Tesla Model 3 Highland facelift launched in Malaysia – 513 km SR RM189k, 629 km Long Range RM218k

As indicated during the launch of Tesla Malaysia’s Cyberjaya headquarters earlier this month, the new Tesla Model 3 facelift is now in Malaysia, with the all-electric sedan making its official debut in the country today, alongside the introduction of the first Tesla flagship Experience Centre in Pavilion Damansara Heights.

Revealed in September, the refreshed Model 3, known as the Highland, is the second Tesla model to be offered here. The EV is available in two variants, and these are:

• Standard Range rear-wheel drive – priced from RM189,000
  • Long Range dual motor all-wheel drive – priced from RM218,000.

The Model 3 versions are cheaper than their equivalent-spec Model Y siblings, by RM10k compared to the Model Y Standard (RM199,000) and by RM28k in the case of the Model Y Long Range AWD (RM246,000). There is currently no Performance variant for the Model 3 facelift.

Equipped with a single rear-mounted motor, the Model 3 Standard RWD has a maximum travel range of 513 km (WLTP cycle) on a single charge, and performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.1 seconds and a 201 km/h top speed. The Standard RWD can support a DC charging rate of up to 170 kW.

As its moniker suggests, the Model 3 Long Range AWD has two motors, and it also gets a larger capacity battery, enabling it to offer up to 629 km of travel on a single charge, again measured on a WLTP cycle. The AWD supports a higher DC charging rate of 250 kw. Although it has a similar top speed as the RWD, it’s faster to the century mark from standstill, doing that particular sprint in 4.4 seconds.

A quick note about operating ranges in relation to the pre-facelift. Back in 2020, UK-based specifications listed that the Standard Range offered 381 km on a WLTP cycle, while the pre-facelift Long Range provided up to to 580 km (WLTP) of travel on a single charge.

The refresh brings about minor changes to the Model 3’s exterior. The headlights on the facelift are now slimmer and the car gets more prominent LED daytime running lights. The fog lamps have been ditched, replaced by a single central vent, which gives the car a more aggressive look. Meanwhile, the rear gets new tail lights as well as a redesigned bumper.

As standard, the Model 3 comes with a Pearl White Multi-Coat exterior finish, but there are cost-added colour options. Add RM5,000 if you prefer the car in Solid Black or Deep Blue Metallic, or pick from the two new colours available for it, these being Stealth Grey (RM7,500) and Ultra Red (RM11,000).

In terms of wheels, the Malaysian-spec Model 3 comes equipped with 18-inch Photon units as standard, but 19-inch Nova wheels are available for an additional RM7,500. The customisation doesn’t stop there. As with the Model Y, Autopilot is included on the Model 3, but you can upgrade to Enhanced Autopilot for RM16,000 and Full Self-Driving for RM32,000.

By default, the Model 3 comes with a black interior, but buyers can specify a white interior for RM5,000 more. Speaking of the interior, the facelift’s cabin is a quieter place than before, thanks to the use of dual-pane acoustic glass across all window surfaces as well as the incorporation of additional sound insulation. This has resulted in a 30% improvement in wind and ambient noise, a 25% reduction in surface impact noises and a 20% improvement in road noise.

The interior has also been spruced up through the application of more premium material and contrast elements.Elsewhere, the dashboard has been redesigned with LED lighting and customisable dash trim, and there’s also a new steering wheel, which now houses the indicator signals.

That’s not the only stalk that has been deleted, because the gear stalk is also gone, with gear selection now being carried out via the touchscreen. Should the touchscreen fail, there are physical gear selector buttons at the front of the roof, on the panel between the driver and passenger sunshades, to fall back on.

Other refinements include ventilated seats, a brighter and faster responding central touchscreen and the introduction of an eight-inch rear cabin screen – housed in the rear of the centre console – for passengers, allowing them to control the stereo and AC or watch movies and play video games.

Wi-Fi connectivity has been enhanced for the facelift. As for audio, the Standard RWD comes with a nine-speaker, single amplifier audio system, while the Long Range AWD has a 17-speaker system, with dual amplifiers and dual subwoofers, an increase from the 14 speakers on the pre-facelift.

Here’s a quick list of the key specifications of the Model 3 as well as the options available for it:

Tesla Model 3 Rear-Wheel Drive

• 0-100 km/h time: 6.1 seconds
  • Top speed: 201 km/h
  • Range (WLTP): 513 km

Tesla Model 3 Dual Motor All-Wheel Drive

• 0-100 km/h time: 4.4 seconds
  • Top speed: 201 km/h
  • Range (WLTP): 629 km

After choosing your preferred powertrain, there are also quite a number of options that you can add to your Model 3. These include:

Exterior colour

• Pearl White Multi-Coat: Included
  • Solid Black: RM5,000
  • Deep Blue Metallic: RM5,000
  • Stealth Grey: RM7,500
  • Ultra Red: RM11,000

Wheels

• 18-inch Photon wheels: Included
  • 19-inch Nova wheels: RM7,500

Interior colour

• Black: Included
  • Black and white: RM5,000

Driver assistance systems

• Enhanced Autopilot (Navigate on Autopilot, Auto Lane Change) – RM16,000
  • Full Self-Driving Capability (all functionality of Basic Autopilot and Enhanced Autopilot) – RM32,000

First deliveries of the Model 3 Highland are scheduled to begin before the year is out.

@paultancars Akhirnya dah sampai! #Tesla #Model3 Facelift kini di #Malaysia ! Harganya start dari RM189k! #paultancars #paultan #carsoftiktok #cartok #cartiktok #ev #viral #trending #fyp #foryou #foryoupage ♬ original sound – Paul Tan's Automotive News

GALLERY: Tesla Model 3 ‘Highland’ facelift Standard Range, Malaysian launch

GALLERY: Tesla Model 3 ‘Highland’ facelift Long Range AWD, Malaysian launch

GALLERY: Tesla Model 3 ‘Highland’ facelift

Learn more: ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• azhar on Oct 19, 2023 at 11:51 am

Niceeee…for me std RWD good enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • Helenesssssssssssssssss on Oct 19, 2023 at 12:15 pm

Please put the horsepower and torque figures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • lithium on Oct 19, 2023 at 12:24 pm

no one gonna talk about service centers and spare parts availability like other new brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • What Service Centre you talk kok about? on Oct 19, 2023 at 4:26 pm

Go service centre change Engine Oil, engine filter, diesel filter, spark plugs, gearbox oil, trammisions oil, timing belts Air filter

Your father design EV car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
      • Mat Rambutan on Oct 19, 2023 at 5:21 pm

Then fix panel gap go where? Remember, your kid put this EV together, not your father.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Nyquist on Oct 20, 2023 at 3:52 am

I just watched the video. Topkek, even the display model already has misaligned panels.

• Mike Tee on Oct 20, 2023 at 4:42 am

I have had the iX for more than a year now (25/08/2022). Zero service needed so far. First service is due Feb 2024 and I suspect nothing will need changing.

It’s not all roses though, damaged tyres twice and they cost >RM2,000 to replace, each. In fact, BMW wanted RM2,850 to change the first one and they are the only one who had stock then. Another one kaput in June’23, shop wanted “only” RM2,050. And at 14,000km had to replace the other three tyres. So tyre cost alone in 14 months, cost me >RM10,000. It’s crazy.

Tesla will be a lot cheaper hopefully because Model Y is the best selling car, ICE or EV, in the world so tyre manufacturers are all making tyres for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • yeapsc on Oct 20, 2023 at 9:36 am

bmw tyre 21″/22″? sure expensive lah
        model 3 tyre only 18″/19″ so per piece should be less than 800

• When tyre size bigger, of course expensive like iX. Tesla tyres aren’t much bigger as iX. Doesn’t really matter, iX can’t compare with Tesla

• You can get a plugin hybrid Tesla. on Oct 19, 2023 at 12:40 pm

Buy this and wait a few days and it’ll combust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 21
  • Ok..i ordered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
  • Amazing value proposition, expect to see lots of these on the road early next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
  • A battery spoiled by flood in UK, cost the owner rm100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • Just add on special perils in your insurance. Premium is peanut.

• Matthias Watson fans on Oct 19, 2023 at 1:21 pm

Top speed limited to 201kmph? Why not default factory standard top speed of 260kmph?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • LANCHE on Oct 19, 2023 at 2:45 pm

HW3.0 OR HW4.0?

• Matti on Oct 19, 2023 at 3:27 pm

Sampan build quality at speedboat prices. What’s not to like?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
  • rosdi on Oct 19, 2023 at 3:59 pm

Does it have panaromic sunroof or moonroof? Not many photos that shows the roof, not even on Tesla order page.

If it does, is it practical in hot tropical countries like ours?

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 19, 2023 at 4:12 pm

no reverse sensors at all hmm….

• adaptive auto signal on Oct 19, 2023 at 5:37 pm

got rcta ma..maybe got reverse aeb too..

• the problem with no ultrasonic sensors is if you have a low object (just below the height of the hood) the camera can’t see it when you get close…you won’t get any warning that there’s an obstacle / curb there.

• Do it the old skool style..turn your head around

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 20, 2023 at 11:29 am

unless you have superman eyes i doubt you can see your kids crawling the bottom part of your car bumpers

• Buy a high tech car, pay premium price, then “Do it the old skool style”
            Yep, make perfect sense to me

• Congratulations to Elon Musk &
    Yang Amat Berhormat Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Banggala Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Zacky on Oct 19, 2023 at 11:26 pm

I don’t want this t20 toy. I want byd and gwm to have zero excise duty advantage like tesla. I want sub 100k EV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • msia driver on Oct 20, 2023 at 3:33 am

heard tesla SA said they already secure 60-80k booking so far. no doubt model 3 will be most seeing EV car on the road in Malaysia 2024.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • bangla driver on Oct 31, 2023 at 9:03 am

i think he meant 60-80…without the 3 extra zeroes you’re inflating.

• EV shld not be so quick! on Oct 20, 2023 at 10:12 am

I think for normal cars, shld not quicker than 7 secs 0-100kmh. Too fast, accident risk is high. Imagine those just got P license drives their papa car. Really dangerous to road user. Too quick, not enough time for driver & road user to response. Plz dont make a common car like sport car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • Quack on Oct 20, 2023 at 3:38 pm

Pls don’t reproduce, we don’t want your kids to inherit your idiotic takes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • stasta on Oct 24, 2023 at 12:11 am

that’s like saying – knife should not be too sharp because there is a risk user will slice themselves