GALLERY: 2021 Toyota Harrier 2.0 Luxury – RM250k

Yesterday, UMW Toyota Motor launched the new Toyota Harrier in Malaysia, and now we’re bringing you a full live gallery of the fourth-generation semi-premium SUV. Continuing to be sold through official channels – which it has been since 2018 – it arrives with a number of new features but with a less powerful engine.

Just one variant is being offered this time around – the 2.0 Luxury, priced at RM249,707 on-the-road without insurance. This figure, which includes the 50% sales and services tax (SST) rebate, is cheaper to the tune of nearly RM7,000 compared to the previous top variant. As usual, this price is valid until June 30, after which it goes up to RM259,000. A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty is included.

The reason it’s cheaper is that unlike the previous Harrier, which was powered by a turbocharged engine, this new one is only available with a naturally-aspirated mill – in this case, the same M20A-FKS 2.0 litre Dynamic Force four-cylinder found in the base RAV4. It makes 173 PS at 6,600 rpm and 203 Nm of torque from 4,400 to 4,900 rpm, which is some way down the 231 PS and 350 Nm of the outgoing model.

A Direct Shift CVT sends power to the front wheels, and so equipped, the Harrier will get from zero to 100 km/h in 9.7 seconds on its way to a top speed of 190 km/h. Owners can at least console themselves with the fact that the improvement in efficiency has made up for the shortfall in performance, with fuel consumption rated at 15.3 km per litre. That’s quite a jump over the previous turbo car, which was rated at 13 km per litre.

Built on the GA-K variant of the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), the new Harrier is slightly larger and lower than before, giving it a sleeker, more coupé-like profile. Highlights include the slim matrix LED headlights and closed-off upper grille, a large lower grille and full-width LED taillights. Also fitted are LED fog lights and the mid-range 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels (19s are offered in Japan).

Inside, there’s a plush-looking interior with a diamond-shaped centre console inspired by a horse’s saddle, sitting within the wraparound faux leather-trimmed dashboard. There are also a number of novel features, including a dimmable electrochromic panoramic glass roof and a digital rear-view mirror.

While we won’t get the full 12.3-inch centre touchscreen found in Japan, our car at least receives a proper OEM Toyota infotainment system – something that could not be said about the more expensive GR Yaris. It’s a similar eight-inch system offered in the RAV4 and comes with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity. A head-up display, a Qi wireless charger, a reverse camera and six speakers are also fitted.

Other bits of kit include LED fog lights, 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone climate control with Nanoe X air ionisation, power-adjustable front seats (12-way for driver, four-way for passenger) with heating, ventilation and driver’s side memory, a heated steering wheel with power adjustment, reclining rear seats, leather upholstery, a vehicle telematics system, premium solar and security tint, front and rear dash cams and a hands-free powered tailgate.

Safety-wise, the Harrier comes with the full Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assistance systems, including autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert and adaptive high beam. Seven airbags, stability control and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors are part of the standard specification.

The Harrier continues to utilise MacPherson strut suspension at the front and double wishbones at the rear, but the suspension geometry has been optimised for rigidity and handling balance. The retuned dampers also improve smoothness at lower speeds, while the increased sound insulation makes for a more refined drive.

Colour options include the Steel Blonde Metallic you see here, Slate Grey Metallic and Dark Blue Metallic. For an extra RM800, you can also have the Harrier in Precious Black and White Pearl Crystal Shine.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Harrier again?…really can’t stop laughing at the touchscreen….haaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • YB Albert on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:37 pm

Yup…you are absolutely spot on,correct.The touch screen looks like a kindy kid’s cheap immitation “andriod’ from China.
      I just upgraded my Camry’s audio with a touch screen,costing a few hundred bucks..so much better than this rm250 grand suv.
      On closer look,this harrier is like an elevated Camry,with a sporty rear design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Truckers on Apr 09, 2021 at 11:21 pm

Yeah right. Far off delusional

• Bernard on Apr 10, 2021 at 11:15 am

Recent best SUV shootout in youtube,
          1. Honda CR-V
          2. Toyota Harrier/Venza
          3. Mazda CX5
          4. VW Tiguan

• 3-in-1 coffee on Apr 12, 2021 at 7:13 am

Luxury price. Corolla interior. Mazda front bumper. NX rear dressing. Typical UN-product. Nice!

• Truckers on Apr 09, 2021 at 11:20 pm

Like watching an SD video on a FHD screen

• Celup King on Apr 10, 2021 at 11:47 pm

Pay rm20k more can get BMW X3 with brand prestige to boot. This toyota is simply too expensive!

• (Like) Honda CR-V 193PS.
    (Dislike) Toyota Harrier 173PS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
  • YB Albert on Apr 09, 2021 at 8:28 pm

After studying the behavior of UMW,I have come to the foregone conclusion that their pricing strategy is still “premium” even tho they have a sizable sales volume from their product mix.
    At Rm250 grand,one can have 2 units of base X70 and a Persona.Or perhaps,take time to select from parallel importers ,preowned ones,do the necessary repairs ,plus visit a car spa to spruce it all up.
    My observation ,is ,UMW is banking on extreme brand loyalty and ‘addiction” to lure hardcore fanboys.Of course,it not wrong,if one can afford to spend that kind of money.Plus hire purchase interest,dont forget ,the actual price spiralled above Rm300,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • sam123 on Apr 09, 2021 at 9:22 pm

many buyers still buy becos toyota cars good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Not a surprise lots of ppl here can spend that kind of money or more for a car. Look at beemer and merc sales here. It is breaking records every year.
      However, UMW should just let Lexus do the job for models more than RM200k. Lexus have the UX which is kind of overlapping this harrier and rav4.
      Expectations are different when you pay more than RM200k for a car. You just can’t serve 3-in-1 nescafe and karipap anymore in your typical service centre. It has to be freshly brewed expresso with some croissants.

• Toyota Malaysia has been like this for at least past 10 years. their cars are always ‘overpriced’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • zamer on Apr 10, 2021 at 12:30 pm

Is much cheaper here. The same Harrier selling in sinkie for RM528,700 or SGD$173,888… so is value for money luxury SUV definitely.

• Don’t worry, Malaysians think Toyota Harrier RM250k is worth the money.

• JohnX on Apr 10, 2021 at 12:19 pm

You are totally right. Umw seems to bring in lower specced cars at a much higher price. It seems they’re not bothered anymore, which is a shame. The rav4 competes with the cx-5 and the crv worldwide. Except in Malaysia where it comes in at a ridonkulous price. It’s disgraceful to fleece your customers on the basis of band loyalty. This harrier seems so low specced compared to the ones we see other markets have. Something fishy has been going on in umw for the past 10-15 years and they’re getting away with it scott free.

• Not mechanically inclined on Apr 09, 2021 at 11:57 pm

Hey Jonathan, it’s probably just a slip of the tongue but here’s a friendly reminder to be careful with the matrix led terminology. The harrier only has a conventional auto high beam that we’ve come to see in some cars. Matrix insinuates the ability to blank out certain (usually vertical) sections of the beam.

• helmi on Apr 10, 2021 at 1:15 am

The infotainment looks cheap. Engine hp and torque are less than before. The back signal light position looks weird. I’m gonna see it on in real and test drive it before making any decision.

• i am Toyota owner also..for this harrier exterior look good..but interior not worth at this price..dashboard very simple and what wrong with the touchscreen player?? aftersale or oem also look better than….

• SALang on Apr 10, 2021 at 5:30 pm

Not only the player look out of place.. the touch climate control also gone and replaced with old school knob.. omg..
      The previous gen interior with JBL looks way better.. imho..

• I think now days people wise enough to spend 250k.. I don’t think worth for this car

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 10, 2021 at 1:25 pm

Pretty good looking I must say but boy the engine is a big letdown but I guess lady drivers wun care much about it and what’s with that crappy infotainment screen la. Looks so damn out of place wei.

• tricycle on Apr 10, 2021 at 8:33 pm

Everything is great about this car except one. Where is the proven 2.0 Turbo 250hp with AWD?

Missed opportunity for Toyota. This should be alternative to others who prefer non-Germans in this segment.

And last, try to improve on the look of the touch screen center console. It also doesn’t look good. To be honest, Cr-v touch screen looks way better, even though Cr-v/civic screen is a bit of lag when touched if compared to the Germans and Swedish.

Wake up Toyota. And Toyota Malaysia please let them know about this.

• This suv good or not? I do not know. But for me, if I am going to spend rm250k for a car, I can tell you 101% that I will not buy harrier.

• carfan on Apr 11, 2021 at 12:16 am

They took out 360 camera and JBL sound system.
    These will be in the 2.5 hybrid luxury model like in Spore.
    No 2.oT engine as it will affect sizes of Lexus UX, NX and RX. Based on Jap domestic prices, CX5 2.5T AWD and Honda CRV AWD are better buys with at least 60K diff.

• Seriously? The center console screen looks like some cheap aftermarket LCD fitting from the 2000’s. No joke. I loved the car and owned every model of Harrier since 2005, till they’ve turned it to Lexus RX, then 3 years ago got the previous Harrier. This one has the ugliest screen. But I’ve also booked one. Love the comfort and reliability it offers.

• Not sure why everyone disses the screen. Once you apple/android play it will look like any other screen. Personally, I like having a smaller screen. I just use to waze around and not watch movies. Plus the extra bezel not the sides allow my to stick my phone holder.

I have a new CRV and this Harrier is a MUCH better drive. It IS under powered though. Should have kept the turbo.

• Seriously this is the most not worth buying luxury Suv rm250k here in Malaysia. Japan Toyota is happy because the demand for 2nd hand from Malaysia is high. To Toyota Japan a win win. To Toyota Malaysia a lose end. To recon a win. To end user not worth it