Klang Valley bus services to increase – Anthony Loke

The number of buses serving the Klang Valley will be increased, transport minister Anthony Loke Siew Fook said, according to BFM. Just 766 buses currently operate in the Klang Valley daily, compared to the 4,000 buses required for the efficient service required, Loke said.

Of buses under Rapid Bus, only 900 out of the fleet’s 1,757 units are in active operation, and the transport ministry added that 45% of all buses are more than 10 years old and are in need of repair and maintenance works. The transport ministry aims to have at least 1,000 buses operating by the end of this year, the minister added.

“Some 150 Rapid KL buses are still being maintained and can be put back into service. In addition, we are appointing new bus operators,” Loke continued, adding that the transport ministry – through the land public transport agency (APAD) – will coordinate bus service routes to be more integrated in the future.

There are three different bus services currently operating in the Klang Valley, namely Rapid Bus, the free-of-charge GoKL bus service under Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) and the Smart Selangor bus service under the Selangor state government, reported Bernama.

“We need to coordinate their routes to be more integrated and not overlap. We hope this integration and collaboration can help provide a smoother, more efficient bus service and increase the number of passengers,” the transport minister said.

Since the start of bus lane trials in the city centre along Jalan Ampang from July 3 this year, there has been a 12% increase in the number of bus passengers, from 12,936 to 14,523 passengers a day, saving around 20 minutes compared to using private cars, Loke said.

“From my observation, although there are bus lanes, many private cars still enter these lanes and cause inconvenience for the buses. The matter will be discussed further at the Cabinet meeting on traffic congestion next month, Loke continued.

The bus lane trial covers a 3 km stretch from the Risda building to the Jalan Tun Razak intersection, and is in place during the 6am to 9am peak hours on weekdays.

Rapid Bus CEO Muhammad Yazurin Sallij said at the time that 36 buses will be utilised during the six-month trial run along Jalan Ampang, comprising double-decker buses for Route 300 and DS01 as well as nine single-deck buses for Route 303, with bus frequency double from before the trial run.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Increase all you want. Just make sure the bus drivers do not cut queue. Orang lain nak cepat jugak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Karen on Sep 13, 2023 at 11:31 am

One bus probably 20 person alright to cut the Karen one car one person. Waste Karen’s 5 minutes but saved bus passengers 20*5 minutes.

• LRT User on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:05 pm

What a joke! This coming from that man whole chopped the LRT3, delayed MRT2, froze MRT3, rerouted ECRL, cancelled HSR, and nearly cancelled KVDT. He is as far from public transportation as Pluto is to the Sun, unless he can rect some publicity for himself.

• you think transport minister is omnipotent? on Sep 16, 2023 at 7:35 pm

not even the prime minister himself would have the authority and power to do all the above that you claimed, let alone a lowly transport minister.

• stasta on Sep 16, 2023 at 7:41 pm

such decision that’s above the transportation minister power . it would have been decided by PM and cabinet whether to cancel such projects

• Sohai on Sep 13, 2023 at 9:56 am

Bring back the mini bus!

• Qdees on Sep 13, 2023 at 10:00 am

Pakai Rapid APP for Bus Arrival Time

• Yet still no bus service at Bdr Saujana Putra

• anonymous on Sep 13, 2023 at 10:55 am

good progress. i think the one major flaw about malaysia’s public transportation is the connectivity. hoping more bus services to connect neighborhoods to train stations on top of this added service on current routes.

• Some suggestions for better drivability on Sep 13, 2023 at 11:14 am

Dear Loke, hope this msg can reach u. Plz use mini bus instead of large bus as road in kl ctr already narrow, worsen with bicycle lane. Plz use traffic light with countdown timer in the city, as current 1 not enough time for driver to response especially when view block by large buses. Enforce dedicated drop/pickup point for ehailing in the city ctr, by working with those company, so they can hv a safely drop/pickup instead. Hope my little suggestions can further improve the traffic in the city ctr. tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • the most important is the service at the last mile…ie from housing areas to the station (lrt/mrt)….if this is efficient, ppl will take public transport instead of stuck in the traffic gridlock daily….

• Utilize ehailing for last mile. on Sep 13, 2023 at 1:46 pm

i think ehailing already 1 of the option for tht. But as told by my fren who doing grad, grad revised rate put them in a very difficult situation, just earn enough to cover for the cost due to low fare. As i googled, the rate is even lower compare to grad thai. Pity him as he got no other way to earn for a living after layoff. Can Loke do something to help these honest drivers?

• Peppa on Sep 13, 2023 at 11:59 am

Yeah but I am not keen on riding a bus with immigrants. Can you provide a bus that is specifically for locals?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • the driver on Sep 13, 2023 at 12:24 pm

Yeah, and screw you. Aren’t we all immigrants to some aspect. Arrogant comment.
      The environmental heroes are those who use m-cycles. The amount of fuel saved and road space saved is unbelievable indeed. Compared to the SUVs and MPVS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • They r EVERYWHERE!! on Sep 13, 2023 at 12:41 pm

this is the problem with our country. Y immigrants r everywhere? There r using the facilities for local ,especially funded by tax payer! I myself dont take bus/lrt bcoz of this. Their hygiene, and like to stick to ppl back when queue. Make our country like 3rd world…Plzlah gment, restrict them to certain industry only, eg agriculture..dont let them work in retail, mall..wat will be the impression when tourist see all banglas maining the shops ..??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Not racist but too many is no good for us! on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:39 pm

the problem cause by lack of enforcement & greedy ppl. They brought here to fill in the 3D jobs, but end up working in place where shd be offer to locals. The cons of this, huge amount of money outflow to their own countries affecting our RM. Some even run their own biz w/o license. Local deprive of job opportunity and unable to raise min income due to competition from them. Fyi, Taiwan min wage is rm4k(usd855) compare to msia rm1.5k. https://hrmasia.com/taiwan-officially-approves-minimum-wage-raise/

• anonymous on Sep 13, 2023 at 12:45 pm

ooof the racism…

• PlainBS on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:06 pm

This is what happens when DAP led PH comes to rule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
      • stasta on Sep 16, 2023 at 7:40 pm

its not racism per se. the original poster didn’t target any specific race, he generally anti all immigrants.

• anonymous 2 on Sep 13, 2023 at 2:35 pm

Entitled mentality. Pathetic

• Yeahsure on Sep 13, 2023 at 2:58 pm

i mean i dont know you , but pretty sure u either came from north or west culturally , so unless you are an orang asli who have been here for centuries , your ancestors came here on boats as well…also , without those immigrants you seem to despise , this country will be , at most , on par with Botswana…also , you are a retarded chicken for being this filthy behind keyboards , try and say that opinion in the open , see if your racist axx can take a rod

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • stasta on Sep 16, 2023 at 7:39 pm

he is not wrong tho immigrants don’t pay taxes so why should they be entitled to use the bus service which is subsidised by our taxes?