2022 Mazda SST prices: Mazda 3 up to RM5.4k more; CX-5 up RM6.9k, CX-8 up RM9.1k, CX-30 up RM5.4k

Mazda is next to update its price list following the end of the sales and service tax (SST) exemption on June 30, 2022. As the trend goes, prices have gone up with the removal of the exemption, with the largest increment being RM9,190 in terms of monetary value, or 4.2% if we look at percentage.

The model with the most substantial price increase is the MX-5 RF, with both the manual and automatic variants costing around RM9.1k more compared to before. Meanwhile, the CX-9 range has been reduced to just the 2.5T 2WD with the Ignite Edition appearance package, which is priced RM8,763 more at RM328,610 on-the-road without insurance.

As for the Mazda 3, prices have gone up by as much as RM5,380, while the Mazda 2 sees a price hike of RM2,400 for both the sedan and hatchback. Those interested in the Mazda 6 will need to pay just over RM7k more for the 2.5L variants, or RM5,242 for the sole 2.0L option.

The CX-3 continues to come in a single 2.0 2WD variant, which now costs RM4,530 more with SST exemption at RM131,359. The price increases for the CX-30 vary between RM4,300 to RM5,370 across its five variants, which include two Ignite Edition options.

Moving on to the popular CX-5, the turbocharged variant of the SUV now sells for RM183,778.50, or RM6,926.40 more than before, with the 2.5 High 2WD seeing the second highest increase in the line-up by RM6,852.50 – others went up by as much as RM6,058.20.

Lastly, the CX-8 was recently revised a few days before the SST exemption ended, with equipment enhancements across the range that now includes a turbocharged variant. On the former, the previous 2.5 Mid Plus 2WD variant is now known as the 2.5 High 2WD, which has instead been renamed as the 2.5 High Plus 2WD.

The 2.2D AWD High also lost its all-wheel drive system and is now known as the 2.2D High Plus 2WD. With that in mind, prices have indeed gone up – by as much as RM9,135 – although this is due to a combination of SST returning as well as the revisions made.

No price changes for the BT-50 as it is classified as a commercial vehicle and didn’t benefit from the SST exemption. The MX-30 launched alongside the CX-8 only came with SST-inclusive pricing for the EV High variant, which sells for RM198,780 – there’s also an EV Mid option but we don’t have a figure for that just yet.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• That’s why I bought hailak… Hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Hailak and those mazda passenger vehicles aren’t same family segment. Only BT-50 and Hailak are the same segment

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 04, 2022 at 8:58 pm

U all should’ve book the new-HRV
      Or similarly the ALZA, VELOZ
      not yet launch, no-SST terus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
      • Mee Nissin on Jul 04, 2022 at 10:21 pm

If they bring US HR-V version, that will be better looking. But we get uglier looking HR-V with wierd infortainment screen that don’t match with interior dashboard and also lanewatch, so no thanks!
        Mazda cars are safe loaded with airbags, advanced driver assistance system, engine temp status, blind spot monitor & 360 degree camera unlike most unsafe Honda Malaysia cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Epson on Jul 05, 2022 at 12:20 am

People rather prefer to wait for CKD CX-30.

• Lolita on Jul 05, 2022 at 10:49 am

CX-5 2.0 don’t have ACC,
          Better wait and see the compact SUV CX-30 first.

• Chulia on Jul 05, 2022 at 12:44 pm

If you look at CX-30, specs are already good enough but once CKD CX-30 are CKD, CRV will easily eat whole share of CR-V and maybe HR-V

• Chulia on Jul 05, 2022 at 1:09 pm

Sorry I need to edit few errors which supposedly CX-30 eat the whole market of CR-V,

• Chulia on Jul 04, 2022 at 8:53 pm

Habislah CR-V, even once CX-30 are CKD in near future, CBU CX-30 specs are still better and better value than CR-V

• Mee Nissin on Jul 04, 2022 at 10:53 pm

At least crv got engine temp status. Civic used to have engine temp status, but strangely removing engine temp status when launching recent new civic, yet look at civic europe, at least got engine temp status and blind spot monitor. While we still here are not moving to upgrade to blind spot monitor, while all brands have already get blind spot monitor. That’s why honda malaysian cars are more like unsafe cars or called coffin honda cars

• Maverick Rafizi on Jul 04, 2022 at 8:54 pm

Oh my,the cheapest Mazda 1.5 car is 107 grand if u add insurance.
    107K..u can have an Alza 1.5 with spare cash for a used Myvi.
    Or another combination of cheapest Vios or City with base Axia ..lots of alternatives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • what’s your point?
      cheapest ferrari is 2mil. you can buy a lot of alza with it. Yes mazda is not a ferrari but it’s not a perodua as well. People who buy mazda don’t desire a perodua. if not they would have bought 2perodua as you suggest. The problem with mazda is that there is too many in the market now. Too long waiting period even before MCO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Copy paste on Jul 05, 2022 at 8:31 am

Apa yg kau merepek? Sekarang compare 1.5 litre keta.Jangan compare Ferrari dengan Alza atau Mazda 2.
        LU compare gajah dengan tikus.

• Aaron on Jul 05, 2022 at 2:05 am

Don’t compare that kind of tin kosong/sampan car with Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Haters gonna hate on Jul 05, 2022 at 8:43 am

Don’t buy car, with that money you can eat a lot of foods too.

• Epson on Jul 05, 2022 at 12:20 am

I want to see assembly car of CX30 soon

• Tortilla on Jul 05, 2022 at 3:20 pm

Mazda3 1.5L is nice.
    Fuel efficient and cheap road tax.

• Noname on Jul 06, 2022 at 11:06 am

Lol…,Mazda 2 selling at 103k,

• If mazda can offer more powerful tuning engine. But I will not consider cx5 for the 2.5na or 2.5turbo as too many cx5 otr. I like something dif.

• Thayanand on Jul 06, 2022 at 7:26 pm

Are you Sure the base price before sst was 179,888 for 2.5 T. Including soul Red and insurance I paid 185k .. bought the car in March.

• Akmal on Jul 08, 2022 at 3:02 pm

Feel so lucky bought my own mazda 3 ignite red before sst , atleast i cant bought a new iphone .. alhamdullilah

• Asskerhole on Jul 10, 2022 at 8:34 pm

Who wanna buy these mazda junk? Look fast but engine slow still like to drive fast. Thought themselve driving BMW but far from it. Ah beng, go and test drive BMW and you knw the power and quality different. Price also different. Bwahahaha!