Proton looking to expand volume by exporting beyond ASEAN – Tg Malim aims 500k production, 50% export

Proton is looking to greatly increase its production volume to 500,000 units, of which 50% are destined for export markets. This was revealed by Proton CEO Dr Li Chunrong during a press conference at the recent launch of the Proton S70.

This comes following a question posed to Li, who was asked by paultan.org on why Proton is taking so long to penetrate into the Thailand and Indonesia markets when it was previously reported that Geely wants Proton to be one of the top three automakers in the ASEAN region.

Li responded by first highlighting Thailand and Indonesia’s vehicle production figures which are well over a million units. He then pointed out that competition is a lot more intense in those markets compared to in Malaysia. “So, if you want to compete there, you must be ready with your product, this is important,” said Li.

The Proton CEO also acknowledged that the company’s previous entry into Thailand and Indonesia wasn’t highly fruitful. “Because we lost before in Thailand and Indonesia. So, we don’t want to easily to lose a second time, so we must prepare, then we can go.

Li then pointed out that there are plenty of other markets for Proton to explore, adding that it is possible to expand the number of markets the company can export to. He went on to say that Proton’s two shareholders – DRB-Hicom (50.1%) and Geely (49.9%) are discussing to produce 500,000 cars in Malaysia, with 50% being for exports. “As management, we must support. The world is huge, [there’s] not only Indonesia and Thailand,” Li ended.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• fudgemesideways on Dec 06, 2023 at 10:52 am

Still remember they aim for this since back during Proton Saga days…

• Jaguh Global on Dec 06, 2023 at 3:25 pm

Better beat off Perodua here first than daydreaming wanna beat Toyota on global scale.

• Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Dec 06, 2023 at 7:17 pm

As long as the DRB “controlled” suppliers keep supplying parts without price reduction of 3o%,P1 can only daydream it can hit half a million units.
        UP till today,we r still hearing of parts “konking” within 6 to 12 months.The quality is still suspect.
        The local suppliers r the ones that got all the bailout “RnD’ funds worth billions of Tax Ringgit.
        Geely Dr.Li has to take ponstan quite often to kill his headaches due to a supply chain that is overkill in terms of pricing.
        Remember,at one point ,these same suppliers were crying croc tears that they go bust if P1 dont pay them on time.So P1 lobbyied for “R N D ” funds,within weeks…P1 use these tax Rm ” supposedly” for research,to pay these recalcitrant suppliers.
        P1,u can only fool rakyat once…never,never twice.

• Dah Menang Semua on Dec 07, 2023 at 8:25 am

P2’s 2023 target = 314K

https://paultan.org/2023/01/31/perodua-2023-sales-production-investment-forecast/

• Kea Was on Dec 06, 2023 at 11:03 am

Now Proton can only sell to other less developed country (excluding Brunei) because it seems like they could look up to us just like we look up to contijap cars and Indonesia & Thailand no longer fit into this category thanks to government policy intervention of the past and continuing on today.

Anyhow we are still in the losing end for Proton as even Suadi/Russia received the updated 1.5L TGDi 4 Cyl engine which has better output and fuel efficiency while we are stuck with the 1.5L-T 3 Cyl engine which will be carried over to the export market too.

• MB Sanusi on Dec 06, 2023 at 5:05 pm

My own PAS clan preferred Merc, bmw takpon Alphard… proton kita mmg tkkan pandang. Ahaks

• Malaysia boleh on Dec 06, 2023 at 11:09 am

Proton boleh!

• Anonymous on Dec 06, 2023 at 11:25 am

Comments test

• Yeahsure on Dec 06, 2023 at 1:58 pm

Dont tell me u gonna put that 1.5 3 cylinder in all of those 500k units

• Peppa on Dec 06, 2023 at 1:59 pm

What a joke being a rebadge company.

• Afiq Aziz on Dec 06, 2023 at 5:00 pm

Selling to Geely was a joke because they only have 49.9 ownership, DRB stil holds 50.1% and DRB is only following instruction from the government anyway. Should have sold to Peugeot at 50.1%. They would have done a far better job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Proton not Ready Yet on Dec 06, 2023 at 5:28 pm

Salary too high, little productive

After S50 launch sure WORLD numba One

• Fuh,500,000 unit. That time all proton staff get 10 months bonus at the end of dec

• Jaguh Global on Dec 06, 2023 at 6:20 pm

Solid proof that Proton don’t need tongkat anymore. MITI should remove car tax excise duties immediately.

• Syed mokhtar will bring down madani if his monopolies in proton, bernas, sugar, ipp are abolished.

• David on Dec 06, 2023 at 9:47 pm

Sembang kari

• Sohai on Dec 07, 2023 at 10:28 am

Even you have the capacity to make the cars, can you sell them?
    Geely already selling the models in ASEAN market, why would people want to buy a clone with poor support?

• Syaiful Nizam Hassan on Dec 10, 2023 at 5:15 pm

Just export Proton Persona as well, like Saga, X70 & X50 those have success achievement sales outside Malaysia!

• sembang kencang on Dec 17, 2023 at 5:12 pm

sembang kencang aje….