Malaysian government considering amending laws to support development of autonomous vehicles

The Malaysian government is considering amending laws to support the digitalisation and development of autonomous vehicles, New Straits Times reported.

“We need to take steps to see the future because maybe now it is not yet mainstream. But maybe in 10, 20 years, most of our public transportation systems will no longer use humans as drivers. They can be autonomous. Now, most of them still need drivers,” said transport minister Anthony Loke.

He said that the government is taking the initial steps to assess the extent to which this can be implemented before deciding what legislative amendments can be made to support the digitalisation of vehicles. Loke added that there is currently no timeline as the proof of concept (PoC) for autonomous public transport is still being conducted.

“At the ministry of transport, we are ready to assist. I believe this matter needs to be examined through examples from other countries that already have a legal framework in place. So far, Malaysia does not yet have a legal framework for autonomous vehicles, so we need to look at examples from abroad as a reference,” Loke said following a 5G demonstration carried out on eMoovit Technology’s autonomous bus earlier today.

He added that the ministry of transport is prepared to facilitate the development of autonomous vehicles in terms of legislation. “We also need to look at its commercialisation, because it’s pointless to have a legal framework without its practical application,” he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• in 10-20 yrs time, the Myvi will still be around.

• Solve current issue first plz on Sep 09, 2024 at 5:31 pm

Before u talk abt “Autonomous”, plz rectify the issues such as disappearing road marks, smart traffic light, mbikes dont use mbikes lane, toll for mbikes, 20yrs car scrapping policy, enforcement on vehicles tht no roadtax, insurance , driving license. Speed up the initiative to stdised car num plate! Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Phuket Mug on Sep 09, 2024 at 8:28 pm

Go lodge report to your nearest local town councils or city councils for missing road markers faulty traffic lights. Other matters nothing much can do due to too many kopi-o license drivers motorcyclist misbehavior on the road……

• G.o.a.t on Sep 10, 2024 at 8:42 am

why need complaint ? we paying road tax lor…so thats mean Enforcment must there…not everytime need report then take action. if for 2 year no report what authority doing ? maakan gaji buta? like JPJ….their superior already know whats happening but no action after complain then only want spot check…WTH? thats mean the superior also never monitor their staff….mkn gaji buta again

• 4GR-FSE on Sep 09, 2024 at 6:09 pm

Our potholes are not ready for autonomous driving..

• Peppa on Sep 09, 2024 at 6:10 pm

JUST FOCUS ON DEVELOPING OUR OWN PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION YOU STUPID FAT ASS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • john is otak batu on Sep 10, 2024 at 8:31 am

Hey, u should be in childcare! Don’t simply comment nick name here!

• t333son on Sep 09, 2024 at 6:42 pm

in a country where most jobs are manual and low pay , the impending automation will push the workers into redundancy . then what? no job , no money . who is autonomous public transport catering to then?

• Ah Loke Gor is just doing this for HeLongMask who soon will make open the automated driverless package to local Tesla users….as expected HeLongMask boot licker…all about business & money milking

• Maybe fix the roads first? Potholes everywhere and line markings fading, how can the autonomous vehicles make sure they’re even going straight?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 09, 2024 at 11:13 pm

This is what’s called “kong lan wa”. Cakap serupa tak cakap. Might as well say we’re studying our own space program, to be ready in 100 years time.

Awtar Singh is right. Dr Wee is 1000 times smarter than you.

• stasta on Sep 12, 2024 at 5:53 pm

Autonomous electric bus trials to be held in Putrajaya this year – eMooVit self-driving bus with DNB 5G tech

• Play Phone on Sep 10, 2024 at 1:45 pm

This autonomous bus still need a driver on standby on trouble shooting if there is emergency, should he play phone or picnic on driver seat then? since it drives itself.

Implementing technologies but still need to employ someone perhaps just sitting there wait for finish, seems funny to me.

• Common people everywhere on Sep 10, 2024 at 5:56 pm

It’s good that government looking into autonomous vehicle in the near future. Those people who has so many ideas about making the country a better place, please refer back to you and your family. Have you provide enough or even stop asking your wife or children to save this and that because you couldn’t afford it ? Any paradigm shift is possible with or without you people to be here. When 5g being implement , you people said its too expensive and look at 5g now, without you support, it’s spreading around the country. Sit back and stop blaming government for everything, sometimes its about your own problem.

• Not sure the tests will be successful here;
    1. Motorcyclist
    2. Jaywalkers
    3. Animals on the road.
    4. Road & traffic design & implementation not uniform. Some places are seriously badly designed, can initially confuse even the smartest of human.

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Sep 10, 2024 at 10:45 pm

loke already set up companies where he is sleeping partner and all tenders for AD will be given to his cronies’ companies!!

He and other DAP leaders threw Teresa Kok under the bus… DAP(Direct award Party) has become like gerakan