Use of a mobile phone while driving is now a compoundable offence, a reversal of a 2020 police instruction which called for a mandatory court appearance. In 2020, police announced using a cellphone without the aid of a holder or hands-free kit while driving was no longer a compoundable offence which meant that you had to attend court for the offence.
The offence under Rule 17A of the Road Traffic Rules 1959 calls for a fine of up to RM1,000 or imprisonment of up to three months, and the penalties are doubled for repeat offenders.
A source found this out when attending court this morning to answer for the offence. Those who received a court summons in September where an appearance was compulsory can compound the offence to a maximum of RM300, 10 days after the court date.
A check with our source in the Traffic Investigation and Enforcement Department (JSPT) revealed the decision to allow mobile phone offences to be compounded is recent but was unable to provide paultan.org with a specific date. This is good news in a way as it saves time for offenders, but this doesn’t mean you should be driving while using your mobile phone.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
You mean previously it only punishable by advice?
Tesla cars can drive by itself. Driver can use phn
Well done PH gomen, you just incentivise more people to use phones will driving and not paying attention! Bloody shits!
Dumbass it still fault using phone while driving and ur can been compound rm300…it just u don’t need attend court for this type fault
What else would anyone expect from PlainBS other than just plain BS?
Previously it was a court appearance for the errant driver. Now it’s compoundable, i.e. you get a summon. Previously no summon, straight go to court and the judge will decide. “punishable by advice” — what are you, 5 years old? honestly, the stupidity online is amazing.
Why the u turn ? Just stick to the blardy rules.
Many drivers r more cautious now,cos they dont want the hassle of going to court,n may even be jailed if the hakim happens to be in “bad mood”.
If authorities r serious in deterring handphone driving,dont backtrack.
Once u backtrack..u send the wrong message again n innocent lives r lost if the driver veered into opposite lanes by not being handsfree.
It’s a lawbreaker-friendly government. What do we expect. Everyone knows which faction of the govt is being financed by the Chinese underworld.
Well said. I stand with the decision that the offender should be sent to court. This will deter the irresponsible idiot who’s driving to maddle with the mobile.
I have personally seen a female driver using her mobile from a distance exceeding 1 over km.
This happen at 8.00pm along LDP from Taman Mayang to Taman Megah.
She was practically scrolling through her phone while driving. Occasionally looking up at the slow traffic flow.
It’s self centered/irresponsible idiot’s like this who cause problems to the “general public”.
I don’t feel safe on the road after seeing so many driverz using their phone while driving.
Police BUSY with normal Rakyat who have to EARn their Wages when travelling ? Whilst Over loaded lorries and Buses , Dangerous Drivers, Etc run amok on the roads ???
Prepare for more horrible accidents after this due to driver eyes looking to their phone screen to watch youtube videos or read/reply whatsapp messages while driving.
‘The offence under Rule 17A of the Road Traffic Rules 1959 calls for a fine of up to RM1,000 or imprisonment of up to three months, and the penalties are doubled for repeat offenders.’
‘..but this doesn’t mean you should be driving while using your mobile phone.’
The above are 2 important points from the above news article. Unfortunately, there are self proclaimed ‘legal experts’ in the comments section who claim that there has been a u-turn as if the said piece of legislation has been repealed, which is untrue. This piece of news is about the legal procedures when dealing with this road traffic offence, with its legislation & its penalties still intact.
X perlu nk bg esplanation ilmiah sgt. Semua org faham pun. Yg jd masalah skrg, kalau dah x ke court, mmg le saman tetap saman. Tp mana lg yg susah, g court ke kene saman? Tentu la pegi court. Dan pemandu akan elak kan buat salah sbb xnk pegi court. Ni kalau setakat saman je, ingat ada org kisah? Tu yg pembaca lain komen dan marah dgn keputusan bodoh mcm ni.
Sepatutnya kita semua dah dididik dari kecil lagi supaya jangan melanggar undang2. Oleh itu, jika ada org yg tak takut kena saman tapi lebih takut dihadapkan ke mahkamah, maknanya org tu yg ada masalah, bukan undang2 yg bermasalah.
Pls reduce the DUI sentense too.
The harder the law, the more power you give to the law enforcement officer. That section needs cleaning up before you give them such power.
Bodoh. Encouraging ppl to play wt hp while driving.
Misleadingly and confusing title
Should make these running red light motobodo a non-compoundable instead. They are rampant nowadays. Almost 80% of these bodo run red light every day.
Dumbass it still fault using phone while driving and ur can been compound rm300…it just u don’t need attend court for this type fault
That’s a great idea to decrease the population of the younger generation. Bill Gates and Klaus Schwab will be pleased.
Totally stupid decision. Supposed to penalised and punished more severe. Simply stupid! Saman yg berlambak sedia ada pun ramai yg xnk bayar. Apa beza dgn yg ni? Dah bagus da pemandu x berani nk pegang hp masa drv dan skrg, dah xpe. Sbb, saman je pun.. Bkn kene g court.. Cmon la.
Should maintain the 2020 ,Rm1000 fine and court hearing!! Or prison sentence
Too many dumbass play phone and drive and causes near miss accident
Isn’t that most newer car nowadays equipped with Bluetooth handsfree system?