Proton X50 SST prices up to RM10k more – RM86,300-RM113,300; Iriz and Persona up by as much as RM3.4k

Proton has updated the prices of the X50, Persona and Iriz to include sales and service tax (SST). Following the end of the SST exemption on June 30, 2022, the national carmaker had already revised pricing for its other models – X70, Saga and Exora – but the three models mentioned at the start were left out.

Starting with the X50, the base Standard now retails at RM86,300 with SST, which is an increase of RM7,100 or 8.96% from the previous price of RM79,200. Next up, the Executive is up RM8,500 or 10.02% to now sell for RM93,300 from RM84,800 previously.

Crossing the RM100k mark is the Premium, which is now priced at RM101,800, up RM8,600 or 9.23% over the launch price of RM93,200. At the top of the range, the Flagship now sells for RM113,300, up RM10k or 9.68% from the original price tag of RM103,300.

Moving on to the Persona, the entry-level variant of the sedan, the Standard, now sells for RM47,800, which is RM2,600 or 5.75% higher than before. Meanwhile, the Executive is up by RM3,200 or 6.39% at RM53,300, and the top-spec Premium is up RM3,400 or 6.19% to hit RM58,300.

Finally, the Iriz range now starts at RM42,800 for the Standard, which is RM2,500 or 6.2% more than the SST-less price of RM40,300. Going up the range, the Executive crosses the RM50k mark to sell at RM50,300, while the SUV-style Active is at RM57,300 – both are up by RM3,200 and RM3,300 respectively.

The X50, Persona and Iriz were all launched within the tax holiday window, so they never had SST-inclusive prices before. As is the case with all car companies, the end of the SST exemption is not something that they can control, and car prices have gone up as a result. You can check out the SST-inclusive prices of cars from other brands, here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• plotong tamak on Aug 17, 2022 at 10:43 am

too greedy lah plotong. now the x50’s price is essentially the same as the x70. the x70 is an even bigger car, more premium and spacious. i dont see any other brands put pricing like this. Also suddenly there’s a surge of x50’s stock. whether buyer cancel, or proton/dealer hold stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Up to you... on Aug 17, 2022 at 2:51 pm

What you expect from them?

#since1985

• Logical Deduction on Aug 17, 2022 at 5:04 pm

Supply and demand issue, it has been sometime since P1 had such a long running popular model so for them to take advantage to get more profits is simply just business sense. Why? You’d expected them to make losses while continue subsidising rakyat just for you to whack them for not making more money?

• P1 ultimate kipas susah mati on Aug 17, 2022 at 7:22 pm

Slurp

• Bolehland on Aug 17, 2022 at 8:09 pm

Hello logical deduction. Are you an idiot?

If cannot make profit and give notorious alasan such as China bigger market and bla3 and so on (you can rajin2 scroll back in this paultan, they already covered this issue).

Why at the first place P1 born for?

To scam the Rakyat sampai m*mpos?

No point to say P1 provide better features, value for my a$$ f’ing money and so on if the fight itself are HANDICAP a.k.a excise duty.

So tell me, what is your logical deduction from this matter?

Don’t eat too much dedak for your F deduction.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 17, 2022 at 10:45 am

120K for X50?
    Better new HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 40
    • HRV specs poor. Aftersales and quality for honda fail, spare parts for honda also failure and HRV design also fail. Blind spot monitor also don’t have but using outdated blind spot technology as lanewatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
      • aumeow on Aug 17, 2022 at 4:58 pm

Can’t blame him. He likes to buy honda but he didn’t know that honda is already tin kosong specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • You know what? The funniest part will be the Saga.

You think that the price just mere increase right? But, actually already increase from the previous (2019) with alasan of more features.

For me, I prefer the 2019 model rather than the newest KDK facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • P1 had long been absorbing SST burden away from customers ever since it came back. Whatever price increase is justifiable looking at cost of raw materials today.

For me, the best P1 is the latest car out from the factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • FudgeMeSideways on Aug 17, 2022 at 7:03 pm

Then u’re a bonafide fanboy, mana boleh listen to u?

• Logical Deduction on Aug 18, 2022 at 8:20 am

Is it fanboyism when it is the plain truth?

• And you believe bulat2 on them saying like that?

Hidup2 lu kne kencing mat. Cek kepala tu basah da tuh.

• Axepro on Aug 17, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Haha enjoy your 1.5 NA HRV

• Javin on Aug 17, 2022 at 6:04 pm

It is time for you to change your civic turbo 2018.

• Haters gonna hate on Aug 18, 2022 at 8:28 am

Better just drive your Civic Turbo 2018 and can’t afford Benz.

• Bob Mal on Aug 17, 2022 at 10:54 am

Well Proton is definitely getting greedy aside from the Saga, x70 & (Exora -This is also bound to increase coming Friday) which remains almost the same price prior to reduction of SST back in 2020 almost all increased by leaps and bounds.

One can say there’s update for Iris and Persona but how can one justify similarly Priced X50 Premium goes up by Rm7500 while the x70 Standard only went up RM4900?

• Im a person on Aug 17, 2022 at 11:04 am

Dulu harga kereta jenama import naik harga sebab nak jaga jenama tempatan. Now jenama tempatan pun naik harga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • We deserve better. on Aug 17, 2022 at 8:12 pm

Dan ada juga penjilat tegar mempertahankannya umpama lawan askar Jepun di Malaya suatu masa dahulu.

Boleh syahid ke jd penjilat tegar nih?

• Alcatraz Ajibkor on Aug 17, 2022 at 11:24 am

What on earth is P1 doing?
    9-10% increase in prices for the 4 variants of X50.
    Is this due to genuine SST increase or Proton “chan for ta keep..meaning while the blaze is going on,rob.”
    Cant u absorb a bit n reward the loyal fanboys with a lower pricing?
    Why such wild discrepancies in so called “SST percentages..from 1.2% to 10.02% ?

• Sarcasm on Aug 17, 2022 at 8:14 pm

You know lah, later when kantoi, they will release another media statement saying bla bla bla.

Rather than denial and bluffing statement better said :

Ini semua takdir drpd Tuhan.

Kita hanya mampu merancang, Tuhan menentukannya…

Cliché.

• TinkerScott on Aug 17, 2022 at 11:58 am

Even with price hike for X50, still better than HRV. X50 got BSM, front parking sensors & temp engine meter than 12year old tech overpriced, plastic quality HRV without BSM and front parking sensors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
    • Autodriver on Aug 17, 2022 at 5:31 pm

How can X50 is a better buy than HRV when it is a 3 pot vibrating engine compare to HRV 4 pot engine. Plus X50 fuel consumption is considered worst among B segment SUV/Crossover. And also HRV interior space is much spacious than X50 and it even spacious than X70.

If one afford foreign car they will never consider Proton at price over RM 100k. Plus Proton spare part problem is far worse than Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
      • I test drive both of HRV and X50, seriously, I felt that X50 is more comfort than HRV. I heard that proton spare parts will improve soon. If you say honda spare parts is better than proton, then why I hear that people also complaining about honda spare parts. Btw, I would trade my city to X50 soon. Before buying X50, I also compare between HRV and X50 while others are out from my list, X50 is final choice to choose though that people complain that quality and aftersales but sooner the worst for proton aftersales and quality will be over and felt that it is bad enough driving city gm6 after driving for just two years with so many problems including absorber. Cannot tahan with service as can’t solve the problems till today. Btw, X50 has better specs than HRV.

• How did you know that HRV is more spacious. Somehow, I think you better check out and tried X70. X70 is bigger and more comfort with more luggage space than HRV.

• Vibrating engine? Dude this same engine is used in Volvo’s World COTY car you’d think that a luxury brand could do that? AFAIK there were no such complaints heard about ‘vibrating engine’ on the XC40 so I don’t get what your prattling about.

• tradaNippon on Aug 18, 2022 at 11:06 am

Wait… that’s it!? That’s your argument over “HRV is a better buy than X50”? Huuuh.. looks like from now on we have to only consider engine cylinder, interior space, FC, parts and price. If all these are satisfying, then just buy lo.. no need to consider other things like safety features and all.

• Why So Serious on Aug 17, 2022 at 12:14 pm

Still the most worth it car by far

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Dong Gor on Aug 17, 2022 at 12:38 pm

SST discount 4k..SST reinstated up 10k Keke. Mana logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Simple. Don’t buy. If there is demand, there will always be supply.

The consumer so happy getting scam from them, since 1985.

• Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Aug 17, 2022 at 12:46 pm

How about saga?

• Alasan? on Aug 17, 2022 at 2:56 pm

What do you mean? Care to elaborate more? Or is it you too lazy to read the whole damn article.

• It is not just SST lor, our ringgit depreciation also count. Plus raw material and parts price increase.

• Kathryne on Aug 17, 2022 at 12:51 pm

So now low spec X50 and X70 is up to RM 110k range,
    Doesn’t get BSM, AEB, RCTA, ACC.

Now City 1.5EV and HR-V 1.5L cheaper and more fuel saving.
    CNY can park nearer and cheaper..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • But the specs poor for HRV and City. City 1.5EV is even slower than X50 flagship. No blind spot monitor at all but using outdated blind spot technology as lanewatch. Not safe to buy HRV and City without 360 camera. Aftersales service and quality also fail for honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • They increase the price so that it will look premium. So that you can park nearer during CNY.

#P1logic

• Axepro on Aug 17, 2022 at 4:16 pm

Lol keep your 1.5NA, what a joke

• Denial? on Aug 17, 2022 at 8:21 pm

Axepro. It’s not a joke. It’s reality. Are you damn happy they milking every cent that you earn since 1985?

• Proton Cars hiding behind “After SST price hike”

Although it is not really about TAX, they just use it for reasons so that people easily accept it,
    just because they can.

For instance,

-Honda CRV 161K > 170K (8K or 5.24%)
    -Honda city RS 105K > 108K (2.8K or 2.68%)
    -Toyota Corolla 134K > 141K (7.3K or 5.49%)
    -Toyota Vios 87K > 90K (2.8K or 3.2%)
    – Perodua Ativa 71K > 72K (1.4K or 1.97%)
    – Perodua Aruz 73K > 77K (4.6K or 6.3%)

From a logic standpoint, other manufacturers which did not have special tax rates such as PROTON only hike between 2-7%.

We as consumers don’t mind price hikes, but make it logical with additional accessories, since it is not only about tax but extra milking profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Right? on Aug 17, 2022 at 2:58 pm

Buat ape jual murah kalo blh jual mahal?

The consumer seems to be happy getting scam with that kind of price.

#since1985

• That is the nature of supply and demand. Willing buyer, willing seller. Doing business.

• x50 with the highest increase. Such an average suv can get so popular response from malaysians………..x50 really got nothing to shout.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Still worth than HRV, City and City hatchback. Not even come with blind spot monitor and 360 camera but come with outdated blind spot technology as lanewatch. Worst that HRV also no front parking sensors. Aftersales and quality for honda already fail. Spare parts for honda also fail.

• Mr. Sotong on Aug 17, 2022 at 2:46 pm

It’s not just SST. Cost inflation & profit increase factored in also.

• Think on Aug 17, 2022 at 6:36 pm

This is why you are still Sotong

• Langit ketujuh benaknya? on Aug 17, 2022 at 8:30 pm

They are just making excuses. Don’t be such a moron la Mr. Sotong.

HANDICAP match also still wanna BERSORAK ke?

Idiocy at its highest level.

• Rebadged Geely depend on China’s suppliers fir most of the parts so when our currency drops, the import cost goes up. With MOF’s new taxation mechanism of how much local values are added into the parts, I am NOT surprised the SST tax is higher now than before. Proton cannot insulate herself from those factors.

• apamacam on Aug 17, 2022 at 7:15 pm

Many proton bots defending price hike lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • P1 = Musibat, Pondan on Aug 17, 2022 at 8:26 pm

Must be P1 SA. P1 now acah2 premium, meanwhile in China sell 1/2 of our price. Wanna go global also such a fail outside. Only jaguh kampung bersorak mcm Lebai Malang.

They will said of course China can sell cheap2, bigger market and bla3. Here Malaysia small market cannot la and bla3.

If cannot, just F close shop lah.

No point fighting in HANDICAP match like pondan.

• https://paultan.org/2022/07/20/2022-perodua-alza-launched-2nd-gen-7-seat-mpv-android-auto-rfid-asa-standard-from-rm62500/
      P2 bot here trying to deflect the 10k price increase for Alza. Riiighhhttt….

• CalCheese on Aug 18, 2022 at 10:44 am

Jealousy but proton sales are great and x50 july 2022 also sold 4763

• Proton 90's king on Aug 17, 2022 at 10:46 pm

Funny at this price range, the 1st gen hrv was the best choice suv with a “proper” 1.8na 4 cylinder timing chain engine.

• Books the car in March now August dealer called price already changed.wtf!loan already signed and everything

• CalCheese on Aug 18, 2022 at 10:44 am

Waiting for proton bashers…3,2,1

• Ground europe passenger on Aug 18, 2022 at 10:55 am

Persona exec rm53k still most value b segment in malaysia. If u don’t mind to go service center change timing belt every 80k km milleage. Or else sacrifice the boot to wait at least 6 mths for a myvi.

• Kayathiry on Nov 26, 2022 at 6:29 pm

X50