Many were expecting JPJ to also have saman discounts at the recent ‘One-year with Madani government’ event but transport minister Anthony Loke remained consistent on not giving discounts for summonses.
Loke said that the transport ministry, which the road transport department is under, has adopted the policy of no discounts since 2018, when he was heading the ministry from 2018 to 2020. The Seremban MP said that summonses are a form of education, and giving discounts is unfair to those who pay their dues on time.
“We’ve had this policy since 2018 when I was the transport minister. Then, I also cancelled over RM4 million of AES camera saman as a one-off, and it received good response. We want to send a message to the public that saman is to educate. If we give discounts, it’s not fair to those who paid theirs within the set period,” he said at the event in Bukit Jalil, reported by Bernama.
Loke added that JPJ, as the agency responsible for road safety, will no compromise on this issue, and the cabinet and chief secretary to the government Tan Sri Mohd Zuki Ali have been informed on the matter.
“Yesterday, I found that people came to JPJ’s counter (at the event) to get saman discounts and they were disappointed, and I apologise for the misunderstanding on the issue,” Loke said. Some must have assumed that JPJ would be giving discounts at the event, just like PDRM with its 50% offer. The police are under the home ministry.
Well at least he got this right…
Malap B40 pipu got $$$ to buy fancy number plate.
But degil and to renew lesen n pay Saman…
BAB1 banyak bayar meh?
Basically subordinate not talking with his superior. PMX give discount but this guy not giving, is he insubordination of PMX? Or is he secretly trying to bring down PMX by making people hate him further? Anwar must tackle this left hand not talking to his right hand as people are confused where this Gomen is heading. Mostly to Holland soon.
Ah, the obvious but not-so-obvious jab to home ministry. However, since they’re technically from the same ‘team’, one would wonder how this will influence the dynamic between JPJ and police and general public. One side got discount the longer you wait, one side says never to discount. Pay early or pay late, how will this shape people’s behaviour and whether that’s the best or ‘right’ behaviour moving forward. Sorry for the rant, i’m part of those who paid early but got no discount so i’m felt cheated. Don’t feel like paying anything early anymore, being a responsible citizen feels like it has no merit.
Ideally should be like that imagine if you did wrong and still continue to do wrong by not owning up + paying up but waiting for discounts how nice.
However in Malaysian context if no discounts there will be more inclination by some to take under table money which is already rampant the cultural way.
yes, finally! discounts on late summons / unpaid summons has been such a joke for so many years. it’s like we were rewarding people for not paying for their offences
one has to wonder if that cultivated a society who commit offences and act as if they are still in the right. so many cases of people who commit crimes/offences and then have the audacity to fight back as if they are not wrong – from smaller things like double parking to major accidents. worst kind of scum in society.
good work – hopefully they follow through with this. we’ve always had laws without continuous and consistent enforcement.
like smoking fines which have no follow through..so many ppl still smoking in restaurants sitting right under the “DENDA” signage, it’s a joke.
nice! next step – link unpaid summons to road tax renewal. include it as a mandatory payable item as part of the road tax renewal cost upon next cycle. expired driver’s license too
one shouldn’t be able to renew their road tax if you have outstanding summonses or an invalid/expired driver’s license.
it’s time we buck up as a nation – no more loose enforcement and grey areas.
PT readers has been saying that this is unfair for ages. now only anthony loke echo what PT readers said. He must have stumbled on PT recently.
Minister Loke, are you going to educate your counterpart Home Minister so PDRM will not give discount too?
By the way, not giving discount is one thing, enforcement that summons are paid on time is another , what’s the use issue summon and years went passed but no payment received?
Good !!! If possible triple fine for those queue cutter and emergency lane abuser, this is something I see almost everyday.
Yes please summon those cut queue rubbish driver
Saman discounts is the work of uneducated low-IQ policy makers and enforcement agencies. Only those with ape DNA could devise such a retarded plan.
Well said.
If the saman is Rm300,a clever dude reduced it to RM50,dont u think the bastard will commit the same offence 6 times?
After all 50 bucks is not gonna burn a hole in his pocket.
YB Loke, your statement may sounds noble but majority of the people do not like noble qualities. They demand special treatments even if at the expense if other people. There’s no such thing as fairness in these people.
Yes, I don’t understand why is PDRM keep giving 50% on saman. Unfair to people to pay early, PDRM must learn this. Doubled and tripled those that don’t pay the saman instead of giving discount.
The amount of education received by those earning RM 5,000 a month wouldn’t be the same to those earning RM 100,000 a month. Talk about fairness pulak.
Those making 100,000 a month is paying x20 taxes compared to those 5000 earners. So it’s pretty fair.
no discount then dont pay la, is not like you are enforcing the law anyways
Chinese Parenting vs Malay Parenting
Strict and no nonsense vs tak apalah