2022 Toyota SST prices: Vios and Yaris by as much as RM3k; Corolla Cross up RM5.4k; Alphard up RM17k

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has updated the pricing for Toyota models sold in Malaysia following the end of the sales and service tax (SST) exemption on June 30, 2022. As with other car companies, prices have gone up, and in the case of Toyota models, by as much as RM17,391.

The Alphard sees the highest price hike without the SST exemption, now being priced at RM464,000. Meanwhile, the Vellfire is up by RM14,419 to now retail at RM382,300. Models with price increases around the RM10k mark include the Camry as well as the Fortuner, with the top-spec diesel variant of the latter up by RM13,327.

Pick-up trucks do not qualify for the SST exemption as they are deemed as commercial vehicles, so the Hilux range stays unchanged from the previous price revision made in March this year. Other SUVs have had their prices increased by RM9,293.50 in the case of the Harrier, by as much as RM5,429 for the Corolla Cross, and by up to RM5,155 for the Rush.

The Innova now starts at RM133,880 for the 2.0G variant, which is RM8,648 more than before, with the higher-spec 2.0X also up by RM8,525. The base 2.0E isn’t listed on Toyota Malaysia’s website, and some models like the GR Supra and GR Yaris have “pricing to be updated” listed on them.

Popular B- and C-segment models like the Vios, Yaris and Corolla are also costlier without the SST exemption. The Vios and Yaris are now up by up to RM3,007 – as per the April 1 update – while the price hikes are higher for the Corolla, by up to RM7,383 – also revealed at the start of April.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Wise people must choose on Jul 12, 2022 at 10:14 am

(Like) Vios
    (Dislike) City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • Greeth on Jul 12, 2022 at 4:39 pm

Of course Vios. Vios is the smartest choice for buyers…no regrets, unlike City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 12, 2022 at 10:21 am

Nvm.. Toyota cars strong RV. Hail emperor Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Maverick Tajuddin (Distressed Envoy) on Jul 12, 2022 at 11:47 am

The addiction to change new cars is still vehemently strong.
      Major economies of the world..getting ready for recession.
      Here in Bolehland,the buying is like there is no tomorrow.
      Just dont buy to inflate MAA Datuk Aishah’s monthly sales report.
      Buy if u have all contingencies plan in place and after much due diligence.
      If not,better be safe than sorry.Banks have no mercy when they repossess cars,and permanently blacklist your name and IC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Dah Menang Semua on Jul 12, 2022 at 6:16 pm

We buy to support local assembly
        We buy Toyota like FD wont salah
        We buy car to help economy

• Honda Mampus on Jul 12, 2022 at 10:31 am

Still more value than Honda. All toyota models got 360 camera, blind spot monitor and carries at least 6 airbags unlike honda models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Dong Gor on Jul 12, 2022 at 10:54 am

210k for a jepunis D segment with ICE technology…keke. and price not include insurance yet. Kangtoi lar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Mr. Sotong on Jul 12, 2022 at 11:29 am

Try and walk in to any Toyota showroom and ask when u can get that car if you book today…

NEXT YEAR!… Kangtoi larr!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
      • Better than honda waiting period. Have to wait till next year if you book honda now. HRV and Civic also have to wait for 12 months

• Old plate on Jul 12, 2022 at 12:17 pm

Hello, it is shorter delivery time and I can get new Vios before end of this year.

• Because Camry facelift has upgraded with more technology and brand new powerful engine. Btw, this price is for sst tax

• Greeth on Jul 12, 2022 at 4:45 pm

Buy Toyota is the smartest choice I’ve made.. no regrets than Honda

• Mikechin on Jul 12, 2022 at 7:14 pm

Dei, wait for China made latest sedans and SUVs…Toyota is nothing to shout about there…here we still want to drive common car..hehehe…herd mentality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • You sure that Toyota is nothing to shout? Why not try Toyota and see whether it is better or not. Surely, Toyota is not common car

• Mikechin on Jul 12, 2022 at 7:15 pm

Dei, wait for China made latest sedans and SUVs…better features and pricing..Toyota is nothing to shout about there…here we still want to drive common car..hehehe…herd mentality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • You sure that Toyota is nothing to shout? Why not try Toyota and see whether it is better or not. Surely, Toyota is not common car.

• Seribu on Jul 13, 2022 at 8:50 am

Nvm, toyota will give better rebates and discounts forever to all