No U-turn on women’s coach on trains despite criticism, will be expanded to other lines – Loke

There will be no U-turn on the recent move to introduce women’s coaches on trains, says transport minister Anthony Loke. He said that the majority of daily commuters on public transport are women, and during peak hours, safety is a concern among females.

“According to data from Prasarana and Touch n Go, 62& of daily users of public transport are women. During peak hours, the issue of safety has become a concern for many female riders. Hence the women’s coach was introduced on the Rapid KL MRT Kajang Line, and it will be introduced on other lines too,” he said. “This is a right initiative, we’ll defend it despite the criticism,” the Seremban MP added.

A couple of months ago, Loke said that there was an increase in cases of sexual harassment on trains. “The introduction of women-only coaches is due to the fact that we are seeing an increase in case of sexual harassment on trains. During rush hour, women have to ride on overcrowded trains and sometimes there is physical contact,” he said.

Those who commute daily on trains, what do you think of women’s coaches? My two sen is that it’s a great move if it makes female riders feel safer, and men should respect it and not encroach into the designated cars.

But now that the coaches and platforms are reserved and clearly marked (with frequent announcements in trains too so no one can claim ignorance), ladies should proceed to the women’s coach and not take up space in the other coaches. Many are quick to lambast thick skinned men caught sitting in the pink zone, and rightly so, but perhaps the ladies can bertimbang rasa too. Let’s all respect each other.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sajat Tiffany Karen Club on Nov 20, 2023 at 7:08 pm

It’s great move to separate your grandma and grandpa into different train coach.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 21
    • Susu sajat cap ayam on Nov 20, 2023 at 10:46 pm

Or you can cross dress like a drag queen just like me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • YB Hassan Leena on Nov 21, 2023 at 2:27 pm

Be careful, cross dressing like drag queen may attracts pengkid courting you

• Hantu Raya on Nov 21, 2023 at 7:51 pm

Just identify as a woman. Gender is a socially constructed spectrum what…

• Good move, but women shouldn’t be allowed in Normal coaches to be fair

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 4
  • OtakBukanUdang on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:15 pm

It’s great move to separate married couples, lovers, grandparents, children, kids and etc. Typical kuno thinking. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • Holy Man wannabe on Nov 20, 2023 at 10:28 pm

Mesia sekarang kan zaman jahiliah. Banyak pentaksub & penunggang yg memesong. Kalau tak asing laki pompuan tak tau la apa jadinya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Taliban on Nov 21, 2023 at 4:53 pm

Puak Pas geng is very happy. Finally we manage to brain wash ah loke.

• ROTI CANAI on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:50 pm

IF ONLY WE CAN ASK ALL TO WOMAN TO GO TO THE FEMALE COACHES AND NOT CROWD THE MALE COACHES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Pokemandingo on Nov 20, 2023 at 9:50 pm

This is gender discrimination.

• Supervisor of your sky deity on Nov 21, 2023 at 2:16 pm

Human species has gone against the will of Deus and law of of creation. Deus should had created unisex human species instead no more current separation of sex issue

• melayu bumi on Nov 20, 2023 at 11:03 pm

since 62% of user is women, 38% of user is men, i think its better to build a men only coach to keep safe of the public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Hantu Raya on Nov 21, 2023 at 12:06 am

Get woke, go broke.

• Human rights on Nov 21, 2023 at 2:13 am

We also need a coach dedicated to h0m05e×u@Ls. I do not understand why our country, which emphasize human rights and freedoms in response to the tragedy of brotherly countries recently, refuse to recognize the existence of these groups on the ground and even categorize them as a cancer on society. On the contrary, those who commit crimes legally or take advantage of loopholes in the law to commit crimes call the shots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • anti sex crime on Nov 21, 2023 at 7:40 am

There are comments that coaches for only women will separate separate married couples, lovers, grandparents, families with children, etc. However, on weekdays which are most days of the week, most women on the trains travel alone to & from work & they are the ones who are likely to be targeted by sex offenders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Psychiatric Faculty on Nov 21, 2023 at 2:19 pm

99% sex offender has childhood trauma too much brain washed abused from lily gen school.

• They must have recently let you out. on Nov 21, 2023 at 7:58 pm

You must have learnt this when you were institutionalized.

• implying the men here are perverts like japanese?

• Kea Was on Nov 21, 2023 at 8:19 am

Well sure if you do realise that we allows underage marriage at some states and even rape can be settled with marriage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Peppa on Nov 21, 2023 at 12:51 pm

What about the “dia sakit” chinese man? Clearly shows banning underage marriage will not solve the issue, idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Sigh... on Nov 21, 2023 at 9:04 am

Byk tgk hamster tu le jd nya…

• Hantu Raya on Nov 21, 2023 at 7:54 pm

What’s wrong with hamsters? I used to have a few. What’s wrong with them?

• newme on Nov 21, 2023 at 8:56 am

People from the poorest states would not like it.

• Vedder on Nov 21, 2023 at 9:02 am

This is all for their ESG ratings. It’s totally stupid. If women feel scared about being harassed, then why do they take up space in the general coach? Stick to the female coaches only. If it’s already full. Wait for the next train.

• EV enthusiasts on Nov 21, 2023 at 9:22 am

i can’t believe someone actually think that they have to separate men and women through different coach lmao. They have a choice god damn it, if you feel safe or if they are someone to protect you on trains you can go ahead and ride the general coaches.

• Aikon on Nov 21, 2023 at 9:38 am

I think you guys are missing the point. Those coaches are basically for women travelling alone and act as a safeguard for their safety. No, not all guys are perverts but prevention is better than cure right? If they are a couple or with parents, by all means go into the mix coaches.

• Totally agree, so far only you understand the intention. I think JPJ or LRT need more marketing to educate people

• MostHensenMan on Nov 22, 2023 at 6:59 pm

It was a stupit move. No need marketing. Go learn from other countries. First, I want to know where is the sex offenders? Never read any news in Media also. Any court cases or action taken? Secondly, who is after Malaysian womens here? Most are ugly as fck. Men in Malaysia has better taste. You are not in school anymore to separate women and man. Brainless kids!

• Marginalized Man on Nov 21, 2023 at 9:48 am

Since u want to segregate coaches for women, why don’t you provide men-only coaches also?

• Besi Busuk on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:00 am

Go study other countries please idiot minister of transport. Try to understand why no country in the world separate coaches by gender for daily commute you muppet.

If Japan, south Korea, Singapore, NY, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, China etc. don’t do that for daily commute trains, don’t do that you muppet minister…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Ben Yap on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:17 am

to be fair, women shouldn’t be allowed on take other coaches except for women’s coach. this will leave more space for men.

• Brader Jat on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:31 am

It will be fair if they charge higher ticket price to women since they will have a dedicated women coach and additional security for reinforcement.

• Hantu Raya on Nov 21, 2023 at 7:57 pm

Then the feminazis here would cry this is a “pink tax”.

• Public Transport User on Nov 21, 2023 at 10:40 am

It is already packed as is, now add further segregation.. sigh

• I don’t understand why most people object the idea, the intention is to protect women safety, especially those travelling alone. Men have issue with less women in the mix coaches?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • u frequent mrt rider or not? go try n see urself. peak hour they dont even bother to go pink coaches, they Q n congested the normal coaches

• Tkl, Senior Citizen on Nov 21, 2023 at 12:08 pm

1) Couches for ladies r gd, but v still see ladies moved into men’s sections, tats not very fair.
    2) Y Prasarana hv no thoughts or introducing couche sections for Senior Citizens, no nd men & ladies separations???
    3) another question, y Prasarana or whoever authority has no kind consideration of offering senior citizens concession on My50? Say providing senior citizens w My30???

• Mandy on Nov 21, 2023 at 12:19 pm

1) provide ladies couch section is gd.
    But still v see ladies enter into men’s sections, is this fair?
    2)y Prasarana did not provide “senior citizens” sections,?
    3) y Prasarana or whoever authority did not provide concession on My50 to senior citizens, say, My30 instead, to senior citizens???

• RejimKejamGanas on Nov 22, 2023 at 2:06 am

To the clowns not understanding why this is a bad idea. This has been implemented before on KTM Kommuter and Intrakota. It did not work because it does not prevent perverts from harassing women. Is another woman going to stand up for another woman, when she is being harassed in the women’s coach? What about women being harassed in the waiting areas and the bus stops? You are just moving the goalposts for perverts. It has not worked before and it is not going to work this time. What is really needed is education and enforcement. You should have police or security personnel monitoring waiting areas, educate the public to stand up/protect others or report these incidents. Security personnel must also take such reports seriously and act on it. If you have idiots questioning a woman’s modesty after an incident or treat the matter lightly, it would only embolden perpetrators regardless of the useless measures you implement. Loke has not done his homework or is taking shortcuts that does not address the real issues. Another good example of useless ministers in this Madanon gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Gay/Bi/Homo/Les Org on Nov 22, 2023 at 7:04 pm

Gomen also should provide dedicated coach for Gay, Lesbian, Homo, BI and etc. Pls provide for Men too. Mens also get sexually abused by others. If women get special in everything, they definitely should kneel down to Man and should not talk about equality. Period!