Mobile hydrogen refueling station project in Putrajaya set to start operating before the end of 2024 – MOSTI

The government, through the ministry of science, technology and innovation (MOSTI) aims to start operation of its mobile hydrogen refueling station (MHRS) pilot project in Putrajaya before the end of this year.

It minister, Chang Lih Kang, said that following the signing of the cooperation document between Petronas, UMW Corporation, UMW Toyota Motor, MGTC and NanoMalaysia with the support of his ministry in July 2023, MOSTI has now taken preliminary steps through a collaboration with UMW Toyota Motor to highlight the potential of hydrogen mobility, especially in Peninsular Malaysia.

He said this during a demonstration refueling session with a mobile hydrogen refueling unit (MHRU) at the Complex C government complex in Putrajaya earlier today, utilising a Toyota Mirai. The ceremony was officiated by prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, who was given a brief briefing on hydrogen technology and was later chauffeured back to his office in the hydrogen-powered Mirai.

“This event aims to promote and give the public an opportunity to see for themselves the available hydrogen mobility facilities. It also shows that the technology is mature, that the cars are there,” Chang said. He said the mobile element allows the refueling rig to be moved to different locations, according to needs.

“It also shows the government’s commitment in emphasizing the importance of using clean energy. I hope that with this, it can increase awareness among the community regarding the use of hydrogen. I also welcome the cooperation of the private sector, including Toyota, to help our country further strengthen the use of hydrogen, including supplying and developing the necessary facilities,” he added.

Chang said the effort in promoting hydrogen as an alternative fuel source is very much in line with the targets of the National Energy Transition Roadmap (NETR), the National Energy Policy 2022-2040 (DTN) and the aspirations of the Low Carbon Mobility Blueprint 2021-2030 (LCMB).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hydrogen on Apr 01, 2024 at 2:59 pm

Will this Mirai become affordable in Malaysia? ie less than RM200k?

• Bob Mal on Apr 01, 2024 at 3:10 pm

Seriously don’t understand your logic there is only 1 and ONLY 1 hydrogen powered car brand here which is the Toyota Mirai which cost RM300k each. So who is going to pump it?

All others including China & Hyundai have given up the Hydrogen in favor of EVs which is much cheaper, better competition, better technology better everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Why EV is the solution because many items that we use (example smartphone) are using lithium batteries. Because of this, the technology to develop for EV is far shorter than hydrogen. Hydrogen, for me is the future. Who the hell would wait 30 minutes for a full charge? Also, who would invest so much money to build infra for EV chargers? Hydrogen is a replacement for ICE, but with zero carbon. It’s not to say they gave up, but they’re following the technology trend. Furthermore, less than 10 years need to replace battery? Where do dispose? Don’t even start on manufacturing batteries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • seitha on Apr 02, 2024 at 10:20 am

I want to see if you can charge your car in less then 10 minutes from the time you pull up at an EV charger station!!

• Scrap metal dealer on Apr 03, 2024 at 6:39 am

I wanna thank all the china fapbois for buying high and selling low to me when their batteries kaput

• IZ you do aware your comment sounds really stupid right? You talk as if fuel cell cars does not run on batteries at all. Please read the technology behind fuel cell cars then only come here and comment please.

• hydrogen with a pop on Apr 01, 2024 at 3:49 pm

go do this at every city. even just 1 filling point also will be good. once it starts, people will buy.

• kckfen on Apr 01, 2024 at 5:02 pm

How much cost to refill 1kg of hydrogen?? Just wonder.

• Najib on Apr 01, 2024 at 10:04 pm

No one use wan lah

• Pro-Palestine on Apr 02, 2024 at 9:00 am

Stupid project. Dead on arrival

• FCEV not the best. Too expensive and also more safety problems than EV.