Omoda C9 by Jaecoo production begins, Jan delivery

The first unit of the Omoda C9 by Jaecoo has rolled off the assembly line at Jaecoo’s Shah Alam plant (which also assembles the Jaecoo J7), with deliveries set to begin next month.

“We are very happy with the encouraging response for our C9 premium off-road SUV coupe and ready to deliver on the Malaysian market’s demands. As a brand that is invested for the long term, we are equally dedicated to taking care of our customers throughout their ownership journey with us,” said Jaecoo Malaysia VP Emily Lek.

“Looking ahead, Jaecoo continues to keep our finger on the pulse to ensure we deliver best-in-class vehicles and services that suit the market’s current needs,” she added.

Launched last week, the Omoda C9 is priced at RM168,800 (2WD) and RM188,800 (AWD). Sold by Jaecoo, it’s got a 261 PS/400 Nm 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder engine and an eight-speed auto, and is about the size of the Chery Tiggo 8 Pro, Leapmotor C10 and Toyota Harrier. Read our launch story to learn more about the D-segment coupe SUV.

2024 Omoda C9 prices and packages

2024 Omoda C9 AWD launch

2024 Omoda C9 2WD launch

GALLERY: Omoda C9 2WD

GALLERY: Omoda C9 AWD

GALLERY: Omoda C9 preview

Omoda C9, matte grey finish

Omoda C9 preview presentation slides

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Bruce on Dec 12, 2024 at 10:06 am

It is really CKD? Or it is SKD?
    If it is CKD, the speed of launching is impressive. Finger cross.

• James on Dec 12, 2024 at 11:14 am

Soon people will realized that horsepower is nothing, it’s just too many cars on the road now, you got stucked in the jam straight from the moment you drive out of your house to work so the 0-100 is nothing, with turbo charge petrol and being stucked in the jam everyday, it means you are burning much more fuel and your wallet will cry. Like X70 12-13L/100KM fuel consumption in city drive, many X70 owners have regretted now. Hybrid car is the real king on the road.

• alibaba on Dec 12, 2024 at 11:22 am

lol, this kind of pricing, consumer has many choice, why not choose slightly expensive car for reliable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • read the spec on Dec 13, 2024 at 6:02 pm

look at the spec carefully, even merc GLC and bmw x3 don’t have adaptive dampers, power rear seats. and those are double the price.

• Mantap

• Nice

• ICE or Hybrid only on Dec 12, 2024 at 7:57 pm

Tried to copy Harriet but seems over do…

• SibuMan on Dec 15, 2024 at 10:49 pm

Tak Tanya pun. Who cares

• Cool