A trailer overturned near the Jalan Duta toll plaza on the New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE) earlier today, blocking several lanes and causing massive congestion. Not only that, but its fuel tank also sprang a leak that spilled dangerous flammable liquid across the highway.
Indeed, a fire duly ensued along the resultant trail of diesel, as visible in the video posted by X user @aidanotayda. Although most motorists chose to drive around the trailer on the right-hand side (the clean side), a few vehicles were driven on the left side, running directly over the fuel as it flowed towards the drain.
This went about as well as you would expect. A silver Perodua Axia driving over the stream was immediately engulfed in flames – albeit thankfully only for a few seconds – while another trailer behind also caught fire. Luckily, by this time everyone behind had seen what had happened and decided to funnel towards the rightmost lane. It’s a good job that nothing worse happened.
Ingatkan apa yang meletup tadi rupanya lori terbalik
⚠️ Elak lalu Jalan Duta menghala arah utara
Accident lori terbalik pic.twitter.com/ph7BmLAAiv— bébé (@aidanotayda) August 13, 2024
By now, it should be obvious what the lesson here is – don’t drive over any liquid pouring out of a vehicle that has been involved in an accident, as you will never know what it could be. We get that Malaysians are typically an impatient bunch that will take any shortcut to shorten their commute, and it’s not always obvious whether the said liquid is fuel (in which case you should err on the side of caution and avoid it anyway).
But when there’s fire involved, you should probably definitely take it as a sign to get as far away from it as possible. If the flames can be seen from a low-resolution video taken several stories up a condominium, it would’ve been painfully obvious to those on the ground. Jam or no jam, you wouldn’t want to risk immolation or make the fire worse, would you?
The fire, by the way, was eventually put out by a fire engine and water tanker nine minutes after Bomba received an emergency call at around noon. Free Malaysia Today reported that the driver of the partially-burnt trailer was thankfully only injured on his head and hand and was taken to the hospital.
Biasala, yg pelik2 semua pemilik Perodua. Cuma harap jgn menyusahkan org aje. Susahkan pemilik dan kaum-kerabatnya, xpa lah.
If I m the insurer,I would not entertain any claims from the Perodua Axia if it was a total wreck from flames.
Can u imagine a dozen luxury cars trying this stunt like Tom Cruise going over flames ?AIG or Etiqa..gonna pay?
There is enough space and time to avoid the flames.
Some people invite bad luck or calamity by doing stupid stunts.
never drive over flammable liquid vapour. smh
Why the lorry terbalik ?
Most would have thought it could be water pouring out? Luckily the fire doused out on the car…
Better to be safe than sorry…but nobody listens nowadays…
In this case, luckily the flames could be seen by the drivers that drove over it. If the fluid leaked onto the road was like engine oil and got run over, very likely more vehicles would be subsequently be involved after the accident spot.
Applaud for the red lorry to help but better if park further forward.
Blame the stupid red trailer for stopping so close to the accident scene and blocking those coming on the left. You can see early in video that a few trucks nearly whack the most left vehicles so I cannot blame the Axia and truck behind it for going straight over the diesel spill.
These truckers are not trained to assess an accident situation and know how to respond safely, they only know that ada kawan masalah terus berhenti dekat2 tanpa kesah orang lain. Lakhanat these peeps as they create a scene for an even bigger accident to happen!
is the lorry known that it is not allowed to sleep in the middle of road?
1. the red lorry should park far away lagi la.
2. put cone to close the road, to warn people about the fuel on the road at least.
3. axia silver what to expect? maybe thought that just water. cant comprehend why black hailak avoid the “water”. or busy main handphone.
4. geseran + hot surface = burn
the axia and lorry on flames is so cool. it is like from the movie back to the future.
I downgraded from the delorean to an axia because I sedar diri imma B40
By now, it should be obvious what the “lesson here is” – don’t drive over any liquid pouring out of a vehicle that has been involved in an accident, as you will never know what it could be.
The lesson here is …most malaysians lack critical safety thinking!!