Tesla wooed by Saudi Arabia and Turkiye for factory

Work to build Tesla’s latest confirmed factory in Mexico hasn’t even started yet, but there have been many rumours flying around on where the next Tesla factory site is.

Nevermind the constant tug of war between Malaysia and Indonesia for a factory in this region – today itself there has been two Tesla factory related news.

The first is news from WSJ that Saudi Arabia is in talks with Tesla about setting up a factory there, as part of its effects to diversity away from dependence on oil. According to WSJ, part of the carrot that Saudi Arabia is offering is the right to purchase rare metals and minerals needed to manufacture EVs.

Saudi Arabia’s Public Investment Fund also has a big stake in Tesla’s competitor Lucid, and has also established a joint venture EV company with Foxconn called Ceer Motors, planning to sell EVs with technology licensed from BMW.

It was also reported today that Turkiye president Recep Tayyip Erdogan also invited Musk to build a Tesla factory in the country. The Turkish leader met Tesla CEO Musk in New York while Erdogan was in the US for the UN General Assembly.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• He Long Must on Sep 18, 2023 at 7:30 pm

Wow wow so many suitors! I’m flattered so many countries want me to open a giga factory.

• Meanwhile your delusional PM thought it was a big thing for me to come setup a showroom and sales office. Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Ropes & Gray LLP on Sep 19, 2023 at 6:53 pm

Fake Elon gave slander statement is marked and under closed surveillance.

• Come bite me chum. I got my Starlink to put dirt on your sad sad existence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Assange on Sep 19, 2023 at 10:45 pm

Just using vpn not secure enough. Should only use huawei or zte blocks CIA no back-door access you ok

• Bring You Danger on Sep 18, 2023 at 9:31 pm

BYD: Bojio….
    Turkey Yeaaa: Bei yan diu la lei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • 5.5G users on Sep 18, 2023 at 10:35 pm

Manufacture peanut oil? AFAIK opening too many factories begets oversupply.

• over supply=cheap tesla on Sep 23, 2023 at 3:09 pm

over supply is good, later we can can buy tesla for cheap 118k

• Elon Musk on Sep 19, 2023 at 12:08 am

Fake news: https://twitter.com/elonmusk/status/1703790503286972701

• L news on Sep 19, 2023 at 7:58 am

https://x.com/elonmusk/status/1703790503286972701?s=46&t=JWXkn3vjwofxD52UXsGePQ