Speed limit in George Town World Heritage site zone reduced to 40 km/h – RM150 fine for speeding

If you happen to be driving around the George Town World Heritage site zone in Penang, take note that the speed limit for certain roads located in the area has been reduced from 50 km/h to 40 km/h. If you’re caught exceeding the new speed limit, you could be in for a RM150 speeding ticket, as The Star reports.

According to the Penang island city council (MBPP), roads gazetted with the new reduced speed limit of 40 km/h are inner roads surrounded by Jalan Dr Lim Chwee Leong, Gat Jalan Prangin, Pengkalan Weld, Pesara King Edward, Lebuh Light, Lebuh Farquhar, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah and Jalan Penang. These main roads will however continue to have their speed limit maintained at 50 km/h.

Other roads where the 40 km/h speed limit is applicable include Jalan Tun Syed Sheh Barakbah, Jalan Padang Kota Lama, Lebuh Duke, Jalan Green Hall, Gat Lebuh Leith, Lebuhraya Merdeka, Jalan Merdeka, Lintang Merdeka and Pintasan Pengkalan 1, 2, 3 and 4.

MBPP councillor Edward Tan said that reducing the speed limit took into account the narrow roads, where speeding vehicles pose a danger to the public, especially pedestrians, cyclists and trishaw riders. “Based on studies conducted at foreign countries, benefits of reducing speed limits are lower accident rates and improved road users’ safety,” he said.

According to MBPP engineering department traffic engineer Noor Munirah Raja Ahmad, the 10 km/h reduction would not impact traffic movement. “We found that most motorists in the area are not able to exceed the previous speed limit of 50 km/h anyway, so a 10 km/h reduction will improve safety,” she said.

She added that the move was gazetted since August 31 last year, but was only being enforced after relevant infrastructure was put in place. “At least two road signs of the new speed limit have been placed on each road which are subjected to the changes,” she explained. She added that enforcement on the new reduced speed limit is effective at all times, and police will issue a RM150 speeding ticket to offenders that are caught.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 40? You expect us to engage drive and creep on the road? What a yoke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Crony on Apr 02, 2024 at 4:11 pm

40kmph also can kill people why not just reduce it down to 10kmph yea. Real stupid gomen.

And then after reduce they complain constant traffic jam which is why they need to pay cronies to setup LRT project when they do not really need one.

Genius! All this just to keep lining their crony prockets!

• Parti roket on Apr 02, 2024 at 6:43 pm

Next we’ll get you to travel backwards on Penang island. Just engage R and leave your fate to reverse cameras

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 01, 2024 at 8:49 pm

u tangkap the rempits first. then i ok.

• For want of socks, harmony is ruined on Apr 02, 2024 at 9:52 pm

Rempits are my Molotov cocktail launchers. Nobadi dare to touch

• this is utterly silly. this is like London and other major cities in the UK. Really slow speed and even though there are not cars in front, you still need to drive below the speed limit!

• I hate slow drivers and people who can’t drive properly on Apr 04, 2024 at 8:37 am

I agree.For me driving slow makes me feel more sleepy.After working hours,I’m already feeling tired the car in front of me drives way to slow,making me more sleepy.My goal is to get back quick and rest.

• klguy on Apr 01, 2024 at 10:50 pm

must be a joke….those roads are on a standstill most of the time….

• MB Sanusi on Apr 02, 2024 at 12:59 am

Speed doesn’t kill. Stupidity does. How do you expect my drebar to drive my big capacity Hyundai palisade on your island? Put it in D and let it crawl?

• In a congested area, sign boards only may not be enough. Drivers will be busy shifting focus between cars, pedestrians, trishaws, cyclists, motorcyclists, etc etc etc. Write and draw the speed limit sign on the road perhaps?

• furu odc on Apr 02, 2024 at 7:45 am

should do this also in Melaka city near the heritage sites. (Though the current traffic jam already had this unintentionally implemented)

• CM bullfrog on Apr 02, 2024 at 9:49 pm

Aku dah tutup jalan 54 jam tak cukup? Mau limit speed lagi?

• Since most motorists in the area are not able to exceed the previous speed limit of 50 km/h, why reduce the speed. Doesn’t bring any value except to get a scolding.
    By maintaining at 50 km/h, you :
    1) save $$ from changing the speed limit sign
    2) spend money to patch or re-tar the road

• vexxed on Apr 03, 2024 at 11:29 am

sai-hey nonsense – 50km/h has been so well for decades and its never a problem – now they just wanna appear like they are doing something – bored, distracted, stupid drivers more dangerous than extra 10km/h …