, 2023 at 4:15 pm

The system is inefficient by design – lots of people would be out of work otherwise. This is how you keep the majority populace employed, hopefully off the streets and completely dependent on you. Genius.
      Not advocating for a heartless Singapore style cutthroat system, but there has to be some healthy balance in between.

• Celup King on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:33 pm

A system that employs people is a good system.
        A system that cutthroats and cut jobs is a bad system.
        Lets see which system Anwar chooses.

• Peppa on Sep 11, 2023 at 3:29 pm

What about allocate some of your revenue to revamp your entire website and application from the ground up so that we don’t have to deal with your rude staffs. Malaysia has a lot of skilled I.T youngster but been neglected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Sep 11, 2023 at 3:44 pm

in europe, it will be 3 stars at best.

• Ben Yap on Sep 11, 2023 at 3:45 pm

pay for runner la… let them cari makan also. take it as CSR effort.

• Yalah on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:21 pm

I am not sure it is only the runners you are paying…
      The officers are very efficient and courteos when serving the runners.

• @NotBruceWayne on Sep 11, 2023 at 4:23 pm

Sorry Encik, system offline, try mai esok.

• MURALI Tharan on Sep 11, 2023 at 4:24 pm

Current worse situation to purchase 2nd hand car the dealer charge RM2K for Puspakom inspection fees. Very high runner fees.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 11, 2023 at 5:11 pm

Why not add an option in App for us to pay delivery charge for physical roadtax & driving license.

Or at least allow Pos Office to continue with renewals & physical issuance of roadtax & driving license .

• t333son on Sep 11, 2023 at 5:28 pm

more online? no…

list of issues with some gov websites
    – random down time
    – maintainance offline
    – peak hours offline
    – after office hours offline
    – convoluted and confusing
    – no obvious guide page
    – multiple registration and authentication steps
    – mentions some stuff but no direct link..
    – poor search function in the website
    – upload of documents clumsy with too many size restrictions, format, colour etc ( need IT skills )
    – time out and hv to start all over again , usually either due to system lag or no prior warning of documents needed to be uploaded
    – payment system chaotic ( tak terima ini tak terima itu)

No joke , can take up to 1-3 hours to do a simple task

We have used many online sites fr other countries such as UK, Australia, Spore. Very easy to understand and follow

• Dayang on Sep 11, 2023 at 6:22 pm

Went to JPJ Wangsa Maju today 3 pm, security guard told q no finished. Asked to come tomorrow at 7.30am. What????

• Spot on. Little napoleans are still there

• 1 statement….
    “orang kamu semua , hantu pun kamu semua juga”
    End of the day, sendiri cakap sendiri syiok.

• Levin on Sep 11, 2023 at 10:38 pm

Cmon, doing online now is via MyEG which is the online version of a runner. What’s the use of MyJPJ app if we can just display roadtax & license, but can’t renew via the app? Just add the renewal feature on the app or even JPJ website, then this news post “ Avoid runners’ fees by using our online services – JPJ” is valid. Otherwise it’s just useless.

• OldManDriveS on Sep 11, 2023 at 11:07 pm

Then open JPJ on Saturdays. Make sure transactions are done fast. Make sure all booths have someone working. Make sure the person at the booth doesn’t go 45 minutes break (I’ve suffered this). Make possible to get online appointments instead of going there to take number and wait. Make sure every document is available in other languages too. Don’t close 1 hour for lunch, take turns instead.

So many improvement points to have an efficient service…

• Joanne Loo on Sep 12, 2023 at 4:12 am

been informed Runners for puspakom inspwction BERKALI will cost ADDITIONAL PER VEHICLE.. Apparently d INCREASE was fr inside people (Puspakom) n Runner took.d opportunity too, so-called, for their wages n SO LONG no increment… what d hell is tis?? all in, one time of INSPECTION BERKALA wld costs rm420 easily but condition still needs to b in good condition..otherwise, “compounded” differently.. who is/are these inside Puspakom ppl??? JPJ better look into this issue which is totally UNACCEPTABLE & RIDICULOUS!!;

• PowerofJPJ on Sep 12, 2023 at 11:58 am

Recently, renewes my driving license paid online in jpj website. When collected at jpj padang jawa. Hoping that just collect. Tapi have to queue and go to collection counter no.5 to submit receipt before they process the card. Kenot brain kenapa ada online paid system when i hv to queue together and byr sana je.

• stick on Sep 12, 2023 at 1:14 pm

the app looks like it’s designed by 3 year-old, same goes to all gov websites

• Firdaus on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:19 pm

How not to use runner when different JPJ office in the same state have different rules on the same issue?

Same applies to APAD and Puspakom!

• Shakara on Sep 12, 2023 at 7:31 pm

Waah !!!! Than all the runners become jobless start doing illegal job meh !!! ……Now the runners earning as middle man to build another KLCC……

• Kishore on Sep 12, 2023 at 7:36 pm

Mr. Transport Minister , do you know how many runners become jobless……Survey 1st before what to do any updates…..

• This full of bullshit lazy bum all this fella jpj

• Jegathesan on Sep 14, 2023 at 1:12 am

I am 84. I just did the Road Tax renewal online a few days ago. No hassle

• Dayang on Sep 15, 2023 at 7:48 am

Went to JPJ for 2nd time this week yesterday. JPJ UTC Keramat open until 8.30pm but by 3pm q number finished. Security guard told to to come back at 5pm to get q no. What???