2022 Mazda CX-3 updated in Malaysia – Qi charger and larger eight-inch touchscreen added; RM131,929

In addition to the Ignite Edition variants of the Mazda 3 and CX-30, Bermaz Motor also introduced the updated CX-3 for the 2022 model year. The changes done to the fully-imported (CBU) B-segment crossover are relatively minor and do result in a slight increase in price.

As before, just one variant is available – 2.0L High – which now retails at RM131,929 on-the-road without insurance. This is inclusive of the 50% sales tax exemption on CBU cars and is RM1,200 more than when the CX-3 received a prior update in 2021.

New for 2022 is a Qi wireless charger as well as an eight-inch touchscreen, the latter being an inch larger than before. The touchscreen continues to be linked to the Mazda Connect infotainment system, which now supports wireless Apple CarPlay instead of just a wired connection – there’s still Android Auto but that still requires a cable.

Beyond these improvements, the rest of the CX-3 remains unchanged, with standard features like 18-inch wheels with 215/50 profile tyres, LED lighting (automatic headlamps, DRLs, front fog lamps and taillights), rain-sensing wipers, keyless entry, a powered sunroof, eight parking sensors (four front and four rear), a 360-degree view camera and tinting (now called Activ-e Film).

Inside, there’s leatherette upholstery, a 10-way powered driver’s seat with memory function, a 4.6-inch TFT LCD instrument cluster display, a head-up display, single-zone automatic climate control, six speakers and paddle shifters.

The i-Activsense suite that was added as per the previous update remains and includes High Beam Control (HBC), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), Driver Attention Alert (DAA) and Smart City Brake Support (SCBS), the last of which is autonomous emergency braking for the front and rear. These join the existing Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA).

Passive safety systems include six airbags (front, side and curtain), ABS, Dynamic Stability Control, EBD, brake assist, traction control, emergency stop signal, Hill Launch Assist, an electronic parking brake with auto hold, walk away lock, all-seat seatbelt warning and Isofix child seat anchors.

Motivation continues to be provided by a SkyActiv-G 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine making 154 hp at 6,000 rpm and 206 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm. Drive is sent to the front wheels via a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission, allowing for a top speed of 197 km/h. Other driving-related systems are Mazda’s i-Stop idling technology and G-Vectoring Control (GVC).

Each purchase continues to come with a five-year, 100,000-km warranty and free maintenance package. As for colours, returning options are Soul Red Crystal, Snowflake White Pearl, Deep Crystal Blue, Machine Grey and a new Polymetal Grey, with Platinum Quartz being a new hue available to customers.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Lets See on Mar 28, 2022 at 2:35 pm

No ACC? With all those gadgets they coulda activated it! Stingy Aholes Berjaya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
  • Kinda unfortunate that Mazda is continuing to bring in the CX-30, CX-3, and Mazda3 in CBU form. We’re such a price-sensitive market — what happened to their CKD plans? They kept saying it’s “coming soon”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • CX-30 CKD will launch sometimes this year

• Berjaya is not pushing for Mazda sales anymore. What a pity for such a niche brand.

• that is where they are wrong, as premium Mazda & Hyundai is, its still a mainstream manufacturer. They need to chase volume

i love mazda, but i hate how the importer somewhat disillusioned by the the fact its a normal brand, not a luxury brand

• Bob Mal on Mar 28, 2022 at 3:48 pm

OMG we are getting cheated again why is the Mazda 3 having a higher output with the exact same engine ??? 154hp vs 162hp & 206Nm vs 213Nm….Why!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • @SnakeBabu on Mar 28, 2022 at 4:28 pm

I’m a fan of CX-3, was waiting for this to replace my aging Jazz. But seriously Mazda, your Smart City Brake Support (SCBS) only works under 30km/h ??

• Later they will intro ‘upgrade’ package that you have PAY to uprate SCBS for higher and higher speeds.

• Well done on Mar 28, 2022 at 9:06 pm

For future KL speed limit which is 30km/h…

• berombon on Mar 29, 2022 at 8:48 am

I pon kurang paham sangat ni but the feature says Smart City Brake Support working under 30kmh…actually how fast you want to drive lah in the city? I suppose it works best masa you in a jam and while playing on your h/phone, reading and commenting stuff on FB, tictoking, IG etc…so the car takes care of braking for you…
      I might be wrong lah..cos I os donno much about this feature..

• it works up to 80 km/h. u can see in their web.

• David on Mar 28, 2022 at 5:34 pm

Rear leg room still cramped?

• ryanLee on Mar 28, 2022 at 9:04 pm

nice specs but always think that the prefacelift first edition looks sportier and sexier. even the rim just well matched. i just dont know what is with the overall front fascia now. even the collection of photos here dont show direct frontal. sorry.

• CompactSUV on Sep 07, 2022 at 1:52 pm

DejaVu, just like Proton Exora.

https://paultan.org/2014/11/19/mazda-cx-3-b-segment-suv/

2014 – 2022.
    Back to 2014?

Now 2 airbags, No 6 airbags?
    Now use Mazda2 1.5L?

Meanwhile, Mazda CX-3 2.0L starting 769,000 THB/RM 94,300.

• John C on Sep 07, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Only 2 airbags? Seriously?

• kay164 on Sep 07, 2022 at 4:23 pm

Drove both CX-3 and X50. If you want better handling, its the CX-3. Steering feel is perfectly weighted. If you want latest tech and power, get the X50. The turbo and dsg combo is a gem. To me, X50 is a better value overall now since the mazda is no longer CBU Japan. If you have extra budget, get the CX30 and you get great handling and latest tech but still loses on the power though. Not until they introduce the turbo skyactive.

• Boy Racer on Sep 07, 2022 at 8:40 pm

Embarrassing for Bernal Mazda to even dare sell us this outdated car

• Bieight8 on Sep 07, 2022 at 9:24 pm

Even myvi 1.3 comes with more airbags…

• Abang paultan. Tolong bagitau bermaz. Saya tak nak. Tidak akan beli. 2 airbag kereta