2022 Toyota Harrier in Malaysia: now with 360-cam, full TSS, new red SE with brown leather – RM274k-RM277k

The Toyota Harrier has been updated for 2022 in Malaysia, with the Improvement (IMP) model priced at RM274,000 on-the-road without insurance. Alongside the updated model, UMW Toyota has also introduced a new variant – the Harrier Luxury SE (for special edition) for RM277,000.

The 2.0 litre Harrier Luxury was first launched in Malaysia in February 2021 for RM249,707. Following the end of SST exemptions beginning in July 1, the Harrier was priced at RM259k. That makes the updated version RM15,000 more than before, but it does come with a few handy upgrades.

A key new feature is a Panoramic View Monitor (360-degree parking cameras), finally bringing the Harrier up to date with the rest of the market. It works via a new eight-inch touchscreen head unit (above), which replaces the previous standard-fit HU. This appears to be a locally-fitted UMW Toyota unit with a new Navigation function, with just a single volume knob instead of the rows of physical buttons before.

Also listed in the Improvement package is an updated Toyota Safety Sense suite. The list of features remain the same, but the Pre-Collision Brake detection (AEB) can now detect oncoming traffic, pedestrians and bicycles, while the Lane Departure Alert has been upgraded with Road Edge Detection to sense grass or curb on top of lane markers. Lastly, the Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (ACC) system is now able to adjust the speed through corners and curves.

JDM Z-package shown.

A new addition is the Harrier Luxury SE, which gets a unique red metallic exterior colour, with a touch of brown in the cabin for an extra RM3,000. The interior remains predominantly black, but the door panels and centre console are now wrapped partially in brown leather. Those who have been looking at grey-market Harriers would be familiar with this colour combo (above).

In terms of powertrain, the fourth-generation Harrier soldiers on with the same M20A-FKS 2.0 litre Dynamic Force four-cylinder engine with 173 PS at 6,600 rpm and 203 Nm of torque from 4,400 to 4,900 rpm. The same engine is found in the Toyota RAV4. The 2.0 litre Dynamic Force engine is paired with a Direct Shift-CVT gearbox to drive the front wheels. The Harrier gets from 0-100 km/h in 9.7 seconds, with a top speed of 190 km/h. Its fuel consumption is rated at 15.3 km/L (or 6.5L/100km).

Click to enlarge.

Standard features include bi-LED projector headlamps, front and rear LED fog lamps, a handsfree powered tailgate, a panoramic moonroof, an eight-inch infotainment touchscreen with wireless Apple CarPlay and wired Android Auto, six speakers and a seven-inch coloured TFT instrument cluster display. Also in the cabin are features such as wireless charging, five USB-C ports, a head-up display, a front and rear digital video recorder (DVR) and a digital rear-view mirror.

The new Toyota Harrier IMP comes with five exterior colour options including Slate Grey metallic, Steel Blonde metallic and Dark Blue metallic. As before, the Precious Black and Platinum White pearl colours will cost an additional RM800. UMW Toyota Motor has begun taking orders for the new Toyota Harrier IMP.

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• I miss Metramac on Oct 11, 2022 at 3:36 pm

Nice but durable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
    • Pedantic on Oct 11, 2022 at 6:46 pm

You’re using the “but” wrong in your sentence

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
      • Roti john Reborn on Oct 11, 2022 at 8:58 pm

I wonder when will Proton design stunning cars like this Toyota Harrier. 37 years of automotive business but until now I have never seen any Proton cars that have stunning design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
        • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:32 am

Is why U don’t see many Harrier on the road in oppose to Proton. Their customers affordability level totally incomparable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
          • AP Putra on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:46 am

There are plenty of recond harrier on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • Can see more Harrier bought from dealers on the road, more than previous one

• Michael Druce on Nov 22, 2022 at 4:26 pm

Must buy

• great question.

Look at what kind of people works at Proton.

• Berttt on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:05 am

The Suprima s looks good

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 12, 2022 at 6:14 am

Have they resolve the wind-whistling from A-pillar?

U won’t expect to happen on a 300K Harrier from just 90km/h (this is not 100K Geely X50)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • How about if all ckd honda models have resolved all kinds of quality parts problems including steering rack

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
          • Roti john Reborn on Oct 12, 2022 at 9:55 am

Proton need to learn more from Honda about quality control. This is because Honda is one of the largest car company in the world selling quality cars, unlike Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
          • Roti john reborn really?

Proton must learnt from honda. My friend owned proton but told me that not much problem as my honda city hatchback. I just got city hatchback for a week and started to have

• aumeow on Oct 12, 2022 at 8:02 am

Waiting for honda trolls to do much downvotes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Just minor mistakes, you should use “and”. And I agree with you, service cost and selling price for turbo is more expensive than engine without turbo

• Seribu on Oct 11, 2022 at 3:40 pm

Spec awesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Veyron Owner on Oct 11, 2022 at 6:18 pm

But for that price, recon AP GLB/GLC is better plus branding badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • Penney on Oct 11, 2022 at 6:57 pm

The maintenance not cheap. Recon car is not better than using new car. I rather stick with new car but cheaper cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • BodykitMakesTfaster on Oct 12, 2022 at 2:45 am

wew max torq 200Nm at 4.4k RPM pulling 1.7ton car.
          0-100kmh in 9.7s , well u know Myvi around 10.2s will cucuk u. x50 7.9s bruh
          Reliability ? buy highest spec x50
          if broken can buy another new one.With another 50k balance + 1 used x50 .
          thats worth 10 years warranty for you ;D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • Aura89 on Oct 12, 2022 at 3:30 am

If you cannot afford the maintenance you really shouldnt be looking at a luxury SUV. Harrier maintenance cost is also not cheap if one could only afford Ativa servicing cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
          • Don’t compare with luxury and budget car. Must compare the same item, not the different item

• Thing is, toyota is not a luxury marque but they are selling Harrier at luxury price bracket so the comparison is spot on, buuutttt that is where toyota made the mistake of going up against established luxury marques. There are no free lunches with luxury cars, you’d have to pay for the maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • @Gary

Because toyota harrier is just luxury but not more like luxury car, just premium

• Fazenne on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:31 am

I have 2 Japs recon cars, 2006 and 2010. Only spent for O2 sensors & plug coils for the 2006 and nothing yet on the 2010 car. Both cars still have original absorbers on. What recon cars are you talking about high maintenance?

• AppleTree on Oct 12, 2022 at 11:04 am

Recon car has a very low schedule maintenance as you are not obliged to go to Toyota Service Centre and pay a very expensive maintenance cost.

If you get a very good condition recon car without issue, definitely your maintenance is much much lower than getting a new car from Toyota.

• Emission on Oct 12, 2022 at 2:52 pm

Same here. I’m with you

• Aiya.. still no turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 46
    • Power is not really relevant while reliability is more relevant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • Ppl in this price range dont really care reliability as long as it can tahan 3 to 5 years ok because they usually change car every 3 to 5 years. No power you will curse it day after day. You can almost get BMw X3 2.0 at this price. Who wanna settle for an underpowered Toyota then? Dont take your Myvi class mind set project on rich buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • People now care more on reliability that needed to last 5 years or more. Not 3-5 years, which is really short term. That’s why slowly more people now prefer NA engine or choosing brand with reliability than buying brand have lowest reliability and turbo

• Come to service cost and selling price, expensive than the engine without turbo

• Toyota fan on Oct 11, 2022 at 4:05 pm

Still with the 8 inch after market player, please is it so difficult to upgrade the player to a bigger size to complement the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 51
    • Windows on Oct 12, 2022 at 2:45 pm

U wan so big screen go buy 55 inch TV install at your screen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • Toyota fan on Oct 15, 2022 at 4:23 pm

Is shows your level of education everyone is complaining of the player but you say put 55″ in the car, confirm cannot afford the car yourself so sad.

• puriad on Oct 12, 2022 at 4:12 pm

Don’t like, don’t buy lol! People are fine with 8 inch info screen despite also imported from Jepun just like the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • – Reliable engine with 2.0 Dynamic Force Engine
    – 10 Speed CVT
    – Cheaper maintenance cost
    – Upgraded Toyota Safety Sense
    – Blind Spot Monitor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
    • Fazenne on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:39 am

CVT is a big NO NO really. Unless you seldom floor the pedal. No matter which brand of cars. I have both Toyotas,
      1 with CVT and 1 with 6AT. Hate the CVT one. But I must say, Toyota makes the best CVT compared to others. I’d just go for recon 2.0t. More power, 6AT minus some of the so called modern driver aids which I can manage all this while. Maintenance for my Toyotas are cheap. Both still have original absorbers on them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • You tried any toyota cvt? It’s not all CVTS are unreliable

• Fazenne on Oct 15, 2022 at 12:42 am

Didnt try. I have 1. Dont like cvt. Have another 1 with 6AT. 6AT wins anytime… Like I said above, Toyota makes the best cvt. But cvt itself is a letdown tech. Fuel saving with heavy sacrifice on performance

• Up to you if you don’t like cvt. But do understand cvt have problems. But for toyota cvt, is more reliable and where many people didn’t complain much on toyota cvt. Toyota cvt benefits for fuel saving is more important and power output is not really relevant

• RyanT on Oct 11, 2022 at 4:23 pm

Gold plated cylinders with 8” touchscreen…haaa

• James on Oct 11, 2022 at 4:27 pm

Luxury SE with Brown Leather Interior?

but there is no Photo In the Gallery.

• (Like) Benz GLC RM299k.
    (Dislike) Harrier Luxury SE RM274k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 40
    • Uoung on Oct 11, 2022 at 6:06 pm

GLC200 don’t have 360 degree camera but sell expensive than Harrier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Majority on Oct 12, 2022 at 7:45 am

You are buying a car. If you want camera so badly go be a cameraman. If you cant drive without a 360 camera then you shld retire frm the road. A car is a masterpiece of tech engineered by a lot of brilliant minded phd and scientist, and not just confined to 360 cam or little gadgets or screen. It is a driving machine. The tech range frm design to body structure to engine to comfort to hard safety and behind the scene system and ofcourse, reputation. Hence, you are either not yet the class, or just a Toyota salesman. GLC or X3 anyday for that price. No meed to argue, even at 256k, u see ferrari more than harrier otr. Majority ppl already made their choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
        • Squid on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:26 am

Here’s the problem…

Almost all auto manufacturers are now almost on par with each other when it comes to structure, design, performance etc2…

The 2 main things that differentiates them from another are reliability and features which is what the majority of car buyers are into.

As for the lack of Harriers on the road, why don’t you walk in to any Toyota showroom an ask how long the waiting period is?

There is a big difference between lack of demand and lack of supply.

• Fazenne on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:53 am

I have both Toyota and Merc and some others. Reliability wise, Toyota wins hands on. Handling wise, its the Merc of coz. Safety wise, both are safe unless you hit a truck, both may end up having people killed. Point is, you either want a hassle free car with good handling or a great handling car but having to spend 4x more hours in the workshops. Up to individual. And I dont mind much for all the driver’s aid, can live without them and still overtake people with better cars around the corners. Straights are for grannies .

As for class, who cares? Class is for those who are arrogant and insecured. I can drive a Ferrari at times and a Myvi at another. Couldnt care less for class, people arent gonna give you bread for free.

Its not the car, its how you drive it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
          • Emission on Oct 12, 2022 at 2:50 pm

With driver aids, will make more safer to prevent drivers and passenger from getting accident. Like other countries already got but compulsory but soon will be more similar as here

• Yet can see more new harriers bought from dealers on the road

• UglyScreens Must Go on Oct 11, 2022 at 5:33 pm

Will the brown leather interior also come with the larger screen? In the article it says the same eight inch ugly screen though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Well move toyota by giving 360 camera

• Uoung on Oct 11, 2022 at 6:03 pm

With 360 degree camera, already completed active safety system

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 11, 2022 at 7:21 pm

finally ada 360 camera but why pay more for the uglier interior, brown mcm poop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
  • Stop using engine from the 90s on Oct 11, 2022 at 8:21 pm

Atleast give us a turbo charged engine just like last gen’s Harrier. The price hiked with added ons safety but still using that puny little engine, good luck selling those

• Why are they still refusing the bring the 2.5 Hybrid, it baffles me. For Volvo XC40 recharge money this thing is a pussy.

• Tested new Harrier. Despite using NA engine without turbo, very nice and the power is also great. Can also save fuel. Just that there is no 360 camera until here this comes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • aumeow on Oct 12, 2022 at 8:04 am

Waiting for honda trolls to bash toyota, just like what happened for honda trolls for bashing for almost all brands

• Ground europe passenger on Oct 12, 2022 at 8:42 am

Toyota cross changed harrier tag, +0.2 cc, + premium sedikit specs, + 1 ganda price.

• seancorr on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:20 am

Nice, now can we get an IMP for the Corolla Cross with an electric parking brake?

• Sparcov on Oct 12, 2022 at 12:29 pm

Actually it is depends on the buyer preference. Be it Toyota, Honda or Mercedes, BMW.

There is a reason why Toyota putting that huge price tag for a CBU Harrier against the CKD Mercedes GLC200 with only a RM30K different. A Toyota Harrier can last you 20 years same so Mercedes GLC200 if both properly maintain.

• Li Peng on Oct 12, 2022 at 12:52 pm

Is the ‘overrolling in curves’ problem finally solved the old Harrier is well known for?

• Emission on Oct 12, 2022 at 2:49 pm

190 km/h better than 180 km/h for previous gen
    9.7 seconds acceleration loses to previous gen as 8 seconds
    Fuel consumption is really good

• Syaitan on Oct 12, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Kau ingat Aku ni orang Kaya, Tiba Tiba mesej masuk pasal kereta…

• JustAGuy on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:11 pm

There is no way this thing does 6.5L/100km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • MickeyMao on Oct 13, 2022 at 8:29 pm

Pergi beli X70 saja la kononnya ia teknologi Volvo haha. Baik lagi angkat merah ada OngMali.

• I miss Metramac on Oct 15, 2022 at 3:24 pm

X70 can’t match with Harrier, should match with CRV

• Carguy on Oct 19, 2022 at 7:12 am

How is it “Wiress” Apple car play but “Wired” Android auto? Shouldn’t the Info HU be able to support wireless for Android as well since it already has wireless capability

• Pergi beli X70 saja la kononnya ia teknologi Volvo haha.

• portikal on Oct 31, 2022 at 1:57 pm

190 km/h better than 180 km/h for previous gen

• Suvanna bt Saravanan on Jun 18, 2023 at 7:26 am

buy fleet of 12, can give bulk discount?

• OhMyHair on Jun 27, 2023 at 10:40 am

Unfortunately no stock atm :(