2022 Toyota Corolla Malaysian prices updated with SST – 1.8E from RM130,888, 1.8G at RM141,888 OTR

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has listed on its website that effective today, April 1, 2022, the 12th-generation Toyota Corolla range will be priced with sales and service tax (SST) inclusive.

As of April 1, the Toyota Corolla range in Malaysia is priced at:

• Corolla 1.8E – RM130,888
  • Corolla 1.8G – RM141,888

The new prices with sales tax included has taken effect from today, despite the exemption period ending on June 30, 2022 because the order books for the Corolla have been filled until the end of June, which means that any new units of this model booked from today will only be delivered from July onwards, according to a UMWT representative.

With this price adjustment, the 1.8G variant gets a price hike of RM2,000 over the RM139,888 price from June 2020, which was itself revised when the top variant gained a new nine-inch Display Audio unit that supports Android Auto, Apple CarPlay and Miracast. The 1.8E – without the Display Audio upgrade – also gets a price hike of the same amount, up from RM128,888 of before.

As before, both variants of the Corolla are powered by the 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre naturally aspirated inline-four cylinder petrol engine, which produces 139 PS at 6,400 rpm and 172 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. This sends drive to the front wheels through a CVT with seven virtual ratios, and the G variant additional offers paddle shifters for added manual control.

Standard safety equipment for the 2022 Corolla in Malaysia includes seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, traction control, stabilty control, hill start assist, emergency stop signal, tyre pressure warning system, seat belt warnings for the driver as well as front and rear passengers, rear seat ISOFIX mounts, and front and rear parking sensors.

As before and in addition to the standard safety kit list which applies to both variants of the Corolla, the 1.8G gains the pre-collision system (PCS), lane departure alert (LDA) with steering assist and lane tracing, dynamic radar cruise control, automatic high beam and blind spot monitoring.

Additional equipment gained by the 1.8 G variant inlcudes the Optitron instrument cluster, a seven-inch TFT multi-info display (4.2-inch on the E), dual-zone climate control, leather seats (fabric on the E), rear sunshade and wireless charger. Also standard on the 1.8G, and optional on the 1.8E are the 3D panoramic view monitor as well as front and rear digital video recorders.

Covered by a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty, the Toyota Corolla range is offered in five colours – Silver Metallic, Celestite Gray Metallic, Attitude Black, Red Mica Metallic, and for an RM800 premium, Platinum White Pearl.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Still better deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • mountain on Apr 01, 2022 at 5:24 pm

And very much stable car. Got blind spot monitor, AEB and CVT. Durable and quiet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • P.Alyanna on Apr 02, 2022 at 6:36 pm

Toyota bodoh sombong. Bad enough still treat us like 3rd World by giving us ancient engine and not Dynamic Force, yet have the cheek for long delays now expect us to pay SST on top? I am cancelling my order today!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 40
        • Many complainers here doesnt use their brain. Car manufacturer do not wish to delayed. Parts shortage are affected most industries during the Pandemic . However SST is implemented by the greedy government. If you guys wanted to sound. Find Ismail Sabri.

• Kanasai on Apr 02, 2022 at 6:07 pm

Dear Toyota, pls register my complaint here for your future improvement. Booked Toyota Corolla since October last year. Until today still haven’t received any. My SA said maybe have to wait until end April or so and he also not sure. That means waiting time is nearly 7 months. Really frustrated with Toyota for this uncertainty and now it is expected I have to pay SST?! Kanasai! If I knew I would have cancel my booking for X70 lahhh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
      • Every brands are all the same, no matter where you go

• Chavez on Apr 04, 2022 at 8:39 am

After approval from insurance from a minor accident… we waited 6 weeks for Corolla Parts n installation… the system is so poor that there was no Eta of Parts status available. Even the customer service phone is always unavailable and no return call after leaving messages… is really a painful experience

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • Did you even own one toyota corolla? I don’t see anyone complain about delivering parts. If you owned toyota then how did you know that have to wait for corolla parts for 6 weeks and there is no ETA?

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 01, 2022 at 3:14 pm

greedy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 44
  • Dong Gor on Apr 01, 2022 at 3:15 pm

Means SST confirmed no extension…no need wait for the appeal result d. Toyota faster than MAA

• Dr Strange on Apr 01, 2022 at 4:14 pm

Even without extension, many are still lining up to buy new X50 and X70. CEO Roslan cannot goreng enough pisangs X50 and X70 to serve all the customers that are angrily waiting to get their grubby hands on brand new rides.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
      • Far miles behind on Apr 02, 2022 at 9:21 pm

X50 and X70 is bigger car. Corolla sedan is smaller longer car

• Brian on Apr 02, 2022 at 10:01 pm

Toyota should fire their management team for failing to deliver all their booked cars prior to SST inclusion. Stupid to expect waiting customers will pay it. This is the mentality of thinking that will ruin Toyota’s image. One customer’s complaint is enough to ruin a good image because he is the only must pay the SST on top of installment every month for the car he was promised not to have SST during booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Dong Gor on Apr 01, 2022 at 4:14 pm

Btw, isn’t this model CBU from Thailand? And it’s hard to believe there are that many orders for this model until need more than 3 months to fulfil. A new marketing strategy ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Logical Deduction on Apr 02, 2022 at 6:03 pm

According to basher logic, that meant their management has failed and they are just focusing too much on sales but not on delivery and spareparts. Time to sack Toyota entire management, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • You can complain all you want, but people will not see what haters will said.

• Absolute on Apr 03, 2022 at 8:11 pm

At least toyota are also focusing delivering cars. I don’t see anyone complain about spare parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Want to bet. Go to Toyota FB. Many are waiting to replace faulty fuel pump or else risk engine stalling while on the move. I am one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Super Duper on Apr 01, 2022 at 4:31 pm

Toyota O Toyota.

When are you going to bolt in a turbo and ditch that CVT with DCT or at least an Automatic transmission.

You cars aren’t powerful and not fun enough to drive. It’s EXPENSIVE. Learn from Honda or the Conti cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
    • CVT is fine but I can’t agree with you, if want powerful like turbo but later if using turbo, it might have problems on turbo and maintain cost not as cheap as ordinary engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Coco cakes on Apr 01, 2022 at 4:34 pm

If local assembly corolla reach to malaysia, will sell like hot cakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • no more Toyota! on Apr 01, 2022 at 5:50 pm

Such greedy Toyota moves, I booked my Toyota years back, only got them within 1 mths, despite shortage of parts. Now quickly sold out, up to July stocks? You think we all blind here? How many Corolla in the read, you can see… Toyota is all about money… Puik! Rubbish mgmt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
    • Norlia on Apr 02, 2022 at 6:31 pm

fuh lega tak beli Corolla. lagi mantap ambik x70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
      • According from someone said Corolla is sedan while X70 is bigger car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Lets See on Apr 04, 2022 at 8:45 am

Msians are price sensitive, they will compare cars of similar prices across segments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Absolute on Apr 03, 2022 at 8:14 pm

You mean apple vs pineapple? Must compare with pineapple vs pineapple

• Curious on Apr 01, 2022 at 7:12 pm

Increased the price now so that it can off set the hike during merdeka promotion, business gimmick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • Double wishbone, noice ride

• FLASH on Apr 01, 2022 at 11:15 pm

Much better than old Altis that look so kosong

• WindowsMe on Apr 01, 2022 at 11:58 pm

No more uncle look!

• Bob Mal on Apr 02, 2022 at 10:12 am

Come on Toyota since you have updated to the TNGA platform (and charged more with the removal of 2.0L engine) for this car why do you not give us the 2.0 Dynamic Force Engine??? Instead you fitted in the 1.8L Dual VVT-i engine which has been used since grandma days here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
  • Amran on Apr 02, 2022 at 6:10 pm

Almost 3 years in the market but still delays in deliveries that customers now have to pay SST? LOL! Bravo toyolta.

• Toyoda Kiichiro on Apr 02, 2022 at 9:46 pm

People can complain all they want, but in the end they will still buy Toyota due to its reliability.

• aumeow on Apr 04, 2022 at 10:16 am

You know, the one who always keep complain on this and that, coming from hired honda trolls

• Man of Deer on Apr 02, 2022 at 10:41 pm

I want hybrid

• Lawrence on Apr 02, 2022 at 11:37 pm

Doesn’t matter. Still worth

• Pears on Apr 02, 2022 at 11:59 pm

Beautiful

• Ben Yap on Apr 04, 2022 at 3:07 pm

better get the new Civic. you’ll get the maximum bang for your buck!

• But when comes to poor quality, do you think still want to buy new Civic as hearing from so many new civic owners complaining

• Soichiro on Apr 04, 2022 at 10:50 pm

Wat ever it is .. civic will fill up malaysia road

• Why buy civic when there are so many issues on front parking sensor, wind noise, feel that there are parts already loose

• Ever think of why car manufacturers keep delaying in delivering the cars? Who will benefits after SST exemption ends? How much SST is missed if car manufacturers continue to deliver cars before SST ends?
    What happens when large backlog orders finally able to ship in and deliver?
    Just my 2 cents