2024 BYD Seal review in Malaysia – two variants, from RM180k; how does it compare to the Tesla Model 3?

First shown in Malaysia at the end of 2022 and officially launched in February this year, the BYD Seal arrives on the Malaysian market as the closest competitor to the Tesla Model 3, and the Chinese EV model is offered here in two variants; starting from RM180,430 for the Premium, and RM200,430 for the Performance AWD.

The Premium marks the entry point to the Seal range in Malaysia, and it gets a 313 PS/360 Nm rear motor fed by an 82.5 kWh lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery. This enables the Premium variant to do 0-100 km/h in 5.9 seconds and a claimed battery range of 580 km (WLTP), or 57 km more than the base-variant Tesla Model 3, which costs RM10,000 more.

The second of the two Seal variants is the Performance AWD that packs a dual-motor powertrain for all-wheel-drive, and boasts of combined outputs of 530 PS and 670 Nm of torque. This brings a significant step up in sprint performance, taking the 0-100 km/h time down to just 3.8 seconds. The same 82.5 kWh battery is employed for the Performance AWD, and so its range is shorter, at 520 km.

An 800-volt electrical architecture enables both variants of the Seal to accept up to 150 kW of DC charging, which will do a 10-80% top up of the battery in 37 minutes. In terms of AC charging, the Seal uses an onboard charger that only goes up to 7 kW, and thus a full charge from an AC wallbox will take 15.2 hours.

Further distinguishing the Premium variant from the dual-motor Performance AWD is that the latter gets passive frequency-selective damping, and the two are otherwise similarly specified. Rolling stock for both is a set of 19-inch two-tone alloy wheels shod in 235/45 tyres, in this base being the Continental EcoContact 6 Q.

Inside, the BYD Seal continues to carry the brand’s organically-styled interior, albeit with more restraint than on the Atto 3, and in here the Seal boasts of larger screens than those specified in other BYD models; this gets a 10.25-inch digital instrument panel and a 15.6-inch rotating infotainment touchscreen.

Safety kit on the Seal is comprised of eight airbags (including rear side airbags), stability control and a full range of driver assists. These include autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, traffic sign recognition, blind spot monitoring with collision prevention, front and rear cross traffic alert with auto brake and automatic high beam.

So, how does the BYD Seal stack up against the Tesla Model 3? Watch the video here.

GALLERY: BYD Seal Premium in Malaysia
GALLERY: BYD Seal Performance AWD in Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• meladam on Apr 23, 2024 at 11:22 am

interior could be better and simplified for an ev car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
    • gtfo musk simp on Apr 23, 2024 at 1:57 pm

simplified? why do you think all ev owners want expensive empty pencil box that teslas are?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
      • Boicott king on Apr 23, 2024 at 2:40 pm

You want branding, go for Tesla. You want cheaper EV, go for BYD. Putting both cars side by side, attention goes to Tesla driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • Pro-Palestine on Apr 24, 2024 at 10:03 am

Visited a car show, BYD seal seems to gather way way way more crowd than Tesla. Not sure what you are smoking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Kopi Jantan on Apr 24, 2024 at 8:58 pm

Tesla design is smooth and classic. Wondering why some say BYD looks nicer. Tesla buyers have better class, i dont see them making bad comment on BYD. And many who said BYD is good are not the potential buyer. May be keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • Kopi Jantan Tak Faham on Apr 25, 2024 at 10:01 am

@Kopi Jantan

Really?Then why there are Tesla fanboys have been talking bad about BYD when BYD Seal launch here, because of their jealousy or either that havent test drive right. People can able to see which car is good, cheaper and also more reliable, not the brand or letting Tesla fanboys forcing you not to buy BYD and forcing to buy Tesla just because BYD won their sales than Tesla, does not mean Tesla fanbooys have to talk bad about BYD

• Kopi Betina on Apr 25, 2024 at 7:44 pm

Have you bought the dugong BYD? Or just the keyboard hero

• newme on Apr 23, 2024 at 3:03 pm

Not all but most.

• Hafifi Hawari on Apr 23, 2024 at 4:26 pm

Agree. This BYD way faster than Audi RS4 avant

• Nope. Nak simplified smpi mcm tesla? So booooooring….

• Jerry Sirat on Apr 23, 2024 at 11:22 am

BYD will never be better than my merc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
  • anonymous on Apr 23, 2024 at 11:41 am

i think the true test of these chinese EVs is if they will survive once the tax holiday ends. i can only imagine these cars becoming even more so unaffordable to the masses, and encroaching prices of more established marques so rich people end up avoiding these cars and going back to ICE cars. what would happen then? will all these companies gulung tikar and leave? for instance that Neta brand. i have genuinely not seen a single one on the road. BYD might survive but the other brands am not so sure…yes including GWM’s Ora vehicles…even these are rather rare on the road. i guess time will tell. wished that there were policies pushing for further integration and improvement of public transportation instead of this EV push, but at the end of the day it’s all about the bottom line and what makes money right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Mike Tee on Apr 24, 2024 at 11:55 am

Re: Public transport, always. 100% agree with you. But a car represents freedom and aspiration still for many people.

Estimates on MY fossil fuel reserve varies but it’s within 50 years (2040-2065). What happens to RM2.05 as we approach scarcity and have to import? Unless hydrogen engines become a thing the future as it stands is EV, running on renewable grid. Many countries (especially non oil producing) are incentivising EV adoption for this very reason. HK petrol costs RM15.23 (HKD25.09 google “HK Shell Price Board”), it will cost you RM548 to fill up a MyVi with 36L of petrol.

The hate for EV is real, we see it on this website all the time but it’s not a Illuminati conspiracy. Adoption is done for the reason stated above.

• Pro-Palestine on Apr 25, 2024 at 2:27 pm

That is why good reason to sapu more Chines EV now. Harga murah giler now. Chinese company is selling at a loss. Cepat beli

• Overall a great package, but shame the charging is so slow for what’s supposedly an 800V architecture vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Farhash Wafa Salvador on Apr 23, 2024 at 12:03 pm

My dream car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • If really want to try, just get a second hand. There are plenty of BYDs in the listing. Almost brand new. There are suckers buy, regret and sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • cancan on Apr 23, 2024 at 1:20 pm

I think the Seal is priced slightly higher in Malaysia compared to Australia and Thailand. Should be priced around 160k to 170k. It’s too near the price of a Tesla in Malaysia. At that price, I would get the Tesla 3. The only advantage going for it, is Tesla’s nonexistence service center or pick up locations if you don’t live around the Klang valley.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Vtec kick in yo on Apr 23, 2024 at 1:39 pm

What color is your Bugatti

• Hahaha on Apr 23, 2024 at 5:25 pm

I don’t understand, Seal spec is better, design seems better, everything seems better but why manufacturer so kind and sell it cheaper than Tesla

• Jason on Apr 23, 2024 at 5:30 pm

Tesla is nothing special, who are we kidding here?

• Shiba on Apr 23, 2024 at 5:49 pm

The pricing is too close to Tesla Model 3. I am not sure why they says Seal design is nice. I prefer the model 3 highland design as it’s cleaner and will age well as compare to Seal design. As for interior design, it’s up to individual as people who prefer minimalist will prefer Tesla design than BYD. Those folks who complain tesla is tin kosong, you will be surprised by the features once you have driven and own one.

For me, why Tesla wins over Seal, the AC charger for Seal is too slow 7kw for single phase (hello this is ancient), and their DC charging cant compete with Tesla supercharging speed.

Secondly, it’s Tesla integrated charging infrastructure which integrate to your map which have better accuracy of not leaving you stranded when it comes to estimating the juice required to travel from point A to point B. Moreover you dont need to mess around with other app as charging with Tesla charging is as easy as abc.

Thirdly, their basic autopilot is way ahead of what BYD or other ev can churn out. Even the pedal feel is more direct.

Fourth reason, if you try BYD UI, it feels laggy and not as snappy as compare to Tesla UI. Tesla app is way better designed as compare to china EV app.

Lastly, Tesla app update is top notch and you never know what other features they can release every quarter. It’s continous improvement experience when you own a Tesla.

People will call me a Elon fanbois but if you have driven and own one for a period of time, you will definately give credit to tesla for what it can deliver. Btw, i have tried IX and Atto 3 for a few months and I must says, Tesla is still the king of EV when it comes to efficiency and driving experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • the Sophisto Grey X on Apr 25, 2024 at 1:11 pm

sure meh better then iX? the driver assistant professional plus is miles ahead of tesla basic AP…

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 23, 2024 at 8:32 pm

this car is so much better than the stupid mercidis c-class no class

• BYE supporter on Apr 23, 2024 at 10:33 pm

Why buy BYD when Tesla is only cost 10% higher? You get better car with technology. Great branding also. In china, you dont see many seals on the road butbplwnty of Tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • kckfen on Apr 24, 2024 at 7:56 am

Bring in the Sea Lion 07…. too old for Sedan

• Weng Seafood Bidor on Apr 24, 2024 at 6:31 pm

Buy You Die can tahan meh

• You saying Tesla can also tahan meh when have so many problems than BYD

• Kopi Jantan Tak Faham on Apr 25, 2024 at 10:02 am

This shows that you are not potential buyer. You are just keyboard warrio.

• Why buy Tesla when BYD Seal is more cheaper, more worth, more reliable, more distance range, got interior features, etc