Gov’t has no plans to implement a vehicle end-of-life policy, will not discourage ownership of such vehicles

Yet once more, the government says there are no plans to implement an end-of-life vehicle policy, nor will it discourage the ownership of private vehicles that have reached the end of their useful life, despite the country’s goal to reduce carbon emissions and move towards electrification, the New Straits Times reports.

According to transport minister Anthony Loke, the country’s social economomic growth and its condition must be considered before a final decision on such a matter can be taken. “Unlike some other developing countries, we do not have a policy for end-of-life vehicles at the moment, as we need practical reasons (for the implementation of the policy),” he said.

“We cannot just implement a policy to discourage the owning of these vehicles. (And) while we are aware that we have (to do our part) to contribute to the reduction of carbon emission, we must also be practical in terms of looking into the status of our social economic development,” he explained.

Loke said this to reporters when asked whether the government had any plans to introduce a vehicle end of life (ELV) policy that could control the use of such vehicles, as part of the effort to reduce carbon emissions in the country.

He said there were more than 30 million registered vehicles in the country, with 15 million of these consisting of motorcycles. Given that high number, he said the government would ensure that a holistic and comfortable environment was established should the policy be implemented in the future

“We want to ensure that we do not create an environment or condition where our people cannot afford these changes. Hence, any changes must be guided, and the government is actively assisting in making them. Such changes like this also take time and it will be inconvenient for the people if we do not allow the use of end-of-life vehicles (in the country),” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dah Menang Semua on Oct 26, 2023 at 10:24 am

To go Green entirely
    Allow EV conversion
    Wiralotion-III Gen

• Sohai on Oct 26, 2023 at 10:34 am

This is the correct move. Many of our citizen cannot afford to keep changing new cars in very 10-15 years. Putting food on the table and a roof over the head takes priority over a new car. Maybe just need a mandatory yearly inspection for cars >20 years to ensure their road worthiness

• alibaba902 on Oct 26, 2023 at 10:47 am

yeah rite, then pls repair or service your old junk before riding on the road, stop giving out problem such, jamming half way and block the whole lane create traffic jam.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 26, 2023 at 11:16 am

thank you. however should make it a rule that cars need to be roadworthy. so many cars on the road which are a hazard to other motorists (no brake light, bad brakes etc)

• YB Anthony on Oct 26, 2023 at 12:13 pm

Ahlokekor…don’t ever,ever entertain this idea of lifespan car expiry…we r not Spore.Those struggling kampong folks with manageable boleh pakai old junks will march to your office n mogok besar besaran.

• Mr Mar on Oct 26, 2023 at 1:44 pm

The amount of abandoned old cars parked at flats & apartments is a breeding place for mosquitos

• Mat Sosioekonomi on Oct 26, 2023 at 2:49 pm

Looks like we will be seeing even more ancient broken down sagas on the road

• hazri on Oct 26, 2023 at 3:07 pm

the problem with old car 15-25 years car, majority have no insurance and even road tax. if have, they insured very low. if accident occured, all garu kepala. i saw last 2 week old wira drive very fast on highway.

• Nurul Izzah on Oct 26, 2023 at 3:16 pm

Anwar menang, jalan raya selamat

• Toxic Fuel-Cell recycling plant operator on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:03 pm

used cars recon cars quantity ballooning inside used car dealership compound

• Bob Mal on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:47 pm

Ah Loki you might as well say yeah we will continue this in order to win election and what is the point to have emissions & safety standards you might as well remove all of it and make Plastic Cars too.

Sadly this is Malaysia all talk but no one dares to do what is right its ok because its Malaysia Boleh surely.

• ThePolygon on Oct 27, 2023 at 4:14 pm

Damn.. when they actually say no … that means it’s coming.