2023 Le Tour de Langkawi road closures – 27, 29 Sept

Police Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department (JSPT) Selangor announced road closures and diversions for the 2023 Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) bicycle race. Closures are expected during the fifth to eighth race stages from September 27 to 29 with the race itself beginning September 23 in Kertih, Kuala Terengganu.

For Stage 5 on September 27, an 87.5 kilometre stretch of road beginning at Behrang Station will be closed from 10 a.m. The route passes through Proton City, Kampung Kerliang, Kerling, Rasa, Kuala Kubu Bharu, Batang Kali, Serendah, Rawang bypass, Batu Caves on the MRR2 and the old Gombak Road before ending at Genting Sempah.

On September 30, Stage 8 flags off at noon from Setia City Convention Centre (SCCC) heading to KLCC. The route from SCCC goes through Persiaran Mokhtar Dahari, Puncak Alam, Jalan Bukit Cerakah, Meru, Kapar, Jeram, Sg Buloh, Assam Jawa, Kuala Selangor, Jalan Bukit Belimbing, Jalan Raja Musa, Jalan Rawang, Jalan Bukit Badong, Bestari Jaya, Kampung Sungai Perlong, Paya Jaras, Jalan Kuala Selangor, MRR2, and ending at Jalan Ampang.

The stage route will closed an hour ahead of race start and rolling road blocks will be in place throughout with roads reopening after the peloton passes. “The public are advised to plan journeys and follow instructions of police on duty,” urged JSPT Selangor.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Tour De Rakyat on Sep 21, 2023 at 12:10 pm

but they dont pay roadtax…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • kerongmerong on Sep 22, 2023 at 3:00 am

why do cyclists need to pay tax?

• Roti Canai on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:15 pm

Open up your mind abit, dont be so stupid, always came out with such dumb comment…

• cyclist groupies on Sep 21, 2023 at 12:30 pm

Hooray! we been practicing on the public roads and highways many moons especially prepared for this big event.

• This event is getting smaller n smaller. I was involved in the 1st Le Tour de Langkawi n it started in Langkawi n it involved all the states in Peninsular Malaysia…I think it took about 15 days to finish the tour. But now, ity no more a glamour event!!!

• Ben Yap on Sep 21, 2023 at 3:36 pm

the bicycles ridden by these cyclist is more expensive than most B40 and M40’s car.

• Phuddi sung Lee on Sep 21, 2023 at 4:59 pm

Terrible traffic jams on these specified dates, rakyat suffer who cares, gomen wan to fill their pockets with $$$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Confine them to Langkawi on Sep 21, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Why inconvenience the public with all these riders?Just confine them to Langkawi island.Now u close n stop traffic all over msia just for them .Look at the 2 souls who died,at Putrajaya.Yes,the lorry driver is clearly at fault..it could be avoided if we do not have all these peninsular road closures.Just let them roam Langkawi island kao kao.Even if got accidents,it is easier to control in that island.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Eh LTDL still on? I though sudah kena strike off from UCI because of unpaid prize and debts??

• gangully on Sep 22, 2023 at 4:50 pm

These events are celebrated in most other countries as it brings a spill-over effect to the economy of the country. People come out in droves at start and finish lines to support the riders as they sprint or finish a gruelling 150+km track each day. But in Malaysia, what do we get, Rakyat suffers, they don’t pay road tax etc. Susah sangat lah suffer for a few hours. That’s why they come up with these notices, so take alternative routes…

• Roti Canai on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:50 pm

This event is just once a year, i dont understand why you guys make it such a huuhaa…open up your mind & accept the fact that this is a sport event that will bring some good vibes to the nation…^& stop bringing up the stupid roadtax matters…probably you all are bunch of lazy people that never do any sports & taking care of your health …Peace…

• willie on Sep 23, 2023 at 9:29 pm

short pants saman waiting for you at Langkawi

• This event is getting smaller n smaller. I was involved in the 1st Le Tour de Langkawi n it started in Langkawi n it involved all the states in Peninsular Malaysia…I think it took about 15 days to finish the tour. But now, ity no more a glamour event!!!