Perodua issues statement on Bezza “gula” viral post

Following the circulation of a customer’s Facebook post regarding their recent purchase of a Perodua Bezza, carmaker Perodua has issued an official statement on the matter.

“Regarding the recent complaint made by a customer on her newly-purchased Perodua Bezza, we wish to notify the public that we have been in constant communication with her since October last year. Since then, we have taken several actions to resolve the matter, including by offering her a courtesy car and we have proposed to buy back her car,” the statement read.

“Perodua has also assured the customer that her case is being prioritised, and we hereby deny any allegation that no action has been taken to resolve the issue. A thorough investigation is underway regarding the issue and we will share the details in due time. We apologise for any inconvenience caused, and thank you for your understanding,” it concluded.

The gula, or sugar as mentioned in the customer’s Facebook post was in reference to a sugar-like foreign substance that was found in the engine of their vehicle, and that such substance resembling the foreign matter found is not used by Perodua, according to Perodua personnel as claimed by the vehicle owner.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Wohoo on Jan 03, 2024 at 10:08 pm

Beli Perodua, percuma gula.

It rhymes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Dah Menang Semua on Jan 04, 2024 at 5:41 pm

Imagine all those AXIA, ATIVA, ALZA owners lodging police reports over their non-compliant Honey-Star safety…

• Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Jan 04, 2024 at 9:01 pm

How can anyone believe a P2 fangirl pour sugar into her new Bezza engine?
      Highly unlikely,unless she is adamant to create a SYIOK tiktok video to get paid.
      So,even if she did pour gula into her engine,the public will not believe it.So,for 60 suffering days,Perodua prefer to bet bashed n lose tons of credibility.
      Why not just give her another Bezza…the problematic Bezza just put a new engine n push it to used car dealers.
      If another case again,people may start boycotting like they boycott the fast food giants.
      Perodua,if u can sell 230,000 units..what is a replacement Bezza to do damage control?

• Bossku on Jan 05, 2024 at 8:51 am

Perut Dua no need damage kontrol, ok boi? B40 or even M40 will always go buy from them becos no better choice for them given how “expensive” kars are and how lowly paid they are! If our Indian customer can afford anything decent that isn’t Perut Dua or Potong, you think she will komplain in Facebook about her crappy Perut Dua?

• Sharifah on Jan 03, 2024 at 10:14 pm

waspada, ada orang dengki letak gula…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • kamon P2..need viral, only then got action. No viral, no action. pay monthly loan for nothing. please do better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Takkan customer tipu kot? on Jan 03, 2024 at 11:21 pm

The customer says no answer in 2 months but Perodua says has been in constant communication since Oct? What do you think if the customer didn’t make it public in her FB?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Bossku on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:27 pm

Male komplain public on Facebook, so what?! Got fixed car engine? They still blame customer! Ini Malaysia madani or cheapo Malaysia for you!

• Very disappointed with how Perodua handles this matter. Also don’t forget with the Daihatsu scandal, Perodua decides to continue manufacturing of the affected models. I wish there’s more communication from the company to consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Cikgu Amin on Jan 04, 2024 at 1:28 am

Interesting case. Wonder how the sugary substance got in there. People told me that sugar, salt, water or sand can cause major damage to the engine’s inner parts. Hope they give her a brand new engine.

• We need Lemon Law!

• You think gomen will allow that? Gomen is the largest shareholder of most local car manufacturers and distributors

• Visit workshop on Jan 04, 2024 at 2:15 am

Paul Tan should highlight the need of car lemon law to be enacted by government specifically to protect car buyers’ right.

Ironically there was similar case in year 2021 (dispute for car replacement due to defects and loss of use of new car) involving a certain continental car brand of which the car buyer succeeded against the car dealer but Paul Tan never posted this important news (unlike other new sites).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Bossku on Jan 04, 2024 at 5:11 am

Perut Dua, Pride of Malaysian! Go Harimau!

• Look like they took their own ‘sweet’ time since October last year. After varalling now ut is sweat time. Low FC and high RV are contributed by sugar/sweet.

• The statement raises more questions than answers.

• Sohai Sufian on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:08 am

Just fire the stupid En Sufian Customer Sales Executive dari HQ Perodua. What kind of stupid excuses

• Snake Oil Kaki Belit on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:14 am

Lesson for today: do not fully believe 100% what you read on Social Media. It is delightful to know how responsible and care Perodua is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
  • Alfred on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:31 am

Aiya, cincai kira la, just give us ATIVA sized car for RM60K then we will shut up and buy. Just make sure it has enough airbags and ah beng spoilers and bumbpers

• kckfen on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:56 am

Too much sugar not only can result in Diabetes, but also damage your car :P

• Perlisian on Jan 04, 2024 at 9:21 am

If P2 really offered her to buy back her car, I think this issue should be should long before the the stories gone viral.

Based on chronology provided by customer, P2 dealership only request document to submit 2nd loan but she decline as she still need to pay her defective bezza loan.

bak kata perpatah, kerana setitik gula rosak engin sebelanga..eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Rubbish,lousy service, safety test fraud, boycott!

• meladam on Jan 04, 2024 at 9:50 am

looks like a sabotage, putting sugar in the engine of course it will spoiled. I remember the sugupavitra case. hmmm poor her, it’s only Bezza! Grow up and hustle up to buy your own. no need to be jealous!

As for perodua, do full checking and make sure that the sugar is there and clear your name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Tesla Malaysia Service on Jan 04, 2024 at 10:13 am

Very soon Tesla Malaysia will get more complaints on poor car delivery service

• TeslaLOSER on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:09 am

Only losers buy Tesla then complain about the battery toy car in a Perut dua news forum!

• MarcMustard on Jan 04, 2024 at 10:20 am

Carmakers and PDRM no difference. Kena viral baru take action.

• one scandal after the other.
    high sales gotten to their heads.

• "Sugar" found in Perodua Engine? on Jan 04, 2024 at 11:22 am

What freebies did miss Nagakanni demanded from SALESMAN?
    Name of the Salesman

• Cheapskate on Jan 07, 2024 at 5:14 pm

She got more than what she asked for

• Selling cars, profit first on Jan 07, 2024 at 5:16 pm

Customer: kasi diskaun & gula2 tau
      Salesman: ok boss. I’ll give best offer & “include” in your purchase

• newme on Jan 04, 2024 at 11:38 am

It’s also possible for the owner to put in fuel saving tablet into the car engine. Some people really believe everything they see on the internet. We don’t know what actually transpired.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • kckfen on Jan 04, 2024 at 12:19 pm

But this case happen in October last year, now already Jan 2024, why is take so long to investigate?

• Bossku on Jan 05, 2024 at 8:47 am

This is Malaysia! There are people who had “disappeared” even before Bossku was in prison and still remained “disappeared”! The apparatus of Malaysian garmen is working hard to solve these mysteries! In the meantime, Perut Dua’s solution to our Indian descent customer is buy one more from Perut Dua lah if first one is damaged! Problem solved!

• candy sabotaj on Jan 04, 2024 at 12:48 pm

Funny “gula” culprit, problem like this should be wiring/sensor/ecu connection detached. Balia perodua sales/service branch.

• Pundek on Jan 04, 2024 at 12:59 pm

Biasa lah Negara islam boleh menipu ikut prinsip Islam. Dasar Negara kite. From the engine to the seat Perodua says shieeet!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • Sparko on Jan 04, 2024 at 9:03 pm

Dey lancau, lu mau komen apa ka komen saja, tapi jangan kurang ajar sangat sampai melibatkan agama islam…lu kalau anak jantan kasi tau lu punya address.. mau kasi gift sikit sama lu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Proton Oh Proton on Jan 04, 2024 at 1:16 pm

Power of social media…

• Kea Was on Jan 04, 2024 at 1:31 pm

Perodua lies and lies just like telling us how save their car is even Japan says no since March 2023 so powerful double standard here guess 2 months wait is nothing.

As responded by the owner
    “Perodua’s solution is for me to buy a second car by submitting a loan application for the second car.

“Is there any written guarantee stating that my first car will be repurchased, and I won’t need to pay the first loan? There isn’t.

“It has been over two months, and there still hasn’t been any detailed information regarding the buyback, the buyback period, loan payment, and everything else,”said the school clerk on her Facebook account.

• Scandal_Cheapskate on Jan 04, 2024 at 2:08 pm

Please give some statement on the Daihatsu Scandal instead… Don’t risk the people to buy your fraud products

• Bossku on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:22 pm

People no risk their lives buy Perut Dua or Potong. Most people buy them cos no better choice because new kereta too “expensive” and gaji orang too low! What choices do they have? Any new cars cheaper than the cheapest Potong or Perut Dua?! Everybody knows, so no choice! Doesn’t matter if Daihatsu aka Perut Dua build the deadliest car in Malaysia, they will still sell them like hot cakes!

• Tolong dia give back money and cancel 1st loan. Then she can go buy other brand like saga

• This shows that the Transport Ministry needs to make a ‘Lemon Act’ to prevent such unfortunate incident and protect consumer from getting shafted by the banks and dealership.

• Celup King on Jan 04, 2024 at 4:39 pm

Bezza well known for constant breakdown so dunno why pipul still keep buying this shiet. Oh wait becoz nama P2 so pipul become stupid when see this brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Bossku on Jan 05, 2024 at 4:24 pm

People cannot afford better cars lah…haiya, if new Benz and Bezza sells for same price, how many people will buy Bezza?

• He Long Must on Jan 04, 2024 at 7:25 pm

I know my model 3 and Y have frunks. Since when P2 included that feature I also dono

• Ur moms car on Jan 04, 2024 at 9:23 pm

How tf a gula can be inside of the engine

Must be those angry underpaid workers during assemble OR the owner believed those dumb scam fuel saving tablets that not even work lol

• JustGuess on Jan 05, 2024 at 12:25 am

Hello P2 salesman, I want to order 1 Bezza……sugar free please ….and no ice. Tq

• How many ways to get foreign objects into Engine on Jan 05, 2024 at 1:00 am

Indirectly
    1. Thru Petrol Tank and Petrol FILTER = Fire Up the Engine xxx Will Engine Kaput?
    2. Thru Engine Oil and Oil FILTER = Lubricate the Engine internals xxx Will Engine Kaput?

Directly HOW?

PERODUA casting doubts on Owner character

• Bossku on Jan 05, 2024 at 8:54 am

If you buy a car from a place with an email that reads [email protected], you have no one to blame other than yourself! It goes to show two things: 1. Car dealer so cheapo won’t pay for proper email address. 2. Car dealer hope to get rich f**k f**k f**k. Obviously at the expense of their customers!

• K Buster on Jan 13, 2024 at 11:42 am

Hi Bossku, if you dont know who is the car dealer, dont simply reply, as Harapan Terang Motor Sdn Bhd is one of the official dealer of Perodua, which is one of the largest in Northern Johor, somemore they are subsidiary of KSL Holdings Berhad which mainboard of Bursa Malaysia. The girl look for the “BEST” in town, yet getting this kind of result.

But by the way, KSL house after sales service also almost NIL and N/A, i not surprise this kind of issue happens on their car dealer

• trolll12355 on Jan 23, 2024 at 1:34 pm

News is almost 3 weeks old but will komen anyways.
    P2 can simply refuse to buy back the car or give refund because of the sugar like substance. Unless its something like engine exploding after lupa letak minyak enjin by p2, then its 100% claimable. P2 may not be the best as they have quality issue here and there tapi one thing for certain, you dont even know how the sugar got into the fuel tapi nak komen shit talking about p2 not taking action to replace her car.