2023 Mazda CX-3 1.5L Core in Malaysia – entry-level variant with 114 hp, 149 Nm; CBU Thailand; fr RM108k

The Mazda CX-3 line-up was expanded last year to include two new variants, with the one featured here being the 1.5L Core. Priced at RM107,920 on-the-road without insurance, the entry-level option sits below the 2.0L Core (RM118,359) and 2.0L High (RM131,559).

The Core variants are powered by the same Skyactiv-G 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine used in the Mazda 2, with outputs of 114 hp at 6,000 rpm and 149 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The mill, which features Mazda’s i-Stop idling start/stop technology, is paired with a Skyactiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission that sends drive to the front wheels.

While it may be down on power compared to the High which serves up 154 hp and 206 Nm from its 2.0 litre engine, the Core variants offer slightly better fuel consumption at 5.7 l/100 km instead of 6.3 l/100 km.

In terms of equipment, the base variant comes with 16-inch alloy wheels (with 215/60 profile tyres), halogen projector headlamps and bulb-type daytime running lights. If you want automatic LED headlamps, LED fog lamps, rain-sensing wipers, auto-folding side mirrors and parking sensors, you’ll need to step up to the 2.0L High.

Other standard items that are fitted to the Core include fabric seat upholstery, manual air-conditioning controls, keyless entry and start, powered side mirrors, a multi-function steering wheel, a 4.6-inch TFT LCD instrument cluster and a selectable Sport mode. Despite its positioning, the Core does come with an electronic parking brake (with auto brake hold) and passive cruise control.

There’s also the Mazda Connect infotainment system that includes an eight-inch touchscreen as well as support for wired Android Auto and Apple CarPlay. This system is linked to a reverse camera and a six-speaker sound system – this kit list applies to the 2.0L Core as well.

The meet the price point, the Core variants miss out on the High’s head-up display, paddle shifters, Qi wireless charger, automatic air-conditioning system, a powered driver’s seat, leatherette upholstery and 360-degree camera.

Both also come without the High’s safety and driver assistance systems, which are six airbags, autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning, rear cross traffic alert, blind spot monitoring, high beam control and driver attention alert. Instead, they make do with two airbags and the usual array of passive systems (ABS, EBD, Dynamic Stability Control, traction control, Hill Launch Assist and ISOFIX child seat anchors).

This CX-3 is finished in Polymetal Grey, which is one of several colours offered, with the others being Soul Red Crystal, Snowflake White Pearl, Machine Grey, Platinum Quartz and Jet Black. Each purchase comes with a five-year/100,000-km vehicle warranty and free maintenance package.

It should be noted that the CX-3 is now fully imported (CBU) from Thailand, as opposed to from Japan previously. At this asking price, is the CX-3 1.5L Core something you might consider if you’re in the market for a compact B-segment crossover/SUV?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Wise one on Jun 26, 2023 at 11:40 am

Better get city hatch hybrid for the same price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Jaguh Global on Jun 26, 2023 at 1:12 pm

Afta zero import tax policy failed.

Guess who violated it many times before that infuriating ASEAN neighbours just to pamper the protected species?

• CX-3 is for the “die die want Mazda SUV” crowd.

• Good luck selling this car. You charged the same price as Honda HR-V 1.5S spec but without all the advanced safety suite. Yes I know it’s because of CBU thing but that is just lame excuses to exclude advanced safety suite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • meladam on Jun 26, 2023 at 3:25 pm

for this old model, better just buy basic spec. I think this is the cheapest new CBU six-speed auto you can get. Not all people like all high tech stuff in CVT HRV. Quality finishing might win on this crab. Size wise, HRV bigger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • just buy yourself a set of leather furniture, if you buy this entry level myvi 1.0l for the purpose of enjoying ‘premiumness’

• It seems like mazda has been paying too much to market it rather than to improve the features. Almost every top malaysia car influencers have been posting it lately. i was attracted to it until enter the driver seat. literally designed for 150-155cm driver and 120cm passengers.

• apa beza?? mazda main emosi

• hazri on Jun 26, 2023 at 3:12 pm

terkecik, tersendat, terburuk suv. mazda cx-5 passenger seat pun cramp, lagi la cx-3. please discontinue the production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Ground europe passenger on Jun 26, 2023 at 4:42 pm

It actually not that bad, for people who find adas rather irritating and had bad experiences with cvt gearbox. Mazda sell u a decent “core” car without fancy gimmick.

• Finally, a proper Mazda.
    All those extra gadgets never made any difference anyway. I made my millions in my Wira and I will continue to do so with this cx-3.. I’m sold!

• Outalingam Crap on Jun 27, 2023 at 10:49 am

1.5L NA vehicles priced at MYR100k upwards shall NEVER AT ALL BE WORTH MY PURCHASE – PERIOD….

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 27, 2023 at 1:41 pm

the safety is a joke

• Paying inflated CBU price for Thailand import? No way in hell.